9/24/11 Zener PMPS 285;+2 344 New dose, New vial A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
9/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 313, 5th cycle @ sk 1.00, 1.1oz 11%
+1 1.1oz 11%
+2.5 311 (relion 284), 0.2oz 11%
+4 0.5oz 11%, urine neg for ketones
+7 247, 1.0oz 11%
+10 214, 1 piece FDCK @ poke
PMPS 222, 6th cycle @ sk 1.00u, 1.1oz 11%
+1 0.8oz 11%
+2 259, 0.8oz 11%

Today
9/24/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 346, 7th cycle @ sk 1.00, 1.2 oz 11%
+1.5 0.5oz 11%
+2.5 340

Good morning LL!
We decided to hold this dose for another cycle or two. Zener started to come down a bit better last night, so we thought the bounce was ending and action was in store. We were surprised to see him back up mid-pinks this morning. :? Not sure why we are surprised, since that happens so often! ;-) All 5Ps in place and Zener is feeling better this morning and his walking is better.

We've been using the same vial of Lantus for 2 months now and plan to open a new one tonight. Thought we would give him a few more cycles at the reduced skinny dose post what should be the end of his bounce, and see what happens. If no improvement in nadir we'll go up to the 1.0u. Does this seem reasonable?
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener AMPS 346;+2.5 340 A Trak Dose

sounds reasonable to me. if nothing changes, i'd take him up tonight. that'll give you 3 cycles at the new dose before you return to work on monday.
good luck!
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener AMPS 346;+2.5 340 A Trak Dose

Thanks Jill, we have a plan! Now if Zener knows about it, we may get some action! ;-)
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener AMPS 346;+2.5 340 A Trak

Thanks Melissa, paws are crossed Zener is reading this condo and will give us some action. He does love the drama! :roll:

Hope you and Mr T have a lovely weekend!
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener AMPS 346;+2.5 340;+6 256 A Trak

Good afternoon LL. We have our paws crossed for everyone with furrbabies who are having a tough time and especially sending our best energy to Marje's Teddie.

Zener has come down some from his am pinks and looks pretty much the same over the past couple of days. We are pretty sure the bounce is over by now and are planning to increase a smidge to 1.0 tonight unless he decides to get frisky!
dancing_cat

Today
9/24/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 346, 7th cycle @ sk 1.00, 1.2 oz 11%
+1.5 0.5oz 11%
+2.5 340
+4.5 1.2oz 11%
+6 256, 0.2oz 11%
+7 0.5oz 11%

We continue to work on Zener's appetite and would love to get him to lower carb food but not yet successful finding something he will eat, even with fortiflora. We are also struggling to maintain his weight. He started around 14lbs at diagnosis in March and is now 12lbs 10oz. It isn't a bad weight for him, as he needed to lose a little. I read somewhere that switching kitties to wet diet will produce a weight loss, but we would like to keep him there and not much lower. Any advice on weight maintaining is welcome!
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener PMPS 285 New dose, New vial A Trak

Tonight we started a new vial of insulin after two months. We've read on FDMB that Lantus is more stable than what was thought and you can use if for longer than one month. We aren't sure we've been careful enough with it, like leaving it out for a few hours a couple of times, so we decided to start a new one. We'll be more careful this time and see if we can't make it last even longer! @-)

Zener has passed the 72 hour bounce threshold after his last drama-rama and earned .25 reduction. When we studied his SS, it looked to us like he's almost had a "normal" cycle the last two with a nadir and everything, just numbers that are too high. So, we fattened up the dose to a 1.0u and will see how it goes. As Jill suggested, this gives us a couple of cycles before going back to work Monday. :shock:

Today
9/24/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 346, 7th cycle @ sk 1.00, 1.2 oz 11%
+1.5 0.5oz 11%
+2.5 340
+4.5 1.2oz 11%
+6 256, 0.2oz 11%
+7 0.5oz 11%
+10.5 214 - tested urine and negative for ketones and glucose :-D
PMPS 285, first cycle @ 1.00u, new vial of Lantus, 1.7oz 11%

Hope everyone has a quiet and peaceful Saturday evening. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener PMPS 285 New dose, New vial A Trak

Good luck on the fattening! I hope it brings Zener down for you

As far as the insulin, some switch it out faithfully every 30 days. I usually just wait until numbers start to climb for no apparent reason. I can usually get about 2 months put of a vial/pen. I am pretty careful with it. I have a container in my fridge and have packing in it so if doesn't get jostled when we get in or out for other things. It is just an old coffee can with some newspaper, but seems to hold it tight.

Hope you both have a wonderful evening!!
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener PMPS 285 New dose, New vial A Trak

Hi Anne, good luck with the fattened dose. I use the vial and have used it for as long as four months or a little over, and it's been fine. I do try and be careful and sometimes I do forget and leave it on the counter for half an hour, but it doesn't seem to hurt it. Have a good night and hope the new dose helps bring Zener's numbers dowen.
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener PMPS 285 New dose, New vial A Trak

Thanks for the insulin packing idea. We've been keeping the vial in the refrigerator door where it could be jostled when we open the door, which can be often in our house! ;-)
I'll work on a container and packing for keeping it in a less mobile location in the 'frig.
Thanks again! :-D
 
Re: 9/24/11 Zener PMPS 285 New dose, New vial A Trak

Ann & Maggie11 said:
I use the vial and have used it for as long as four months or a little over, and it's been fine. I do try and be careful and sometimes I do forget and leave it on the counter for half an hour, but it doesn't seem to hurt it. Have a good night and hope the new dose helps bring Zener's numbers dowen.

Thanks Ann! We now have a system where we put a piece of paper out on the counter when we get the insulin out that reminds us to put the insulin back in the frig. We've left it out for a few hours at a time before we got our new reminder system!

We've been keeping our insulin in a small box in the refrigerator door because we thought that would be a little safer. Any thoughts on whether the regular opening and closing can jostle the insulin too much?
 
Both kitties are prowling in the backyard, it's dark and there's action at the woodpile. It's a wild Saturday night! dancing_cat

Today
9/24/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 346, 7th cycle @ sk 1.00, 1.2 oz 11%
+1.5 0.5oz 11%
+2.5 340
+4.5 1.2oz 11%
+6 256, 0.2oz 11%
+7 0.5oz 11%
+10.5 214 - tested urine and negative for ketones and glucose :-D
PMPS 285, first cycle @ 1.00u, new vial of Lantus, 1.7oz 11%
+1 1.0oz 11%
+2 344

Looks like we may get another good night's sleep tonight. Zener prefers drama-rama on school nights. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top