9/24 Disco AMPS 180/+2 240/+6.25 121/+10.25 71/PMPS 72/+1 92/+2 110/+4.25 164/+6.25 170

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday 9/23: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...34-7-5-179-dose-question.235823/#post-2643157

I kept Disco at the 4u dose as yesterday while he started out in the pink, he surprised me and went green and blue for the rest of the day. I am guessing those pinks may have been a bounce from the greens and blues the day before?? He doesn't see enough greens to get used to them yet.

@Marj & Djoko checked in on him today (on yesterdays condo as I hadn't posted for today yet) and I mistyped in 24 instead of 240 at his AM +2! No wonder she was concerned and nice to know the team is watching his back!

We will see how the rest of today goes, but with those greens, should I hold the dose or up it if anything above a blue shows up? I still am confused re: if I had fed him 2 tsp of any % at the +11 of 58, do I need to stall his PMPS test and for how long would I need to wait and test and shoot? I have only stalled when his PMPS was below 50, never around +11.

I'm posting one of my fav photos of Disco, as right now it's 'Sweata Weatha' but is supposed to be in the 90's for a few days next week.
 

Attachments

  • DiscoBlueSweater.JPG
    DiscoBlueSweater.JPG
    46 KB · Views: 124
Last edited:
Love the picture. If you know how much of a food bump Disco gets from eating, you don't need to stall. You also test enough to keep him safe. It looks like he is heading back down today. I'd wait and see what he does tonight before deciding on changing the dose.
 
I agree with Carla, I would wait also.

I'm just going to throw this out there.....you can disregard if it doesn't apply to the Disco man.

I would also hesitate to feed, unless it's in his normal schedule, or if gets into the 50s early, to see if he steadies out in the greens. I do not intervene with food unless Nova hits the low or under 50s in the middle of her cycle--her normal feed schedule is every 6 hours (for me 6 am, 12 noon, 6 pm & midnight)...she is a late nadir gurl so that's when I know I have to take action. Her onset is rather late too. I give a bit of her normal food (2-5%) at that time. When she goes below 50.. LC2-5%/MC10% mix works for Nova. If she stays under 50---1T 10% more. Once she gets into the 60s, I let her slide without food and test hourly... unless she drops a bit back, of course, then a bit of 2-5% LC is all she gets.....then no more food the 2 hours before preshot. By that time she is usually in the 70-80 area. I have only once had to intervene with honey and/or HC....when she took her sweet time rising from 33 (!)

ECID...you now how Disco responds to food, and what may be making his #s go up...pain, etc.

I am almost into my year as well, and I have been experimenting with food (moved over to FF lower carb for the most part), and have pretty much figured out how she responds...I WANT those greens,....badly....for more than a third of a cycle.....I am still waiting......her pancreas is stubborn.

I hope you take what I just wrote with the caring intent it was given. :)
 
I agree with Carla, I would wait also.

I'm just going to throw this out there.....you can disregard if it doesn't apply to the Disco man.

I would also hesitate to feed, unless it's in his normal schedule, or if gets into the 50s early, to see if he steadies out in the greens. I do not intervene with food unless Nova hits the low or under 50s in the middle of her cycle--her normal feed schedule is every 6 hours (for me 6 am, 12 noon, 6 pm & midnight)...she is a late nadir gurl so that's when I know I have to take action. Her onset is rather late too. I give a bit of her normal food (2-5%) at that time. When she goes below 50.. LC2-5%/MC10% mix works for Nova. If she stays under 50---1T 10% more. Once she gets into the 60s, I let her slide without food and test hourly... unless she drops a bit back, of course, then a bit of 2-5% LC is all she gets.....then no more food the 2 hours before preshot. By that time she is usually in the 70-80 area. I have only once had to intervene with honey and/or HC....when she took her sweet time rising from 33 (!)

ECID...you now how Disco responds to food, and what may be making his #s go up...pain, etc.

I am almost into my year as well, and I have been experimenting with food (moved over to FF lower carb for the most part), and have pretty much figured out how she responds...I WANT those greens,....badly....for more than a third of a cycle.....I am still waiting......her pancreas is stubborn.

I hope you take what I just wrote with the caring intent it was given. :)
Thank you for responding and taking the time to write out what you have been doing with your kitty! I am open to everything and I’m not very organized about what I do and when I do it as far as feeding, mostly because disco has put on 2 pounds since January and I’m reluctant to feed him more frequently but I will read over and over what you’re doing and I think I will try it and see what it does for him if I can do it with any continuity.
 
Thank you for responding and taking the time to write out what you have been doing with your kitty! I am open to everything and I’m not very organized about what I do and when I do it as far as feeding, mostly because disco has put on 2 pounds since January and I’m reluctant to feed him more frequently but I will read over and over what you’re doing and I think I will try it and see what it does for him if I can do it with any continuity.
I look at the calorie count for the foods I'm giving Nova--I'm not familiar with raw, tho, and I try to keep her right around 235 per day split between her meals. The only treats I give are the freeze dried chicken, and sometimes the seafood medley at every test--sometimes 2! (before and after).....from chewy and pet stores.

I do this because I do not want her to get back to the 15lbs she was pre-diabetes (and what my vet would like to see her at {{eyeroll}}) this seems to be keeping her in the 12-12.7 lb range. :)
 
OMG!! you shot a 50!!!! Congrats on your lowest shoot yet! :D Nice job guiding him up too! Don't feed unless he drops again (or is in his scheduled time)...he is on his way up! See how they are? even mention you want to increase, and they almost scream NO! Disco might be asking for a decrease instead. :)
 
I look at the calorie count for the foods I'm giving Nova--I'm not familiar with raw, tho, and I try to keep her right around 235 per day split between her meals. The only treats I give are the freeze dried chicken, and sometimes the seafood medley at every test--sometimes 2! (before and after).....from chewy and pet stores.

I do this because I do not want her to get back to the 15lbs she was pre-diabetes (and what my vet would like to see her at {{eyeroll}}) this seems to be keeping her in the 12-12.7 lb range. :)

Disco's 'Battle of the Bulge' had been ongoing for many years until I got him off high carb foods. In fact, I have a page on my kinda inactive blog that documents the early days https://furrydancecats.blogspot.com/p/discos-battle-of-bulge.html. Once I got him off all dry and on Fancy Feast Classics, I got him down from 16# to 12#. I started the cats on mostly raw after his diagnosis with IBD in 2012. Pretty much what they all eat now is Darwin's Natural Selections Chicken and Turkey 2 oz in AM/PM (76 calories in 2 oz/3% Dry Matter Carbs) with 1/4 can (about 1 Tbs) Fancy Feast Classics (30 calories/0-3% carb depending on variety). The only treats they get are dried bonita flakes and freeze-dried chicken hearts or gizzards. His downfall (and mine) is that he wolfs down his food and then finds the other cats plates and sometimes he has a few bites before I realize it. I try and feed them in separate rooms but still get rushed sometimes and he follows his nose into another room to sneak more food if I've failed to shut the doors because I think I can keep an eye on him, sigh. For quite a while, I was feeding him LC snacks at every spot test but stopped that months ago and while he's stopped gaining, he's not losing weight. I recall a vet I used to work for saying that he needs 80% of his daily calculated nutritional requirement to lose weight and I'm sure he's getting more than that with the snuck-in foraging, lol.
 
OMG!! you shot a 50!!!! Congrats on your lowest shoot yet! :D Nice job guiding him up too! Don't feed unless he drops again (or is in his scheduled time)...he is on his way up! See how they are? even mention you want to increase, and they almost scream NO! Disco might be asking for a decrease instead. :)

Yes, I did...with a 'Damn You' thrown in. I should have gotten a +10 last night and maybe could have kept him higher but seems like my good sleep is always after 3am, LOL. He sure wasn't giving me numbers I liked at 3.75u, so I am hoping I can keep him at 4 unless he gives me 50's two more times in consecutive cycles.
 
Disco's 'Battle of the Bulge' had been ongoing for many years until I got him off high carb foods. In fact, I have a page on my kinda inactive blog that documents the early days https://furrydancecats.blogspot.com/p/discos-battle-of-bulge.html. Once I got him off all dry and on Fancy Feast Classics, I got him down from 16# to 12#. I started the cats on mostly raw after his diagnosis with IBD in 2012. Pretty much what they all eat now is Darwin's Natural Selections Chicken and Turkey 2 oz in AM/PM (76 calories in 2 oz/3% Dry Matter Carbs) with 1/4 can (about 1 Tbs) Fancy Feast Classics (30 calories/0-3% carb depending on variety). The only treats they get are dried bonita flakes and freeze-dried chicken hearts or gizzards. His downfall (and mine) is that he wolfs down his food and then finds the other cats plates and sometimes he has a few bites before I realize it. I try and feed them in separate rooms but still get rushed sometimes and he follows his nose into another room to sneak more food if I've failed to shut the doors because I think I can keep an eye on him, sigh. For quite a while, I was feeding him LC snacks at every spot test but stopped that months ago and while he's stopped gaining, he's not losing weight. I recall a vet I used to work for saying that he needs 80% of his daily calculated nutritional requirement to lose weight and I'm sure he's getting more than that with the snuck-in foraging, lol.
Little sneaky stinker! My grand kitty tries to push Nova away from her food and will eat Anything left on a counter when your back is turned!
 
Yes, I did...with a 'Damn You' thrown in. I should have gotten a +10 last night and maybe could have kept him higher but seems like my good sleep is always after 3am, LOL. He sure wasn't giving me numbers I liked at 3.75u, so I am hoping I can keep him at 4 unless he gives me 50's two more times in consecutive cycles.
My best sleep is after 3am also. Most times when I get up for midnight feed, I can't fall back asleep, then end up late for breķies.
 
Back
Top