9/24 Gracie PMPS 316 +4 315 +11 307

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25734

Recap:
AMPS 313
+3 280
+6 206
+7.5 vet visit
+10 244
PMPS 260
+2 312
+5 309
nightie night

YAY...it's Friday and we are officially on STAYCATION!! Meant to get a +11 this morning but stayed up too late waiting for Gracie to get dropped off by Binks, Stu, and Mannie. I think she had a little too much coconut rum and Fresca...could smell it on her and Tess, Moonie, Raja, and Muffin were feeling no pain!! drinking24 The oldtimer civvies here were long in bed and the kitten, Tobey, was pinging off the walls and upset that he had to stay home.

Another great morning for baby Grace. She bounded up into the bed again purring and cooing and gave us our morning baths (beans are SOO bath-needy in the morning). She then proceeded to the bar where she jumped up and patiently waited for breffis. She ate well and she's been moving all over the place and is out on her patio this morning with the Tobeykins.

Any suggestions on testing today? I know we're alternating times so we can see what she's doing but I am not sure today what will give you all the best idea..a +2 and +5 ? Would you like to see a +11? If Gracie is in the yellow (we're hoping for BLUE), then Mike and I might actually try to go to a movie or go hit golf balls...some kind fun flip_cat

Thanks for all your help....have a great day! Anyone heard from Binks today?
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 newbie testing questions

You could do a +2 and a +5 as it looks like her nadir is between +4-+6--so that would work.
Listen, you need to have some Bean Time & enjoy your staycation(we have them too all the time)--You cant be worried about Gracie 24/7 :lol: :lol:
At least try not to!!-We do understand so much!--We have gone away one nite together & I went to see my DA &Uncle for 3 days in the past
2 1/2years!! So you Have to have some quality time together--OK???
You are doing a GREAT JOB!! HUgs,from us! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278

I heard sirens last night, Shadow said she thought the cops had pulled Binks over. He had a bit of coconut rum on his breath too. He may be in the pokey this morning.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 newbie testing questions

How about a +2,+4 and a +7 today...unless any one of those numbers is really low.
ETA: I see that Roni already gave you the numbers to check...not to confuse you with these, do what she said....

Hey, is this really the start of the 7th cycle for Gracie today? Now that she is back in the yellows, a little more insulin might be a good thing. Let's see what the others say...
How is Gracie doing today so far? any more panting or trouble?

I am going to take this opportunity to talk about low numbers...okay? If you get a lower-than usual preshot number, post the number and we will walk you through it, okay? Do NOT feed at this time, okay?

If you get a lower number during the cycle, like anything <100, you can use LC food to keep her up and surfing.
Food is your friend! :razz:
You also have HC gravy on hand right? that is used to bring the numbers up if they are going <60 or so. We use only the gravy at those times so they don't get too full from having it...in case we need to give them more to bring up the number a little more.
While we are feeding to bring up the numbers, sometimes we ask for a test after 15 minutes. We want to make sure the number is in fact coming up. You might have to test more frequently during those low number times. Remember that we are looking for lower numbers and it would be ideal if they were surfing in the lower range each day. I am only telling you this now because we are not in that situation at this time....and I thought it would be good for you to get used to thinking about it. :razz:
Any questions?
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278

Thank you Roni....it really helps to have some input. I know alot of the folks who have their cats down at low #'s and are dealing with whether
to shoot or not should get their questions answered first...Gracie is in no danger right now. I just really want to learn and I want to
do what is best for my baby girl. She is the sweetest baby ever. Just knowing someone can help guide me is more appreciated than you
will ever know.

It's been a little crazy lately...DH (he's a capt for Southwest Airlines) got run over by a passenger with a stroller when he was trying to help
her and it fractured his heel and tore his Achilles so he's been home for 8 weeks....which is GREAT with me actually but he's going stir
crazy as he's been very incapacitated and getting cabin fever. He's finally able to get out of the cast/boot and move around so that's good :cool:
And we've been trying to integrate the kitten into the household which is tough for Grace when she doesn't feel well but we are extremely
optimistic that once we get her stable, she'll resort to her wild little crazy baby self and they'll become chasing friends cat_pet_icon
So I appreciate your words and we are going to get out today and go to a movie and get some golf stuff.

So enough of my sob story ;-) We're doing great and we're just focused on Gracie right now so all of your help is so immensely appreciated. Thank you and
I hope you, DH, Copper, and Moonie has a great day today!!
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287

I've got something weird going on with the pokeys and wondered if anyone can help me? We warm for 30 secs using rice bag and then I do
a little ear massage and then poke...we always get blood but 90% of the time, instead of a drop, it seems to spread back out and run down her ear in the direction
of her head but we can always catch enough before it does that. After we poke, I put the neosporin on her ear as was suggested and I thought that was causing the problem as it wasn't occurring before we started using the ointment. Now when we do one ear, we make sure the other one is washed at that time so it will be dry and ready for the next poke. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Thank you!!!
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 Pokey technique ?

i think the left over neosporin is not allowing a drop of blood to form but rather spreading it out under the thin film of neo left on her ear...then it drips from under that fiLM?
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 Pokey technique ?

What size lancet are you using? Are you using a lancet device? Maybe you can try with a smaller lancet.
The higher the number, the smaller the lancet size...
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 Pokey technique ?

Have to confess - we never washed any ears - nor used neosporin unless we had poked like 10 times that day. Wonder if a damp ear is causing some of the issue?
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 Pokey technique ?

i think lori may have it right...somebody mentioned that to me when we first started stabbing the cat...

i've never used neo or washed ears since...not even MINE- strictly in a show of support for binks, of course :))

morning!
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 Pokey technique ?

On the other hand, there are some folks who will use a bit of vasoline or neosporin ointment first. The hole in the greasy stuff allows the blood to well up. If there's a remaining film, Lori may have a point. I don't use an ointment because is annoys Gabby when I put goo on her ears. And I've never washed her ear, either.

The other possibility is that you hit the vein and you're just getting a lot of blood during those times that the blood is running where you don't want it to.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287

Thanks to all of you...Pat, Lori, Celi (and Binks), Sienne, and Joyce....we'll clean her ears good and then no neosporin and try that.

I was using 28g to get used to it but now we are transitioning to the smaller 30g since I am able to get blood with it. We're not using a lancet
device cuz Miz Gracie is so petite and has such tiny ears that we can't see where we're poking with the device so free-handed is working better.
As far as I know, we only hit the vein once because it REALLY bled...the other times, we get enough blood to run the meter but it stops really
fast.

I really appreciate everyone's input!! You all are so helpful which helps us give Gracie the best care. Our next questions are going to
be regarding a dosecrease this weekend ;-)
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +6 270

I'm surfin' the yellows today...hope I can hold onto at least that if not into the blues for today...that would be a big celebration :RAHCAT The beans finally got
out of the house and left me and the civvies with some peace and quiet. Hope they relax and let their hairs down a little..aahhh...I've been feeling pretty durn
good today, Binks, how about you?? Guess you gave your bean quite a heart start this morning....faster than coffee. Hope everyone is at a good number and we'll check
in around PMPS....that's if the beans will give me some space this afternoon and go see a loooongggg movie :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +6 270

Okay, Gracie, you are on your own for a bit. Just surf those yellows and let the beans have a worry free afternoon. :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +6 270

Moving in the right direction Gracie and wanted to let you know since I was unable to get around to condos last night just saw your pic you had in Pat and Shadows condo of yesterday of the kitten in sink (was this Gracie)? anyway just wanted to let you know I thought it was just the cutest pic :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +6 270

Hey Gracie - it's me Mannie! Isn't it great when the beans take off and leave us with the house to ourselves??? I love it! Next time let us know and all us kitties will come and visit you - if that is OK with you! Keep surfin' those yellows, and get ready for a journey to the blues. That's even more fun. It was nice to meet you at the party - I hoe our driving wasn't too bad, but we did get you hoe. Later!! ~~ Mannie

Sheeshh Marjorie - a stroller broke your DH heel? omg, and what a bummer! I hope he is recovering well...
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +6 270

Surfing the yellows today Gracie - good girl! Hope you guys enjoyed your time out of the house together!
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270

I tell you what when I first experienced a green amps it was WAY back on 5/11/10 and I was scared to death nailbite_smile nailbite_smile I jumped right here on the board yelling for help and as time goes on you do get more and more used too and wanting those lower number now Do Lou has given me panic attacks when he dipped into 20's 2 different times but that was not at shot time I will admit I do hesitate some just because of his past experience with dropping but and not sure I would have if I had been going to work (full dose I mean) since one time I had to go to work when he was in his 40s and I called and went in late and shot a lower dose, but its all about knowing your cat and how well they respond to food and Do Lou can easily be brought up with MC food and if you give him HC he just really goes he is soooo carb sensitive


Is your girl a exotic shorthair?
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270

Hey, is this really the start of the 7th cycle for Gracie today? Now that she is back in the yellows, a little more insulin might be a good thing. Let's see what the others say... How is Gracie doing today so far? any more panting or trouble? If you get a lower-than usual preshot number, post the number and we will walk you through it, okay? Do NOT feed at this time, okay?

Pat sent this to me earlier but we were going out so I just saw it. Tonight will be Gracie's 8th cycle and so I was wondering when we might do a dosecrease but tho't we'd see what the PMPS is. Gracie has been having a great day...very spunky and just like her old self...no problems with back legs (mamabean was hallucinating). Only panted once for a few seconds and that was when we brought her in from the patio cause it was getting too hot out there. I had the housekeeper watch her to see if she panted after we left and she said she didn't...and Gracie always follows Lupita everywhere :smile:

Here's my BIG question...we are coming up on PMPS...Pat said if she has a lower than usual PS number to post...her PS numbers have been all over the place...so what number are you all talking about not shooting at but contacting you first...260?

Pls let us know ASAP as we are at PMPS on the half hour. THanks!!
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 NEWBIE URGENT ? NOW

Pls read previous post...PMPS is 316...about normal and definitely not below what we've been getting...it's been all over the board so I'm shooting unless I hear from someone before the half hour.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 SHOT

I went ahead and shot since Gracie was at PMPS 316 and not lower than normal....whatever that is for her on her PS because she's been everywhere around 300s or high 200s. Any advice?? Thank you!! She's been REALLY hungry.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Gracie has had 8 cycles now...got her shot for the 8th cycle tonight. I'm discouraged from her number...316. We are at 72 hours+ post bounce. Should I increase the dose Sat morning or should I do the AMPS and let you all know what it is OR can you advise me of a number I should look for on the AMPS to determine if she gets a dosecrease or not on Sat? I can do a +11 tomorrow morning and then post. Also....what would be good tests for tonight? With a PMPS this high, we have just been doing a before bedtime which has either been +4 or +5.

Thank you and please send detailed info as I need more to absorb :lol: Otherwise I'll drive :dizcat you crazy with more questions.

Thank you again!!! All of you...we couldn't do this without you.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Well here I am again in your condo :lol: no shot advice but hopefully one of our advisors will give you some advice for the weekend sorry about your DH I agree seems like the Captain well they are just that I cannot myself imagine asking them for something but then thats me I hope he heals Ok and does not have any long term problems from this injury :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

With regard to increasing, it's rare that an increase would HAVE to be done immediately. There's no reason to panic. And remember, there is a sticky with dosing guidelines and links to the formal versions of the Tight Regulation Protocol.
"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

You can bring Gracie's dose up to 1.0u in the morning.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Hello just want to say hi sure miss being here but glad I don`t have to be a lot of illness and have been at the hospital for the pass week .Nice not to worry about Trey . Sending Gracie tons of healing green light and Angels & Fairies (GA for pets) Will be back to visit more condos. Sure made me laugh when I saw the kits were out having coconut rum last(Binks,Stu,Mannie and of course Gracie) Trey is missing out on a lot of parties but with all this coconut rum and cops I am glad he is at home. Have a great night all. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: flip_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon Kath & Trey
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Sienne

Thank you very much. Didn't mean to sound panicked....just tired. Thanks for providing the stickys...I have read through them but Pat said to let you all know what was going on and someone would walk me through it; she thought Grace was due a dosecrease but also wanted input from others. Do you think I should do more than a +4 tonight (I really need some rest) as long as she's ok at +4 and would you like to see a +11 tomorrow or should I just do the AMPS and up her dose? Do I need to let you all know if her AMPS is lower in the morning than normal or just shoot the 1 u? Thank you!! Hope Gabby is well.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Grab a good night's sleep while you can. Looks like she may be stagnating a bit, so consider the increase to 1.0 U in the morning like Sienne said, depending on her AMPS of course. Just the THREAT of a dosage change often makes the numbers change....:roll:

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Thanks MJ...I'm just unclear on the AMPS part....I'm great with the dosecrease....but do I do her AMPS and if it's lower than what it has been.. don't feed, and post? Thanks!!
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

I think if she throws a blue in the AM, you might want to stick with 0.75U. Looks like she bounced a little the last time she was blue, and you don't want to make it worse by also increasing the dose. Wouldn't hurt to post a +11 here and then decide what to do at +12 (i.e. if she's clearly rising, shoooooooot!)
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Straight eared Scottish fold Ok guess that's why she reminds me of a exotic they do look similar know my fold breeder friends would more then likely tell me otherwise love the folds you do not see them as much at our cat shows now as much as when we first starting showing in CFA in 2001
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 DOSECREASE HELP

Thanks, MJ..that's what I needed to know. Will do.

Lisa...yes...up close folds look very different from Exotic shorthairs ...Do Lou is a cutie pie ! Think we're going to take a nap now. Have a great evening.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316

MJ provided some good suggestions. If you're not sure what to do in the AM, by all means ask. I'd definitely increase if Gracie is above 200.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316

Thanks, Sienne and MJ. I'll do a +11 in the morning and then check in. If AMPS are below 200, I will not do a dose increase...I'll check in as well. If above 200, I'll do up to 1 unit. It was my fault that Gracie rebounded the other day. I had read the stickys and should not have increased her dose...I think no one expected her AMPS to fall below 200 that fast. I learned a hard lesson but what is worse is that Grace had to suffer for it. So I want to be very careful tomorrow. Hope you all have a good night. We're going to do a +4 at 11:30 pac time and hit the sack. THanks, again.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie AMPS 278 +2 287 +5 270 PMPS 316 +4 315

Recap from last night...Sienne and MJ agree with Pat that Gracie needs a dosecrease if her AMPS are above 200. Her +11 is 307. I'm really concerned that
she is basically flatlining at high numbers. My questions

1. She was in the blue after her 6th cycle at .5u and I blew it by shooting a dosecrease when she had dropped below 200. Stupid me and poor Gracie. But if
she's through the 72hour bounce (which she should have been yesterday), why haven't her numbers come down a bit?

2.Is it possible that the scruff is not the best place to shoot her? I was giving her squids but we haven't for three days. I feel absolutely certain I am getting
the insulin in subq because I've given lots of subcutaneous shots to my cats in the past but Gracie has very tight skin and I think a (diminishing) fat pad so
she does feel different when I tent her. But I always make sure I see the skin and I always check the injection site for any moisture and smell it and I
have seen no evidence of a fur shot. I know I'm not going through to the other side...using 5/16" needles and I'm sure if I got into her muscle, she'd let me know.
She doesn't even react when I shoot her. So any thoughts on other injection sites...I have read the material on injection sites and when I previously asked,
all that responded said they shot in the scruff. BTW, she wasn't getting squids that long and I use 21g needles so I don't think she has much if any scar tissue
from that. I do rotate sides for shots...left in morning, right at night and move around so I don't inject the same spot on the left side every a.m.

3. Where to now? Should I report her AMPS or just go ahead with the dosecrease to 1u? Is there any danger I'll send her into another bounce or anything else?

Thank you so much. I'm just worried that her numbers came down, I caused her to bounce, and now she's not coming down.
 
Re: 9/24 Gracie PMPS 316 +4 315 +11 307 NEWBIE URGENT ?

You don't need to clear the increased dose/AMPS given where Gracie's +11 is sitting.

Numbers don't always come down just because there's one bit of blue or green or yellow. Remember, Gracie is a cat and they are unpredictable.

Most of us have experimented with where to shoot -- scruff vs. flank. I am much less accurate and have given fur shots when shooting in the flank. It's easier for me to shoot in the scruff and Gabby doesn't mind scruff shots -- she doesn't like flank shots.

You can't avoid bounces. Don't even try. It's the nature of getting Gracie's liver trained and her numbers coming down.
 
Thanks, Sienne...I wanted to update you all per our discussion last night. I appreciate the support and the information. I am hoping this dosecrease will help her. She seems to feel really good this morning....starving so I feel bad about all the civvies eating and she has to wait until after her AMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top