9/24 Cinco AMPS 271 +3 186 +5 152 +9 216 PMPS 298 +3 108 +4.5 108 +6.25 180 Day 2 of Radiation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Very Active Member
9/22 Recap:
.5 units bid
AMPS: 272
AM+5: 103
AM+6: 147
PMPS: 283
PM+3: 257
PM+6.5: 221

9/23 Recap:
.5 units bid
AMPS: 289
AM+3: 188
AM+5.25: 134
PMPS: 236
PM+3: 191
PM+5: 191

Last Time at Tricia's House of Chaos

Sorry to go MIA again yesterday. The back and forth to UCD takes so much time, and add that to all the stuff I have to do for the other kitties, I'm not left with much time for anything else. When Sasha had her radiation, I wasn't doing fluids or anything for Minka (She wasn't even diagnosed yet), although for part of it I was on crutches! I'd forgotten how taxing the driving is.

So yesterday was Cinco's first radiation treatment. They also took a sample from his nose and sent it to be biopsied. We are still waiting for the official Pathologist's report, but preliminary analysis says it does NOT appear to contain cancer cells! :):):) Cinco did very well with his anesthesia, and they gave him an entire small can of food when he woke up, which he demolished. Unfortunately, that was at +10, so when he got home for t/f/s he wasn't terribly hungry! :confused: A little Forti Flora solved the problem, and this morning I asked that they not give him more than half a can. He was a little more receptive to dinner tonight. The +9 reading was taken by his vet tech just before he went under, I think.

I know we should wait a few more days before making any decisions about dosing, but I'm wondering if we should leave him at .5 for the duration, assuming his numbers continue to be the same as they have yesterday and today? On the one, hand, with no more food after 6 am, we don't have to worry about his dropping too low, but on the other hand, do we want to leave him this high for 3.5 weeks? Thoughts?

Minka's appy has still been hit or miss. She ate half her breakfast this morning, then nothing else, so I gave her some Mirtz (just switching it up a little) and some Cerenia. She had a snack an hour so so later and ate about 1/3 of her dinner.

Sasha's appy has been slightly below happy yesterday and today, but it's been hot, hot, hot again, so not too surprised. I'll be glad to see the end of summer appies for her.

Harvey, meanwhile, continues to eat like a champ. :woot:

I am sorry I haven't done much visiting. I'll try to do some more tonight. I have a feeling it will be limited during the week, with all the driving to and from UCD twice a day. I'll try, but know I have you all in my thoughts and prayers all the time.

I so appreciate everyone's visits and words of support through all this. Thank you so much! :bighug:

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans, especially Marilyn & Polly, Deborah & Shasta, Carla & her civvie Baby, Wendy & civvie Theo, and Marje & Gracie. :bighug: Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF and DH, Marje's DM, Chris' DM, Molly's DM, and Elise's DM.
 
I'm glad Cinco was his wonderful adaptable self. Please don't worry about visiting right now. Yiu have so much going on I don't know how you do it all. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy to hear from you!! Thought about you guys all day yesterday but didn't want to bother you since I figured you had your plate more than full!! And a "guarded" YOO HOO!!!!! on the initial test results!!!! Continuing to send those magic LL vines!!

I think I'd rather see him a little higher while he's not getting breakfast, especially if you can't be 100% sure that they can check his BG while he's there...You know how he can be!!

I don't remember, but I assume they don't do radiation on weekends? You might try increasing just a bit on Friday night and see how he does over the weekend
 
Glad to have a THoC update. Radiation vines for Cinco and appy vines for the girls.

Hugs to you Tricia:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
They also took a sample from his nose and sent it to be biopsied. We are still waiting for the official Pathologist's report, but preliminary analysis says it does NOT appear to contain cancer cells! :):):)
WOOT! All paws crossed here.:woot::woot:

A question, do you know what type of meter the vet tech uses? I was surprised at some numbers during Neko's dental, until I found out they were using the ATrack.

The dosing is a tough one. Any chance of finding a dose between .75u and .5u? (sorry Mark). Is he getting radiation all 5 weekdays? I agree that it would be hard to leave him at mostly above 150 for the duration. Likely will get some glucose toxicity which means going a bit higher in dose to break through. Do they do any mid cycle testing while he's there for radiation. One out of the box thought if you can't find an in between dose, how about taking him up on Friday nights for the weekend, then back down for the week. Maybe the higher depot will help. Doh - Chris just typed faster than me.
 
Many vines for Cinco and you for this treatment. Woohoo on the preliminary results (anti-jinx). :) And some appy vines for the girls, too.
Liz
 
Vines aplenty for Cinco!!! And for you too. :bighug::bighug: A brave cat and a brave bean. I hope radiation continues to go well. I will be thinking of you!
 
Deputy Cinco, you are a champ! Don't worry about the lagoon. Just eat yer fuds and keep yer numbers in a safe range. I'm going out to pick you some beautiful healing vines first thing tomorrow morning. You'll be able to smell them from the beach.
~ Rusty


Tricia, we sure hope that all the reports continue to be favorable. Cinco is fantastic. Sending all sorts of vines for Cinco, Minka and Sasha, and a pat on the head for Harvey, the Hoover.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Sending vines for Cinco's continued treatment, and appy vines for the girls (Harvey doesn't need them) and hugs to you Tricia for continued strength to deal with all life throws at you :bighug:
 
Thanks for stopping by, Elise, Chris, Anne, Wendy, Liz, Deanna, Ella and Suki.

@Wendy&Neko and @Chris & China, I was wondering if that would be a good idea. So if I raised the dose starting on Friday night, would I then reduce it starting Sunday night? And did Cinco just throw a monkey wrench in this plan with his PM+3?

Wendy, he gets radiation five days a week. 16 treatments total, I believe. Two down, 14 to go.

Chris, he is getting breakfast, at 6 am, but that's all he's getting until after his radiation treatment.

I did not ask what kind of meter they took the reading on. I assumed it was an AT. I will ask tomorrow. The tech that takes care of Cinco is the same one that helps Dawn out when she needs a day off, and he also took care of Sasha during her radiation. He knows my kitties. He doesn't think I'm crazy when I ask for the BG readings and times. :)

Yo, Rusty. Thank you for cutting me some slack. I's gonna try to visit the lagoon when I can. I be happy to work on shore patrol the rest of the time. I love my job! - Cinco
 
So if I raised the dose starting on Friday night, would I then reduce it starting Sunday night? And did Cinco just throw a monkey wrench in this plan with his PM+3?

I think it would depend on the numbers he got Fri-Sun as to what to do on Sun night/Monday

And of course he had to drop like a rock...would have been too easy if he'd just stayed in the same general numbers! Wouldn't be surprised if he "b word" tomorrow from that quick drop

For tomorrow morning, I think I'd just stick with the current dose and see what numbers he gets and then figure out what to do next....I don't think any of us know what kind of issues might come up with the radiation therapy and we would rather see him a little too high than too low

Just my thoughts!
 
Thanks, Chris. These kitties just love to keep us on our toes. I guess I'll hope to get him home early enough tomorrow night to be able to get a +11 and post for advice. Haven't had to do that in a long time!
 
I'm glad to hear that Cinco is handling the treatment well. Paws crossed that they are right about the nose biopsy. Don't worry about posting, you have your hands full! But cinco's aunties do worry!;)
 
I agree, just play it by the numbers Cinco gives you. Daytime he might be getting a bit of vetty stress.
 
Such good reports so far :joyful::joyful: keep us smiling Cinco.

Tee hee hee on the numbers tonight - that's what happens when you try to plan ahead! I'm for not aiming for the lagoon for the time being. Even if he does end up developing a bit of glucose toxicity you can sort that out at the other end.
 
Yay for a preliminary report of no cancer cells. I'm glad Cinco is doing well with his treatment. Good luck figuring out his dose. Sending appy vines for Minka and Sasha. Don't worry about posting. Take care of yourself and your kitties. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well, you know, all things considered (and that's a heft bunch for consideration), a good report. Whew!

No dosing advice from me. My stinker tends to go lower in some stress situations: car rides, radiation days during SRT, and, of course, those mystery drops sent from the dwarf stars out in the universe.

Vines, light, karma ('cuz you got tons of that), and everything positive flowing from here to there. And we're with you. Just as you're with us even without posting. Which by the way, we don't expect!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hi Tricia :coffee::coffee::coffee:

I m so glad that Cinco is handling the treatments well. What a plus that is. Many good vibes for you Cinco.

Hugs to the rest of the troops, and you too.
 
Great news on the preliminary report!
Cinco is such a little trouper. It sounds like the people at the vet centre you take him to are wonderful. Makes such a difference
Please take care of yourself. You must be so busy with all the running around you have to do at the moment:bighug::bighug:
 
WaHOOO on the preliminary thought on Cinco's nose samples!!! Prayers that they come back negative.

Don't worry about visiting - we know you have got your hands more than full right now - and they were already beyond full before starting the radiation. Just know that we are all thinking of you and sending all sorts of positive vines your way for your entire crew.
 
Paws crossed for all of it.
Ui7skqt9ZZk.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top