9/24 Abby / amps 176 (Lantus +1U) / +6 78 / pmps 218

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
Hi, all - apologies if my title is incorrect as this is my first post to the Lantus group. Abby (15.5 yo/F / 11 lbs) was recently diagnosed and I'm starting to think her pre-home testing numbers were stress induced high at the vet. She has been on 2U of Lantus twice a day for a about a week); however, I noticed her numbers were low yesterday/this morning so this morning I only gave her 1U (the vet was off today and the vet tech said to skip shots altogether until the vet is back in tomorrow, which didn't seem right based on my research so I went with 1U). It is a struggle to test Abby and she is not treat driven so this has been a difficult adventure for us, but I'm doing the best I can. She is currently eating Fancy Feast and seems to be eating a pretty normal amount.

My question is for tonight's dose (which I will try my best to get a pre shot test which I know should help guide me). Since cats go lower at night, I'm wondering if I should give .5U assuming her numbers are the same as today/the last few nights (or skip the shot altogether). The more that I see Abby bounce back based on the food (she is drinking less, grooming more, etc.) and quickly on Lantus the more I am kicking myself that I didn't just try to food control from the beginning (or realized we weren't getting accurate numbers at the vet given Abby's cattitude). Until I can talk to the vet tomorrow, I would appreciate any advice you may have for me and Abby for tonight's shot. Thank you in advance. I really appreciate all of the information available on this site - it's been more helpful than I can say during the last month!
 
Welcome. How long ago did you stop the dry food? That can make a huge difference as well. Your vet started her on too large a dose. It should have been 1.0 so you made a wise decision. When you have time please read the yellow stickies. I would start with the dosing methods as future dosing will depend on which you choose. Read how to help us help you and handling low numbers. I would print out the last one.
 
First let me say Welcome to the Forum!

Your title isn't bad for a first timer! Nice job!

Secondly, your vet has recommended way too much insulin to start...and you've already gotten a really low number for a beginner today.

I don't know if you've had a chance to read the yellow tabbed stickies at the top of this forum, but it will make a difference as to your approach here when you select a dosing method; SLGS is slower but a good method to start with; TR is a little more aggressive and you may need to test a bit more - no dry food allowed on TR.

You'll want to add some things to your signature so we can see what she's eating; type of insulin (which you already have) and tidbits of other info (see mine as an example, but you don't have to follow that exactly).

I have not had many favorable impressions of vets and their advice; I'm sure there are some vets out there somewhere who know something about feline diabetes (FD)...but the majority do not. You'll get a lot more information here than your vet can even dream about providing.

Did you get a human glucometer or buy into the vet recommended AT2? I hope you have a human meter as the dosing methods here were written using human meters...if not, you can always switch after you use up your initial stock of strips.

I'd suggest a starting dose of .5 tonight...I know that might seem like going backward, but I'd rather try to avoid a low blood glucose situation this early in the game.

Get your dosing method selected...and read up on some of the stickies: this one is a great place to start:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

and then

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-psa-please-read.231511/

and if you can still see tonight:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

I'm not going to be around any later this evening, but my comment will bump your condo back to the top...I'm an early bird! So if you're on early tomorrow and create a new post, I'll see you then.

Have a great evening and once again WELCOME!!
 
Hi Abby's human bean! :)Welcome. You've done an excellent job getting your spreadsheet going and with your title. Way to go!

I'm sorry the testing has been a struggle. :bighug:Is there anything that motivates Abby that could help get her used to testing? Brushing, perhaps? A catnip toy or a face rub? That aside, given your testing challenges, you've doing a good job at getting tests. I would like to suggest you get some tests at nighttime, though. You administer Lantus to Abby twice per day so who knows what could be happening with her overnight.

What I normally do for nighttime cycles is I will get a test around +2.5 and then look at that number in relation to her PMPS number. If the +2.5 is higher than PMPS, chances are it won't be that active of a cycle overnight. If it is the same or lower, then you want to get more tests. Regardless, I will always get a before bed test, usually around +4, and then let that number be my guide as to whether I need to set an alarm for more tests.

Speaking of active cycles, that 78 @+6 is a beautiful number but also getting low. I'd suggest you get another test at +7 and let us know what it is if you need some guidance on how to handle low numbers. There is also a sticky for that:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
How long ago did you stop the dry food?
Thanks for the note. I transitioned from her dry food upon diagnosis (about 5 weeks ago). I tried the prescription food the vet suggested but she wasn't a fan so we moved to FF about a week and a half ago. I do leave the prescription dry food out because she has always had dry food and she is eating a few kibbles a day of that at her leisure (whereas FF I give her AM/lunch and PM). Thanks - I'll read the stickies/resources. I'm somewhat surprised her numbers dropped as quick as they did (wasn't prepared for it!); however, I'm learning I still have a lot to learn here. Thanks again!
 
Theres a lot to learn. It’s really good you are home testing. With any dry food you will want to follow SLGS. Many here feed several small meals of canned and use freeze dried treats. They use an auto feeder with ice packs to keep the food fresh when not home or sleeping and set it to rotate to empty two hours before each shot.
 
Hi Abby's human bean! :)Welcome. You've done an excellent job getting your spreadsheet going and with your title. Way to go!

I'm sorry the testing has been a struggle. :bighug:Is there anything that motivates Abby that could help get her used to testing? Brushing, perhaps? A catnip toy or a face rub? That aside, given your testing challenges, you've doing a good job at getting tests. I would like to suggest you get some tests at nighttime, though. You administer Lantus to Abby twice per day so who knows what could be happening with her overnight.

What I normally do for nighttime cycles is I will get a test around +2.5 and then look at that number in relation to her PMPS number. If the +2.5 is higher than PMPS, chances are it won't be that active of a cycle overnight. If it is the same or lower, then you want to get more tests. Regardless, I will always get a before bed test, usually around +4, and then let that number be my guide as to whether I need to set an alarm for more tests.

Speaking of active cycles, that 78 @+6 is a beautiful number but also getting low. I'd suggest you get another test at +7 and let us know what it is if you need some guidance on how to handle low numbers. There is also a sticky for that:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
Thank you for the welcome and the guidance. Unfortunately, I haven't found anything to motivate Abby for the testing, but I'll keep trying. Abby is and has been a very independent indoor cat. I think I barely make her "tolerates" list on most days (but I still love her!) I wasn't able to get another test by myself this afternoon; however, my sister will be over soon to help me get another test before this evening's shot. I will have to shift her shot times, which I see I should be able to do by moving 15-30 minutes a day, in order to get night tests so I'll add that to my to-do list. Thank you so much for sharing your night testing technique - I will work on that!
 
Thank you @Sue and Luci - I appreciate the welcome and the links. I have updated our signature with additional info and will read more on the yellow tabs to gain some additional insight. I do think we'll try SLGS since Abby enjoys the ability to graze on kibbles (she doesn't eat more than a few every once and a while). Her number was up a bit tonight (probably because we've had a few stressful testing attempts), but I still went with .5U tonight. Her low numbers the past few days have made me very nervous so I think it is time to figure out the right dose! Anyways, thanks again for the welcome and advice.
 
Back
Top