9/23 Yahtzee PMPS 75 +1~100 +2~94 +3~81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Yahtzee

Member Since 2012
9/21 Condo

All is well here in Yahtzee's domain. I had company over yesterday helping me fix some plumbing issues. Yahtzee followed us around most of the time. He just HAD to see what was going on. He monitors activity very well from a slight distance, just like the supervisor he is ;-)

It was quite cold last night in north metro suburbia Minnesota, our first hard freeze of the year. I kept telling myself that it is too early to turn the furnace on. That worked out nicely because I had two warm, furry bodies cuddling in bed last night :-D Yahtzee and civvie Tango both love to curl up under the covers, but not necessarily next to each other, so I was stuck in the middle :lol: Love that furry feline warmth!
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158

Oh, I never like being in the middle, even if it's 50 degrees.
Shadow will sleep on top of the comforter and up against me on one side and then our little eskimo drooler gets me on the other side
and they have me in a cocoon. Suddenly I'm cat(2)_steam .
I just want the cat on the one side and a draft on the other side.

Slide down Yahtzee, it's not so far to that greenie surf.....
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75

Yahtzee's first number in the 40s! Thanks to the knowledge I've obtained from FDMB, I was calm and cool :cool: and knew exactly what to do.

I instantly attributed this low number to the fact that Yahtzee had not eaten as much this morning as usual. He usually eats 3 meals of 1.5 oz FF from shot time to +5 or +6; the first 2 meals usually at shot time and at +1 or +2, then another a few hours later. This morning, he ate 1 meal at shot time and went back to bed. I woke him up a couple times by scritches just to see if he was hungry. He purred, but did not seem at all interested to get up and go get food, so I let him sleep. By about +5 he was in the kitchen asking me for food. I proceeded to get a quick BG test, which was difficult because his cute little ears were so cold. 43! What? No way, I must not have gotten enough blood. Grab another test strip, 41. Whoa, this is for real. Ok, meal coming up!!

Since this BG reading was close to Yahtzee's nadir, and because I knew he hadn't eaten very much today, I simply fed a typical LC meal of 1.5 oz FF. As prepared as I am with HC, MC, and Karo, I didn't feel those were a good idea this late in the cycle. So far, my instincts seemed to be correct. He was up to 75 at +6.

Now for a question. Normally, this would call for a decrease. I am tempted to hold the dose because Yahtzee had not eaten as much this AM cycle compared to any other typical cycle. Thoughts????
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75

Nicely done! And no panic needed! :thumbup Good question on the dose.Usually it would be and automatic decrease, but the food complicates the issue. It will depend on if he stays up from just the food. Keep testing, again in half an hour and then in an hour if he is still up. I'd post again at least an hour before PMPS.

I don't think I've been in you condo before. What part of the TC are you in? I used to live by Cedar Lake and I have a good friend who was a vet up in Coon Rapids.
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75

Deb,
First off, you handled that perfectly!
As far as the reduction.... your call. I would, because that's what the protocol says, but they are "guidelines". The food could have been a reason, but shouldn't just rule out a reduction. Yahtzee doesn't look like a really bouncy kitty, but you might see one by PMPS. If you do, there's the option of shooting thru the bounce, and waiting till AMPS to decide on the reduction.
Carl
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82

Ann, welcome to the wonderful land of Yahtzee! Thank you for your input! I will definitely keep testing and post again this evening.

I live in Oak Grove, which is a small suburb town in northern Anoka County, only 10-15 from Coon Rapids. Is your vet friend still in the CR area? I am interested in a good vetty referral, especially if I could find an FD specialist. I like our current vet, but she is not supportive of the TR protocol. I've been slightly shunned lately so I'm keeping my eyes open for a new vet.

Carl, thanks for the support and the input! You're right, Yahtzee hasn't been very bouncy lately. If he does bounce, I feel confident to shoot through the bounce and rethink tomorrow AM.
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82

What about shaving the dose and shooting a skinny 0.75u? Frankly, I think you could take the full reduction, but it's your call. Could you put a note on your SS about the food consumption this morning?
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82

Thanks for your input Sienne! Do you know of any pics of a skinny 0.75? I don't have a caliper yet, so I'm trying to eye the doses. Plus, I'm still on week 1 of new syringes (new-ReliOn, old-BD pet) so I'm not exactly sure of the differences between the two.

Spreadsheet updated with fuds info!
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82

I can't track down any pictures. I would suggest that you measure your 0.75u.Then, twist the plunger so a drop comes out. I would practice this a few times with water or some other liquid so you have a visual and you're sure you can measure the same amount the next time.

Thanks for updating the info on your SS.
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82 +8~53

Thanks for the tip Sienne! That makes perfect sense, a drop less than a full 0.75. It looks like Yahtzee will prefer the mini reducie, as +8 is 53.
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82 +8~53

Beautiful numbers for your handsome guy. :mrgreen: And very well handled, Deb! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82 +8~53

Hi Deb. You handled that beautifully. My first reaction to under 50, is shovel HC food into Checks :lol:
Good for you, to realize Yahtzee hadn't eaten enough earlier.
I see he's dropping again. Good luck for PM cycle :-D

Barb
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee AMPS 158 +5.25~43/41 +6~75 +7~82 +8~53 +10~

Thanks Liz, Barb, and Marje!!!

+10 is 80 so no bounce... yet. ;-) I hope this is a sign that Yahtzee's getting used to the green lagoon :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee PMPS 75

Today's recap:

AMPS 158
+5.25 - 43/41
+6 - 75
+7 - 82
+8 - 53
+10 - 80
PMPS 75

Still surfing :mrgreen: here!!! No bounce yet from the 43/41! I definitely took our well-earned reducie and shot a fat 0.5 (down from 0.75). Hope the fuds brings Yahtzee up a bit before the dose kicks in. ~O) ~O) on... I'm ready for a long night ;-)
 
Re: 9/23 Yahtzee PMPS 75 +1~100

PMPS 75
+1 - 100 Yay for food spike!

Pukus on kitchen floor, not sure if this was Yahtzee or civvie Tango. Neither are prone to vomiting food unless it's hairball related (it didn't appear to be) or they eat too fast. Really going to be watching close now!
 
Rhiannon, you made me :lol: :lol: :lol: !!! You're right! He finally earned his name ;-)

PMPS 75 (fed 1.5 oz FF)
+1 - 100 (fed 1.5 oz FF)
+2 - 94 (snoozing on Mama's bed)
+3 - 81 (still snoozing on Mama's bed)

So far so good. Thankfully Yahtzee's not diving fast! He seems to dive faster from higher pre shot BGs. I have no idea how his body knows how to work the juice, but it sure seems to :smile:
 
Deb & Yahtzee said:
PMPS 75 (fed 1.5 oz FF) --- +1 - 100 (fed 1.5 oz FF) --- +2 - 94 (snoozing on Mama's bed) --- +3 - 81 (still snoozing on Mama's bed). So far so good. Thankfully Yahtzee's not diving fast!

Actually, he's not diving *at all* - he's surfing :mrgreen: And beautifully, too! And you're doing splendidly too, Deb!

Hugs
Jane
 
What a perfect day for Yahtzee and his SS is looking amazing!

Hope you are having a great evening except for the pokes. Nice job today, Deb.
 
Thanks Jane and Marje!!

The pokes go easier when I do the 'sleep attack' :lol: ! Poor guy isn't awake enough to know what's going on. Whatever works, right?! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top