? 9/24/20 Squeaky PMPS 229 (AMPS 424, +6 = 406)

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-23-20-squeaky-amps-291-3-439-pmps-271.235791/#post-2642602

Hi Folks, Squeaky was perky when I woke up (late) this morning, but he wanted to go outside on the balcony and made a beeline for the plants. Ate some, then vomited foamy.

Came back, of course he hid, knowing what was coming. His number was 443.

It's not helpful for him to have good stools and be back to vomiting. :( Well I better get over to Walmart to buy more diabetic supplies.

Crying again. Not only do I have his illness to cope with...... I feel I have lost my best friend. The purr sessions are few and far between, and he doesnt' sit on my lap like he used to. Being all alone, he was my greatest support, now I have to help him without the emotional comfort I am used to. Oh dear we did not start this day well.
 
Last edited:
So he doesn't even want to come out of hiding to go outside and sit in the grass. I'm wondering if something is wrong with him today.

Okay he came out after I swept him from behind the sofa. Enjoyed a half hour. Now his numbers are so high. I don't understand why he seems to be getting worse.
 
Last edited:
I have discouraging days still. It happens I too have had days where you just need to cry. It's so stressful at times but I do my best to help Molly. When first diagnosed with diabetes I had to wrap her in a blanket to test her. She would give me the evil eye or she would run from me, she still does that some days. I reward her with a freeze dried treat afterwords. Try to enjoy your day I hope Squeaky will come out of hiding soon :)

I had a cat named Squeaky, my parents adopted him when I moved out west.
 
Yes, I was the same way. We take Molly camping with us, she loves it. We went away for the night and had a couple watch Molly. It was nice to get away but I worried the whole time. I was texting the lady during shot times to see if she was ok. I don't think I slept a wink that night. It's going on 2 years that Molly has had diabetes. Her numbers were really good and now I'm stressed because her numbers have recently gone up. She has asthma and I think that may have something to do with it. There will be good days and bad days, I've had some amazing people here who have helped Molly and I!
 
Last edited:
Jan, please don't despair! You're just getting started...we've been at this for nearly three years since Luci was diagnosed.

You'll get a rhythm I promise...coffee/test; breakfast/test; lunch/test; chores, afternoon tea/test...prepare dinner/test/eat... test, test, test...:D:D

Take a look around at some spreadsheets...look at mine...look at Molly's...lots of testing...

Squeaky's numbers will come down...you continue to support and treat him and it'll pay off.

Luci is not in remission, may never be, but she's healthy and happy and spunky ... and it's because she's on insulin, daily...just like anyone else would be who had diabetes.

Keep testing and read the stickies to see what's going on when you encounter higher numbers (it's a bounce)...in the early days the numbers are more erratic than later on...

Just know, that we're all here...in the same boat... Hang in there!! :bighug:
 
You have to take care of you...no matter how hard that is! Even if is going out for a walk. I am the same boat with my CKD kitty. She is older and it just seems everything has slide down a bad ski slope in the last 8 weeks.

Maybe just Sqeaky where you can, don't worry about fixing it all at once. And breathe, have chocolate, a glass of wine, a bath or a walk...
 
You have to take care of you...no matter how hard that is! Even if is going out for a walk. I am the same boat with my CKD kitty. She is older and it just seems everything has slide down a bad ski slope in the last 8 weeks.

Maybe just Sqeaky where you can, don't worry about fixing it all at once. And breathe, have chocolate, a glass of wine, a bath or a walk...

You are right. I've decided to spend one day a week, outside away from the house. I think it gives Squeaky a break, too, because he knows if I'm out that he won't get poked/stabbed. Sorry to hear your kitty is not doing so well. Saying prayers.
 
Jan, please don't despair! You're just getting started...we've been at this for nearly three years since Luci was diagnosed.

You'll get a rhythm I promise...coffee/test; breakfast/test; lunch/test; chores, afternoon tea/test...prepare dinner/test/eat... test, test, test...:D:D

Take a look around at some spreadsheets...look at mine...look at Molly's...lots of testing...

Squeaky's numbers will come down...you continue to support and treat him and it'll pay off.

Luci is not in remission, may never be, but she's healthy and happy and spunky ... and it's because she's on insulin, daily...just like anyone else would be who had diabetes.

Keep testing and read the stickies to see what's going on when you encounter higher numbers (it's a bounce)...in the early days the numbers are more erratic than later on...

Just know, that we're all here...in the same boat... Hang in there!! :bighug:

Thank you Sue, it's so important to hear me say that the numbers will come down, with continued support and treatment. I hope you keep saying that. And it's good to hear your cat is healthy and happy even without remission. I'm sure glad you are here. You, and everyone. Thank you.
 
Yes, I was the same way. We take Molly camping with us, she loves it. We went away for the night and had a couple watch Molly. It was nice to get away but I worried the whole time. I was texting the lady during shot times to see if she was ok. I don't think I slept a wink that night. It's going on 2 years that Molly has had diabetes. Her numbers were really good and now I'm stressed because her numbers have recently gone up. She has asthma and I think that may have something to do with it. There will be good days and bad days, I've had some amazing people here who have helped Molly and I!

Even with diabetes, you take your cat camping! That is inspiring. I will try to take Squeaky out more. I thought, if he was older it wouldn't work. But, maybe it works better. Less chance of him scampering away. Squeaky has asthma too. Are you using an inhaler with Molly? We've been doing it for 12 years already. Sending hugs. Jan
 
Squeaky is still bouncing, hopefully over shortly. Some cats go higher before they go lower. Once you learn Squeaky's patterns on Lantus, you'll be able to get out more and do things for yourself. Make sure you have time for whatever helps stress for you. For me it was exercise (rowing), some go hiking, do yoga, whatever! It is hard in the beginning, but you will learn to live with having a diabetic cat.
 
Squeaky is still bouncing, hopefully over shortly. Some cats go higher before they go lower. Once you learn Squeaky's patterns on Lantus, you'll be able to get out more and do things for yourself. Make sure you have time for whatever helps stress for you. For me it was exercise (rowing), some go hiking, do yoga, whatever! It is hard in the beginning, but you will learn to live with having a diabetic cat.

Thank you for the encouragement and previews of coming attractions. I've decided it's a necessity for me to go out for one day a week, so give us each a break from each other. I'm fixing up my car to be an CaRV, so I will be able to take day trips around. I like hearing about maybe the bouncing will end soon. Someone told me today his diabetic cat went into remission after 1 year. So hopefully sooner, but that was still encouraging to hear. Thank you so much.
 
Correct, if you are stalling you don't feed as you want to see what his numbers are doing without influence of food. Actually, if his preshot is 200, you could just shoot, you don't need to stall, but I digress. On this forum, for those following TR, we suggest that if you get a number below 150, you do not feed and post for help. Otherwise you SHOOOOOOT!
 
Correct, if you are stalling you don't feed as you want to see what his numbers are doing without influence of food. Actually, if his preshot is 200, you could just shoot, you don't need to stall, but I digress. On this forum, for those following TR, we suggest that if you get a number below 150, you do not feed and post for help. Otherwise you SHOOOOOOT!

Thanks Wendy. However now I am confused.

So if it is 200 I want to stall for 20 minutes just to see what his numbers do? Then if it lowers to 150 post for help?

Thanks,
Jan
 
If he's above 150, no need to stall, just shoot. If less than 150, don't feed and post for help. One of the options at that point is a stall, another option is a reduced dose or skip, and shooting the full dose is also an option. Which option to do depends on circumstances at the time.
 
Back
Top