9/24 Billie PMPS 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125766

Billie threw me a curveball! I was all set to increase her back up to 1.5u today, her dose before vacation. I shot her vacation dose of 1u again last night because I wanted to increase on a daytime cycle. But, I woke up in the middle of the night and happened to get a +4 test - 89 :mrgreen: So, now I'm not sure what to do. The 89 was likely her nadir or close to her nadir, but who knows - I wanted to get another test around +6 but woke up for it and fell back to sleep without getting it - so I don't know where she went from there or how long she stayed green.

Should I hold the 1u dose for 6 cycles in this case? Or try 1.25 instead of 1.5? I shot 1u again this morning, and this is cycle #3 of that dose since the skipped shot on Monday night.

When the hives and coughing started, she went up the dosing scale a bit. Her hives and cough seem to be getting better (anti-jinx), so I'm wondering if she is going to need less insulin as those issues improve.

I hope everyone has a nice day! Sending lots of vines to all the cats and beans in need, and good surgery vines to Cinco!
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 green last night - dose question

With that very pretty 89, I'd be inclined to hold her at 1.00U and see what she does with it. It's a non-traditional way of reducing, but sometimes "non-traditional" is what the kitty chooses (just aske Trix - the most non-traditional OTJ kitty in the bunch!)! If she needs more juice, it's easy enough to take Billie back up. What do her numbers look like today?

Let's see what others think, too.....
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 green last night - dose question

Thanks Amy! That is what I'm leaning toward. Billie is full of surprises, and there's probably no harm in holding the dose 3 more cycles. I'm especially intrigued because she hit that green just two cycles after a skipped dose, when I would expect that her depot would be drained and she'd be running higher, especially with the reduced dose she was getting all weekend. Tricky kitties! Today's cycle doesn't tell me much because it looks a lot like her post bounce or bounce clearing cycles, but I wonder what her PMPS will be like.
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 +4 216 green last night - dose ques

These kitties do like to keep us beans on our toes. Maybe she went green because she was so happy that you were back home :mrgreen: ! Work that reducie, little lady!!!
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 +4 216 green last night - dose ques

I agree with Amy. You had a skipped shot two nights ago and so your cycle count starts over. In the new cycle count on 1u, she's seen a green one. It could be a fluke....a day when she absorbed her insulin to the max....or it could be the "new" Billie ;-) ;-) :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I'm hoping for the latter!
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 +4 216 green last night - dose ques

Welcome back Deanna- I bet Billie and Brooklyn were delighted to see you last night! I go with the theory that the appearance of Mr Greenie last night was Billie's way of saying welcome home! :lol: Good luck with the reducie! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 +4 216 green last night - dose ques

i enjoyed last night's stories about your welcome home! isn't it funny how a cat wants to make you pay for leaving them, but can't really contain their excitement that you're home!? :lol: When I had my first baby, I had TC, who i'd found in college and had her through my single and then young married days. She took to the hubby ok, but when i brought home the baby . . . oh boy. she wouldn't be in the same room with me for exactly 2 weeks. If i walked in, she walked out. She was in a complete snit about it. :lol: :lol: poor TC. I kept wooing her, trying to get her to get over it. Two weeks to the day, she finally gave up her bad mood. We all survived, but it was pretty funny how opinionated she was about the whole thing.

great news on the hives, coughing and dose. sometimes just the threat of the dose increase is all it takes! :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 +4 216 green last night - dose ques

Thank you Amy, Marje, Ruth and Julie!! I like the idea of a welcome home from Mr. Greenie! I'll stick with the 1u for 6 cycles and we'll see how it goes!

Julie, wow! :lol: :lol: TC sounds like a spunky girl! I'm glad she adjusted eventually after holding a sufficient grudge...I can't believe she avoided being in the same room as you! They certainly make their opinions known. I have been with my boyfriend for almost 4 years, but it took about 2 years for Brooklyn to really like him. She was always polite but would give him very dirty looks if he was lying on the side of the bed she likes or sitting on the end of the couch that she likes. I don't know what changed, but all of a sudden it seemed like she made the decision to befriend him, and now she likes hanging out with him. She will even curl up and spoon with him like she does with me. cat_pet_icon

Billie had one coughing fit tonight which was a bummer, but one fit in the whole day is still a nice improvement from last week. The hives are still looking better!
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 +4 216

I don't know what changed, but all of a sudden it seemed like she made the decision to befriend him, and now she likes hanging out with him. She will even curl up and spoon with him like she does with me.

Be very, very cautious. She may just be lulling everyone into a false sense of security before she strikes.....oh......no, wait, I'm sorry. I thought I was reading a Jersey condo. My bad. ohmygod_smile :lol: :lol: :lol:

Yay for the greens on the reduced dose. Come on, Billie, let's get this whole bouncing stuff over with and use the juice.

Sending lots more anti-coughing vines for Billie and hope-you-got-caught-up-on-sleep wishes for you. :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Billie AMPS 287 +4 216

:lol: :lol: Shelly, that would be a very long con from Brooklyn...but who knows...behind all that purring, she might be on a mission to destroy. Thank you for the vines!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top