? 9/24 Ivy amps 400, +4 173, +6 201, +9 176, PMPS 215, +3.75 143

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...bre-11-183-pmps-164-3-72-contour-lows.281865/
AMPS 400 Libre
(No surprise after lows yesterday)

Late to post today, busy finally cooking Ivy’s food today.
Yesterday was a lost day with her low numbers (50s on Libre) and closely monitored her all day and last night.
She dropped low last night to “Lo” on Libre at +3 & +4.
Double checked on Contour meter and got 72 & 73 values so I reduced her from 3 units to 2.75 units this morning.

Wondering if last week’s trauma from the sedatives caused her entire system to go wonky ever since. It’s been really rocky since last Tuesday when she was sedated for X-rays.

She seems to finally be feeling more like herself again today. She even spent the day in her favorite chair upstairs (hadn’t been able to go there on her own for months due to her injured leg this past May.)

Question for anyone who wants to answer:
Do you feed snacks to keep them surfing if they are above 100 or just if under 100?
And, do you continue snacks if past +6 in the cycle if over 100?

Have a nice evening before the new week begins. Safe surfing kitties :cat:
 
Hello Staci.
For Bella, I feed her snacks to keep her surfing if she is around 50 anytime during the cycle.
She also gets one snack a +8. Her snacks are planned, mostly: I take away one teaspoon of her meal to give as snack at +2 if she is low, and at +8 in any case.
I am not sure how that answers your question regarding Ivy, but when I started following Bhooma's advice and feeding smaller meals or snacks regularly, Bella's BG stabilized a lot. When do you feed her now? I feed Bella at PS, then +3, +6 and a snack at +8. Sometimes more snacks if her PS is lower than 70 and I think she might be getting down, in that case I try to test her at +1 or 2 and go from there.
 
Congrats on the reduction :cat:
I am happy to hear that she's more herself now. You must be relieved.
Not sure if this answers your question, but I gained a bit on insight by reading this thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ed-getting-a-auto-feeder.216728/#post-2405533
Hope it helps
Thanks Angela. I am relieved to see Ivy being more like her old self again. She just looks so much happier and that makes me so happy for her.
Thanks for that links in feeding. I will give it a good review. :kiss:
 
Hello Staci.
For Bella, I feed her snacks to keep her surfing if she is around 50 anytime during the cycle.
She also gets one snack a +8. Her snacks are planned, mostly: I take away one teaspoon of her meal to give as snack at +2 if she is low, and at +8 in any case.
I am not sure how that answers your question regarding Ivy, but when I started following Bhooma's advice and feeding smaller meals or snacks regularly, Bella's BG stabilized a lot. When do you feed her now? I feed Bella at PS, then +3, +6 and a snack at +8. Sometimes more snacks if her PS is lower than 70 and I think she might be getting down, in that case I try to test her at +1 or 2 and go from there.
Hi Cecile, interesting feeding schedule. It seems there are lots of variables for different cats.
Because Ivy usually goes down at +1&2, I give her a small snack at +1,2,3 in the am. (I pull the food out of her measured food allotment for cycle) and +6. Sometimes if she’s dropping at +4 I can pull some from the +6 baggie and feed.
Usually, she stabilizes by +6.

It’s not the usual for Ivy to go up after her PS meal and insulin (unless she’s bouncing after deep lows).
For PM cycle I give snacks at +1 thru +6 because she tends to dive in the evening until she stabilizes around +6. I use an auto feeder for the snacks so she’s trained to go get her snack when she hears it opening.
I saw someone else says they were feeding tiny snacks each hour in the pm cycle and that helped their cat not to dive so much in the pm. So I’ve been doing that.

My question also was about when they are surfing in lower numbers you want them to stay in and don’t want them to go even lower.

I was feeding tiny snacks every 1/2 hour the past 2 days when Ivy was staying low, for her, for many hours to keep her from falling even lower.
I’m still trying to learn all appropriate tricks to feeding the curve etc.

By the way, why the +8 feeding? What does that do for Bella?

Thanks for answering me! :bighug:
 
Hi Angela. I read your comment about giving a +8 snack and wondered why. Usually that’s not suggested until a cat is on a tiny amount of insulin , 0.1 or sometimes .25 when a cat is almost in remission and the preshots are blue. Otherwise it can cut duration. Some cats need it to avoid having an empty stomach and vomit if too long without food or other health reasons. Small snacks during the first half of a cycle are suggested and if a late nadir cat might make sense.
 
Last edited:
Hi Elise, i think that's @cecile & bella feeding schedule. I typically don't feed after nadir but when I do it's to either (1) prevent stomach upset or (2) bring up a low number and it's usually the lowest carb/no carb food.
 
@tiffmaxee :bighug::bighug: no sorry necessary :bighug::bighug:

@Staci & Ivy I wanted to ask when you think you'll start the lower carbs again? I really do think it will help Ivy level out her BGs. I'm interested to see the experiment unfold :bookworm: (I'm a little bit of a nerdy girl)
Lol. Me too. I’m gonna give her a day or 2 to drain the higher depot and then add another switch into the mix. And then again until complete. (I was prepping the lower carb food today in preparation) :bookworm:

It will be interesting because I started her out on 6% (and only moved her to higher carbs because she’s not carb sensitive so when she was dropping lower, the 6% recipe did nothing to bring her up.)
So we are trying 9.25% carbs to see how that goes. And then maybe we can go back to 6% again down the line. Truly science at work I guess.
 
I give her a late snack because she was vomiting every night and that has been helping. It's actually +7 and not +8, sorry, I did not count right. And a no-carb food, too.
I don't give her multiple snacks unless she is below 50, and very rarely anything else than LC, except if she is below or very close to 50.
But that's the beauty of "know your cat", they are all different and what works for one might not work for another.
 
I give her a late snack because she was vomiting every night and that has been helping. It's actually +7 and not +8, sorry, I did not count right. And a no-carb food, too.
I don't give her multiple snacks unless she is below 50, and very rarely anything else than LC, except if she is below or very close to 50.
But that's the beauty of "know your cat", they are all different and what works for one might not work for another.
Got it. That makes sense. So glad that made a difference for Bella.
I still have to figure out how to keep Ivy more flat in her cycle and not to dive leading into onset.
As you said “know your cat”.
It is a mystery trying to figure out this puzzle called Cat.
 
Got it. That makes sense. So glad that made a difference for Bella.
I still have to figure out how to keep Ivy more flat in her cycle and not to dive leading into onset.
As you said “know your cat”.
It is a mystery trying to figure out this puzzle called Cat.
You're doing great! They just like to keep us on our tippy toes.
 
Back
Top