9/24 Cinco PMBG 317 Home from Surgery

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
9/23 Recap:
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 196
AM+3.75: 98
AM+5.25: 81
AM+9: 162
PMPS: 177
PM+1.75: 109
PM+4.25: 43 :o :shock:
PM+5: 44
PM+5.5: 51
PM+6: 58
PM=6.5: 67
PM+7: 70
PM+8: 94
PM=9.5: 161

Yesterday's When Worst Case Scenarios Come True Condo :o :o :o

First of all, I want to thank Elise for holding my hand late last night when I was freaking out - and when she had her own PJ party going on. Not sure if I would have survived it without you! Thank you also to Chris and Amy for popping in and propping me up, and to Wendy for reinforcing my decision not to shoot this morning, as well as Deanna for the vines. I didn't sleep much after all that excitement - adrenaline was still raging. Consequently, this morning I'm @-) !

To back track, I left a few pertinent facts out of yesterday's late condo. Cinco has been so good about not messing with his eye that I had left him out of the cone all week. I noticed early on he was most likely to rub his eye right after I put in drops, so I made it a point to keep an eagle eye on him for 5-10 minutes after each dose. I neglected to mention this to DH. :roll: While I was gone yesterday, he gave Cinco some of his drops. When I got home, the eyelid was very red and irritated looking, and there was some moisture with a pinkish tint on Cinco's left paw. Clearly, he had been rubbing the heck out of that eye! :o I got a warm washcloth and cleaned it up, then I put the collar back on, and it stayed on until the OV took it off this morning to examine him. Fortunately, he did not do any damage. Dr. C said that the eye was inflamed and the pressure was higher than it had been, so he was even more sure we had made the right choice in removing the eye.

Sooo, last night Cinco did what I had been worried about - a cliff dive that would make his buddy China proud! :shock: He didn't eat much of his "last" snack at 7:59 pm, so I never thought he'd drop like that - he's usually ravenous when he's dropping. Guess he showed me! Rubbing the karo on his gums was not fun - he did NOT like my touching his mouth. At. All. I made a mental note to ask the OV's tech to have a look in his mouth while he's sedated and let me know if I need to take him for a dental, once he's recovered from this. It took a while to get him up that way, but he did eventually pull out of it and we have a nice little bouncette this morning. Even though he was over 200, I really didn't feel comfortable shooting, so we skipped it. The vet tech agreed that we made the right decision, as did the OV. They have his insulin and food and can give him both if they end up keeping him late enough tonight. They didn't think they would have him that late, but best to be prepared. They assured me they would be monitoring his BG all day.

I'm going to take advantage of Cinco's absence to thoroughly clean and vacuum the family room, where he hangs out, and I'll do the litter box cleaning today, too. Better get moving before I fall asleep.

Also, on Sunday morning I started my day by dropping my 6 month old Droid Razr Maxx, and the screen cracked like a spider web! :o ohmygod_smile The replacement arrived yesterday afternoon and I haven't had a chance to get switched over, so that's on the agenda, too. Never a dull moment in our house!

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Prayers continuing for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF, Elise's DM and Wendy's DM.
Congratulations to Skunky on being officially OTJ! party_cat We could all use a party!
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

Sending tons and tons and tons of smooth surgery vines your way, along with "kiss the cone goodbye once and for all very soon" vines, too!
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

I'm so glad Elise was around and then Amy and Wendy popped on. You all did a great job!!!

Sending a ton of great surgery vines today. I know you are nervous but we are all sending prayers galore.
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

Thanks, Marje and Amy. Accepting all vines, prayers and well wishes. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Question: I was just researching a "new" food, and they list their analysis on both a dry matter and an "as is" basis. Has anyone ever heard of the latter? Would that be the same as "as fed"?
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

Sending lots of good surgery vines to my bestest cliff diving student ever..Cinco!! ~ China

Wow what a night Tricia! They just always have to make our lives a little more exciting, don't they?

I think "as is" is probably the same as "as fed"....don't know what else it could really mean.

Hope today's surgery goes well and Cinco's back home again soon where he belongs! I'm sure after he's through recuperating from this, he's going to be a much happier kitty without all those eyedrops...and I'm sure you won't miss having to give them either!!
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

((((Tricia and Cinco)))) I didn't realize today was Cinco's eye surgery, I am sending tons and tons of stress relieving, good luck and hoping for a successful outcome vines! I gotta run now but you and Cinco will be in my prayers! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

I'm glad I was able to help a little last night. It's tough going through these crazy nights alone and with the added stress of the surgery today I am amazed at how calm you were. Cinco has been looking so good lately I seriously doubt he will miss the skipped shot one bit. I hope he comes home feeling okay tonight. One other thing about the skipped dose is you SHOULD be able to get some sleep tonight. No guarantees with these guys though.
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

Sorry things were so crazy for you yesterday. I'm glad you and Cinco made it through. Sending prayers for his surgery today. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

Oh, Wow, Tricia. Cinco really gave you a ride last night. The surgery worry is enough, no need to make it more complicated.

Lots of light and prayers for the boy. Hope he has an easy evening. You, too.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

I have been thinking of you all today....looking forward to hearing the report of how amazing everything went and how well Cinco is doing....

Say Cinco....I think da beanz might get mad if we pawty too much since you had surgermery...I don't know what it is either...but maybe we can hang out a little in da wet stuff and a little on da dry stuff and you can tell mez about it.....hope you feelin' better buddy! ~Skooter
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

You did a fantastic job handling the low numbers last night. I can only begin to imagine how stressful it was for you. I'm so glad Elise, Amy, Chris, & Wendy were there to hold hands, encourage, and give advice.

Piling on more prayers for Cinco today. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

I hope everything went well today!! Sending lots of vines for a quick recovery!
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

Crazy cat! I hope all went well today and you got to rest a bit, even with all of your chores to do.
Liz
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Surgery Today

Thank you so much for all the visits and well wishes. I just brought Cinco home. He came through the surgery well, and they said his BG were in the mid-200s all day. I forgot to ask for actual numbers and times ohmygod_smile . He is still pretty out of it and it took a while for him to come out of the carrier. I let him do it on his own. I cleaned up his "area" and washed some of his bedding while he was gone, but he's currently lying on his scratching matt, which is his favorite spot. That wasn't cleaned, so it will still smell and feel the same! I'm not sure about a shot tonight. They said we can offer food when he's a little more awake, but just a little at a time. We're gonna play it by ear. I think we'll test him at the usual time - 6:30-ish (we're very ishy here), and see if he's interested in eating. If not, we'll try again in a half hour. If more than an hour goes by and he doesn't want to eat enough for us to be comfortable shooting, we'll just call it a skip and start again in the morning. We didn't give an evening shot last time and he did just fine.

We appreciate the prayers and vines. Please keep them coming for a speedy, uncomplicated recovery! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

Yay - I'm so glad he's home and all went well! Sending more prayers for a super-speedy recovery!!!
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

Sending quick and perfect recovery vines to Cinco.
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

Sending MEGA smooth recovery vines to Cinco.
cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

Tons of vines and prayers for a speedy recovery for Cinco. You must be so relieved to have this behind you.
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

Hi Tricia,

We're sending healing and relaxing wishes to both you and Cinco. You must be exhausted! The worst is over and we're sure you'll both be sleeping peacefully in not too long.

Your LL friends, Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

Welcome home Cinco!!! I'm glad he's home safe and sound. Sending him lots of healing vines, and good night's sleep vines for all of you.
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

I'm so glad Cinco is back home and resting.
Sending many recovery vines to your sweet boy and hugs to you, Tricia.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

((((tricia & cinco)))))

yikes what a time you've had! Sending my best recovery vines to cinco and "no stress" vines to you. I'm so glad he came through the surgery ok.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Cinco AMBG 220 +2 262 Home from Surgery

So glad Cinco came through like the champ he is!

Sending lots of vines for a speedy and uneventful recovery.....
 
Thank you for visiting everyone!!! Cinco is still not feeling like eating, not even baby food, so no insulin tonight. I'll keep offering him something every hour or so, and we'll see. They loaded him up on fluids, so they said not to expect him to want water tonight. He's already peed twice since he's been home. Poor little guy, he's so woozy it took him forever to cross the room to the lb, but he made it! :-D
 
Awww...poor baby!!

I know you'll be up all night with him tonight too just making sure he's OK so it may have been a better idea to sleep today instead of clean!

Try to get a nap in when you can Tricia

Feel better soon Cinco! China misses her lagoon buddy
 
Sending lots of speedy recovery and appy vines for Cinco and hugs for you Tricia. :YMHUG: The furry ones send head butts and purrs. I'm glad he's home and the surgery went well.
 
you poor guys. you have been through so much. sending tons of prayers & healing vines to you both that the recovery will be fast and ur baby feels better soon. you both must be so stressed. hope you have a relaxing & healing week. please take care.
nadine & tibbs
 
Thanks for checking in, Chris, Wendy, Nadine and Tara.

Cinco is doing fine. I gave him a pain pill at 9:30 - which is about when the vet tech said the pain meds they gave during surgery would wear off. He went right back to sleep. At about midnight he suddenly got up and went to his water dispenser and started drinking, then he turned to the plate of food I'd left for him and ate almost half! I guess he's feeling better. :-D Now he's passed out on the floor in front of his food and water. I-)

I told DH if Cinco doesn't want to eat at shot time in the morning to wake me, but it's looking like he might be good to go. Paws crossed and anti-jinx! Now that he's eaten, I think I'll stay up another hour or so to make sure he keeps the food down, and then I'll be pretty comfortable going to bed.

Got all my info transferred to the replacement phone. Now I just have to set up my ringtones. I wish you didn't have to do that every time you change handsets! :roll:
 
Just getting caught up, I'm so glad that the surgery went well and Cinco is starting to fell a little better. Sending lots of speedy recovery vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top