9/24 Harley AMPS 136, PMPS 138

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/24 Harley AMPS 136

ummmm why is .5U too much...is it cuz your worried how low he got in the middle?
he was alive and well this am so i'm guessing he did good.
i love this amps and would be happy to see it again.
my 2 cents.
 
Re: 9/24 Harley AMPS 136

Well that was going to be my question of the day, goals?

Where do I want his bg's to be? I've read some conflicting advise around here about shooting the nadir or shooting the ps's.

Gator just said in Judy and Squamee's thread that he went for a nadir above 80. But since I can't always get a mid cycle test I kind of have to rely on PS's.

Yes, he was alive and well this morning and I intend to keep him that way. :-D

Do I want his PS's below 150?
 
Re: 9/24 Harley AMPS 136

ummmm,yep! ideally an amps in the green....remission?
 
Re: 9/24 Harley AMPS 136

This may help:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Blood_glucose_level

I picked 80 as a nadir because I wanted extra safety room for the reasons I described. And remission was not our goal.

If remission is the goal then you would like to be able to slowly work down the PSs to as good as possible while keeping them is safe territory. Then there is your no-shoot number. Some say not to shoot below 150. My no shoot was eventually 100. So once they get into numbers good numbers you may want to do a test to see if the P has kicked back in. I don't have the instructions for that. Joanna certainly does though [and she needs to commit that to writing like in the sticky someday!! :-D ].

Some people get lucky, they'll stop the insulin and their numbers may go up a little but then the P gets the idea that you are not going to be giving insulin anymore and says "ooop time to do my job."
 
Re: 9/24 Harley AMPS 136

robin how will you know 'until then' if you don't see a green unshootable amps or pmps.
that's how you know!
i repectfully disagree with my friend gator in that a in a healthy cat if the nadir goes below 80, even at 60..this is a good and normal #. non'diabetic cats have that # and while 60 might not be your goal if that's as low as it goes i don't see a need for dose decrease.
gator, thoughts?
 
Re: 9/24 Harley AMPS 136

Thanks for the link Gator, that's exactly what I was wondering.

Also, I think we have been doing a variation of what you described. He has needed less and less insulin to maintain the same numbers. The lowest PS's I've shot was mid 130's, this morning was one of them. But working full time I don't push it because I can't always get mid cycle tests and want to keep him safe.

Lori, Harley showed hypo symptoms at low 40's, that's why I want his nadir above 60 when I'm not around just to be safe. But if he ever gives me a green ps you will ALL be able to hear me singing and feel the earth moving as I happy dance.

PS: Thanks for all the great advise I really appreciate it. It's good to hear and think about all of the differing opinions, that is what is so great about this place.
 
Re: 9/24 Harley AMPS 136

Lori - We agree! Even 60 is fine [for most cats].

My sitch was NOT normal. I had a very sick cat on my hands that would just decide to stop eating without notice. One of my fears would be that I would give him a dose that would normally take him into lower numbers and would be fine for most cats but then he would not eat and this would all be happening at night when I was asleep. So I am not advocating shooting for a nadir of 80 for any other kitties. But rather just relaying what I did under the special circumstances which might be more related to Squamee than Harley anyway. :smile:

As far as dose decreases go, I was using variable dosing so I could decrease one shot and the next it might be back up. So if I decreased the dose it was not something that really had much of any longer term consequences. Changes in dose were more like 12 hour experiments. :smile: [note: I believe to takes a little while - maybe in the range of days or week - for kitties to get used to dosing technique changes].
 
PMPS 138, yippeeeee, It looks like he did very well on the .3u today. I shot another .3u but it might have been a little skinny.

Thanks for the input today, any advise is welcome, especially now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top