9/24 Jetson:PMPS~289, +1.5~366,+3~330 more questions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Jetson

Member Since 2011
Good morning Lantus Land!

After a morning tour of the patio, and a quick birdie count, Jetson has decided to go for a dive this am.

9/23 recap:
AMPS- 361
3.5u
+2 - 308
+4 - 306
+6 - 248
+8 - 237
+10.5 - 276
PMPS - 294
3.5u
+2 - 288
9/24:
+9 - 123
+11 - 86
+12 - 64 (amps, no shot)
+12.5 - 76

Please - advice?
Do I stall and test again after breffis?
Do I shoot now? Same dose? Lower?
Some now, some later?

Am home today, so I can test for a while - altho eventually I do have to run some errands (or no food for anyone tomorrow!).

Thanks! :smile:
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,AMPS~64 HELP shoot or wait?

Please remember not to feed Jetson, if you are going to stall. The food would affect the BG number on your next test.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,AMPS~64 HELP shoot or wait?

hi michelle. i'm leaving the house momentarily, but saw your post.
i think it would be a good idea to stall. retest every 15 - 20 minutes until you see a rise to a number you're comfortable shooting.
looks like you've successfully shot a full dose on a 95 already.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,AMPS~64 HELP shoot or wait?

Aahhh, too late I read this.
I usually test as he's starting breffis - distraction of food makes it so much easier to test. So he's already cleaned his plate.
Now what?
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,AMPS~64 HELP shoot or wait?

Look at the boy go!!!
Funny-Cat-Picture-60.jpg


Looks like he's just getting warmed up for an interesting day!

Love the plan to stall if your schedule allows (and it won't affect the upcoming week). We will be keeping an eye on you and hoping for a Green Goodness Day :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,AMPS~64 HELP shoot or wait?

You can try stalling and see if there's a food spike. Also, can you afford to be off schedule?

How about giving Jetson a treat at test time rather than a meal? You really don't want to feed if you need to stall. Please look over the post on handling low pre-shots.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76 HELP shoot or wait?

Thanks. I'll switch to treat first, then food.
He was very insistent on food this morning!
Gimme my breffis NOW woman!
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76 HELP shoot or wait?

Michelle.....I feel your pain...what's with these boys...Ollie and Jetson are ganging up on us! At least it's the weekend! I have no advice but I'm here for you...cheering! :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76 HELP shoot or wait?

Dyana, Jill, Patsy, Jessica, Sienne,

Thank you! I'm making some more ~O) and will test again in a minute.
Back in a flash...
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76 HELP shoot or wait?

That's probably a food spike. I think you're going to need to wait another 30 min.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76,+13~112 shoot/wait?

Please check with the others, but it looks like a plan, as long as you will be around to monitor--
Jetson is doing great!! These babies never fail to surprise us!!
Are you comfy with a 112 since you have shot lower before??
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76 HELP shoot or wait?

Michelle & Jetson said:
Last test @+13 ~ 112. Shoot now?

Sienne must have been typing the same time you were. Just want to make sure you saw her info that this is probably a food spike and to wait 30 mins to test again before making a decision.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76,+13~112 shoot/wait?

SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

It has been a while since I have gotten to yell that, it's fun. :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76,+13~112 shoot/wait?

question... (I'm sorry, I haven't been around much lately so if you have been asked this a hundred times just ignore me!). I see a couple of numbers in the 40s on your spreadsheet, any reason why you have not reduced the dose yet?
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76,+13~112 shoot/wait?

OK. nailbite_smile I shot his regular 3.5u at +13.
DH, bless his heart, has gotten the hang of testing/shooting - and promises to wear his reading glasses for dose measuring tomorrow while I'm at work.

Sienne, did I jump the gun? I'll keep an eye on him. Have plenty of test strips.
Roni and Libby :-D :-D :-D thanks for cheering us on!

Libby, after the 40s I shaved his dose .25u or something close to that and his numbers went climbing.
Of course, I was using the CVS meter at the time - so were the results accurate? Hubby then took over while I was out of town - did not wear his reading glasses - and ended up shaving the dose back to ~3.25 again, and his numbers went up again. So we've been holding the 3.5. Vet wants to see another week at this dose and then reassess.
She has the link to his ss :smile:
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76,+13~112 shoot/wait?

If Libby yells, "Shoot!", then shoot!! (She loves yelling "Shoot.")

Have you brought this article to your vet?

If not, you might want to share it with your vet. It's the original version of the Tight Regulation Protocol that was published in one of the top vet journals. Generally, we don't hold a dose for a week unless the nadir is under 200. (Holding doses for too long can produce glucose toxicity making it harder to bring the numbers down.)
 

Attachments

Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76,+13~112 shoot/wait?

sorry, I didn't realize you were following the vet's advice instead of the LL protocol. Just in the interest of clarity, when we follow our protocol for increases and decreases, we can be pretty sure our dose is a safe dose for the cat because we have arrived at it carefully and because we are testing enough to know when they need a dose change. When we shoot low, it's because we are confident in our dosing. If you decide not to take reductions when they are earned, then you can't 100% know that your dose is not going to eventually end up being too high. Your vet didn't follow protocol to arrive at Jetson's relatively high dose, but you've done enough testing that I think it's actually ok right now, BUT please don't be surprised if he starts needing reductions quickly. You need to take reductions when they are earned, and if he ends up needing to increase again, so be it, but you don't want him to end up over dose and you don't want him to end up going too low on a dose.

I actually don't see a problem with his numbers after you took the dose shaves. Remember, after a cat goes green when they aren't used to it, they are usually going to bounce. It can take up to 72 hours for the counterregulatory hormones to clear. He only had 2 cycles on the 3.5s, so you really don't know if he would have come back down on that dose or not. This time, see how he went to 40s, then went high for 72 hours, then went green again? Just keep an eye on him today. He will probably start his bounce today, but if he doesn't bounce yet then he might go low. I would start with a +1 to get an idea of whether the bounce is starting.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+11~86,+12~64,+12.5~76,+13~112 shoot/wait?

Thanks Libby and Sienne :smile:

I definitely need some big-girl pants to go with the patience ones!

And, more conversation with vet - will show her the study. She has mentioned the study and high success of remission with Lantus and diet control, so I just assumed she was well-versed on the protocol.

Very very confusing confused_cat but, getting better at it day by day - I hope.

Testing at new +1 in a few minutes.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:new AMPS~112, +1~107,+2~68!!!

Yikes! 68 at +2! What to do?
I don't think we need food yet, but...

Wise ones- your opinion?
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:new AMPS~112, +1~107,+2~68!!! Help again?

Feed a teaspoon of LC to see if it will encourage a surf.

I'm going out shortly so won't be around. Take a look at the managing low numbers post. It will guide you through if people aren't around.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:new AMPS~112, +1~107,+2~68,+3~50

Jetson must really not want me to go shopping for fuds today! :roll:

+3 at 12:00 noon = 50
Fed 1/4 can (5.5oz can, a little less than 1.5oz for him) of BFF Tuna and Bonito.

Will check again in a few.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:new AMPS~112, +1~107,+2~68,+3~50

how about testing in 30 minutes?

What is the carb % of that food, do you know?
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:new AMPS~112, +1~107,+2~68,+3~50

at +3.75 (12:45pm) ~ 74.
Only gave him a piece of frz dry chicken.

Where do I find the link to the conversion chart?
BFF Label: Protein 12%, Fat 2%, Fiber (max) 0.2%, Moisture 83%, Ash 2%, Taurine (min) 0.05%, Calcium (max) 0.25%, Phosphorus (max) 0.20%, Magnesium (max) 0.024%.
Ingredients: Tuna, Water, Bonito, Sunflower Seed Oil, Locust Bean, Guar Gum, Carageenan, vitamins.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:new AMPS~112, +1~107,+2~68,+3~50,+3.75~74

Looks like you have had an interesting morning already! You are doing so great and Jetson is definitely getting better. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+1~107,+2~68,+3~50,+3.75~74,+4.25~52

Thanks Melissa!
Sienne, I did find a "formula" posted on the main board. Using those calculations, a rough estimate of BFF (tuna and bonito flavor) is 4.7%.

Last test was low again. 45mins ago, so time got another :-|
Poor kitty ears! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+1~107,+2~68,+3~50,+3.75~74,+4.25~52

lather, rinse, repeat. Sometimes they wobble up and down for a while so keep testing until he goes up and stays up. You're doing great!
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+1~107,+2~68,+3~50,+3.75~74,+4.25~52,+5~75

Thanks Libby :smile:
We're back up to 75 at +5

If he gives another over 75, do you think he'll be safe alone for a couple of hours?
Really have to go food shopping! :?
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+1~107,+2~68,+3~50,+3.75~74,+4.25~52,+5~75

This dose is definitely working!! Lather, rinse , repeat...Love that phrase Libby!!!
yOU'RE DOING TERRIFIC, JUST KEEP IT UP, usual nadir( although nadir varies from cat to cat) is around +6, but can be earlier or later..Looking great at 75. Jetson is having a wonderful day--How about you??
Your furbaby is surfing in normal numbers! :thumbup
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+1~107,+2~68,+3~50,+3.75~74,+4.25~52,+5~75

Thanks Roni for the words of encouragement :-D

Green is good! (?) but a bit scary nailbite_smile when you have hypo in the back of your mind.

Thanks for asking about me - I'm getting the hang of it, I think. It's hard to find the balance between overdoing and not paying enough attention (or not being able to 'cause beans are all at work). And eventually I'll need to leave the house today - or we'll be looking at bare cupboards tomorrow :o :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+1~107,+2~68,+3~50,+3.75~74,+4.25~52,+5~75

Well look at Jetson surfing in the green green lagoon!!! Great work Michelle...it's scary but so good. You're doing wonderful!
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+4.25~52,+5~75,+6.5~112,+9.5~294 dose???

Aaannnnddd...
There's the bounce :YMSIGH: :roll: :sad:

We stalled the shot by an hour this morning, so do I stick to the new +12 time tonight?
Do I try a reduction again? 9/17-18 was the last time I tried a skinny 3.5. So he's been working the full 3.5 for 6 days (this morning was 12th cycle).

Vet off today, so no chance to discuss TR protocol or anything else :YMSIGH:

Ideas? confused_cat
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+4.25~52,+5~75,+6.5~112,+9.5~294 DOSE???

Good evening, guys!

Tonight's shot should be 12 hours from whatever time you shot this morning. Today's +3 of 50 earned you a decrease of 0.25u, which you can either take tonight, or shoot the same dose you shot this morning (what we refer to as "shooting through the bounce") and then take the decrease tomorrow morning.

If you need to get your shot time back to "normal," you can adjust by 30 minutes a day... either 15 minutes earlier each shot of the day or 30 minutes earlier on one of them.
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+4.25~52,+5~75,+6.5~112,+9.5~294 DOSE???

Christie & Willie said:
Good evening, guys!

Tonight's shot should be 12 hours from whatever time you shot this morning. Today's +3 of 50 earned you a decrease of 0.25u, which you can either take tonight, or shoot the same dose you shot this morning (what we refer to as "shooting through the bounce") and then take the decrease tomorrow morning.

If you need to get your shot time back to "normal," you can adjust by 30 minutes a day... either 15 minutes earlier each shot of the day or 30 minutes earlier on one of them.
or if jetson is higher than 294 at +11 you can take the reduction tonight and shoot at +11 to get back on schedule in one fell swoop.
if he's higher than 294, why let him get higher?
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+4.25~52,+5~75,+6.5~112,+9.5~294 DOSE???

Thanks Christie, Jill :smile:
Jill, I think he "heard" you.
+11 is 289.
Wait?

One more question: is it ok to test, feed and then shoot later? Say, can I give him 1/2 his normal dinner now ( he's giving me fud eyes!) and then 1/2 in an hour?

Or do you think 289 us close enough to reduce and shoot now?
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+4.25~52,+5~75,+6.5~112,+9.5~294 DOSE???

Michelle & Jetson said:
Thanks Christie, Jill :smile:
Jill, I think he "heard" you.
+11 is 289.
Wait?

One more question: is it ok to test, feed and then shoot later? Say, can I give him 1/2 his normal dinner now ( he's giving me fud eyes!) and then 1/2 in an hour?

Or do you think 289 us close enough to reduce and shoot now?

289 - 294... same difference. i'd go ahead with the reduction and shoot now if you'll be home to monitor tonight.
and let him eat! :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+4.25~52,+5~75,+6.5~112,+9.5~294 DOSE???

Thanks again Jill!

Ok, I did it - fed and shot 3.25u :shock: nailbite_smile

Really appreciate your help and support - everyone! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+4.25~52,+5~75,+6.5~112,+9.5~294 DOSE???

don't forget about monitoring tonight, ok?
and when you get a chance take the question out of your first post's subject line...
 
Re: 9/24 Jetson:+9.5~294, PMPS~289, +3~366 more questions?

Good evening all,

Thanks again for the advice & support! :-D

So, +1.5 higher than ps is normal, right? And next test will probably (hopefully) be lower?

Realizing this condo is about to rival the Burj in Dubai (sorry, was reading a travel column earlier :lol: ), how do you folks link your previous condos to a new one?

Tomorrow's a work day, so I'll probably test one more time (11:30ish eastern) and off to bed. I'm required to look presentable, and an entire set of samsonite under my eyes won't be a good look :-| :lol:

Is there a point at which I should worry about results and plan to test again? Like if it's up/down by a certain amount?

Thanks again - seems so lame, but it's heartfelt :smile:
 
Usually your +1 reflects a food spike. If your +2 is considerably lower than your pre-shot, it's usually a sign that it's going to be an active cycle. Gabby's numbers this morning are a good example (AMPS was 216 and +2 was 102 -- she surfed green for most of the afternoon). There's no "rule" in terms of how much of a difference there should be. To so extent, it depends on where you're starting from and whether your cat is prone to diving.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top