9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 (last pm+8-156 <-BIG dive) PMPS 577

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good Morning World! Welcome to our home! Yesterday

DAKOTA
PMPS - 438
pm+3 - 490
pm+8 - 156 <--THERE it is!
AMPS 374

Yep, he's still doing the huge dive when the bounce breaks causing another bounce to start! He's headed back up now, I'll bet we hit the 400's within the next couple of hours. He'll live there for the next 2-3 days. I don't know how long he stayed low last night but I know it wasn't long. THIS is what I need to stop!!!! This was also the reason for my use of R Insulin question - to knock down these ugly bounce numbers. He dives big time to good numbers but can only hold them for an hour or two before Mr. Liver joins the party. All P's in place altho' he'll be a lumpkin for a bit due to the quick zoomie.

Comments and opinions please!!!

I won't get much done today - hubby, the ladder and the metal roof had a fight yesterday afternoon, hubby's knee was the loser. He's got a long very deep gash completely over his kneecap that bled like a stuck pig. He refused to go get the stitches it needs - none of the local anesthetics work for a person with HKPP, just start a huge long paralysis attack. He'd have to just grit his teeth and feel every stitch. We've butterflied it and luckily I have a leg brace that keeps the leg straight. Pain killers don't work normally for hkpp people either so there's nothing to really cut the pain. It's going to take a good week for this to even seal enough for him to bend his knee. Oh this is fun... :roll: The rest of the limbs laying on the roof are going to have to just wait - can't let them stay thru winter so I may end up climbing up there and cutting them.

Today we hold BJ really close as she had to let Mason go last night. Thoughts and prayers continue for those needing them.

BIG HUGS to all that visit today! Dance with us!!!
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

Oh Goodness Dakota, didn't it feel nice at that 156? Stay a while.

Poor hubby!
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

GO BABY GO! He STOPPED at that 374 and headed down again!! WOOHOO!!! Have NO idea why but I'm not going to complain! Maybe it was Melanie's invitation to stay a while! If so, Melanie - will you move in with us? :-D :-D

AMPS 374
+2 - 326
+4 - 322

I'm sorry you have a tummy bug Marje - that isn't fun!
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

Every day is a new day, isn't it? Good going, Dakota! Let's get used to lower floors and stay there. Sorry DH split his knee open - ouch! Hope it heals quickly and without further incident.
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

Thanks for the encouragement for Doc Tara! Unfortunately it didn't work...there's that 400+ again. :roll:

AMPS 374
+2 - 326
+4 - 322
+6 - 416

On a prettier note - check out 2 of the boy's past time today:

Dakota & Bebo squirrel watching and Dakota 'not cat thingy' watching while Sasha watches Kitty TV:

.....
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

Lyresa PM'd me with an update. I see that little blue last night but boy was it a fleeting speck.

IMHO, I'd increase the dose to 1u if you can continue to grab tests. If you look at Gracie's SS, when she was diving on me, I took the dose up and she smoothed out.

Disclaimer: this advice is for Dakota only because I know if we ask Lyresa to test a little more and she is not able to, she won't increase the dose. She is a very experienced caregiver. If you are not experienced and/or don't understand your cat's patterns, do not increase the insulin if your cat is diving like this without asking for specific help for your cat. While my suggestion to Lyresa might be helpful for Dakota, it might not help any other cat. It is cat=specific. :-D
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

Thanks for stopping by and for your advice Marje - hope your tummy is better. Your Disclaimer made me grin...you know me well.

I'll likely wait a couple more days to increase until I know DH can get up/down and walk safely by himself. Right now I have to help him get up, sit down, lay down...it's taking a lot of extra energy making me a bit more tired. He at least understands my 'orders' that he MUST keep any 'stretch' off that kneecap until the skin adheres together again. He took off the brace and bandage yesterday evening then got up by himself...drenched the floor in blood. ohmygod_smile I'm HOPING it will seal by day after tomorrow.

HUGS!!!
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

It's a good plan. I really hope DH will be ok and heal quickly.
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 pm+8-156 <-THERE's that dive!

i was thinking the same thing as marje - a little more insulin to push the overall range down. It just seems to me that it can be difficult to get cats to flatten out if you aren't trying to keep the overall range lower. The idea of keeping a cat in blue numbers is great, or to just keep them under renal threshold (200-250ish), but from what i've seen, the way to get the diving diminshed and the overall range down is to push them into green nadirs.

Of course, you have extraordinary circumstances with your DH's situation and the night issues, so sometimes accepting that limitation means for safety's sake, you let a kitty run a little higher. I think you've become very skilled at that balancing act!

i hope DH's leg heals soon. That sounds like a grim injury!

Love the pics of the happy window kitters!
 
Re: 9/24 DAKOTA AMPS 374 (last pm+8-156 <-BIG dive) PMPS 57

Thanks for your advice also Julie!!

We've been trying to smooth out those ugly bounces he lives with 3/4th of the time - that's not good for him. I was HOPING by my last approach that we could bring the dives up some making his bounce numbers not quite as high but that didn't work. :sad: We'll go with the dose increase in 2-3 days and see if he reacts differently this time...oh I hope so! Mr. Liver REALLY served the cake and ice cream this time - filled him up sweet big time:

AMPS 374
+2 - 326
+4 - 322
+6 - 416
+10 - 544
PM +1.5 - 577

Just unwrapped and mostly unbandaged hubby's knee - I didn't take the butterflys off as didn't want to risk pulling it apart. For the long, deep cut it is, it looks good. It went all the way down to the kneecap and is 3" long side to side - nasty thing! I don't see any signs of redness/inflammation altho' I can see swelling on one side, likely a blood pocket but with an injury like this, it's expected. It's now got clean bandages and he's back in the brace to keep his leg straight.

I think I'm going to call it a night early - I know I won't have to get up and test Doc tonight, he'll still be partying with Mr. Liver for a day or two. As long as they don't invite others... :roll:

DANCE! Cinco's home!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top