9/23 Teal'c Amps 154 +2 120 +9 116 pmps 132 not hungry bad food?

Patty & Teal'c

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Slight bounce from the all green yesterday. Still not a bad number.

Next week husband and I will be leaving town on a vacation. Teal'c and Shefoo will be staying at the vets. Kind of worried, the last time his numbers went way high. They said on one day while we were gone they could tell he wasn't doing very good. Bit of a difference between now and then. At that time he was still on prozinc and was a very bouncy boy. Was not regulated.

The last time I also dropped the dose down by .25 and gave them MC food to feed because he would have an occasional lower number. Was afraid they wouldn't catch it and kill him. So I might be partly responsible for the higher numbers the last time.

This time I'm taken the food I normally feed. With a couple cans MC to HC food incase. I'm still not sure about the dose. Also written instructions. Does this sound like a good plan?
 
Sorry to hear you have to leave him for a week :( It's so hard with these cats...I haven't left Luci in nearly three years...

I presume your vet/techs, etc. will be there checking both day and night; and hopefully understand how Lantus works; no shooting at any other time than regular shot times.

I have heard that when they think the numbers are too high, they will give insulin. You should be very clear that, shooting other than shot time is not allowed - no matter how high his numbers are. Since he may be stressed his numbers may be very unusual...and could be very high.

I presume they'll be keeping you posted as to his numbers throughout the week?
 
I hope Teal'c comes back down today. You may want to reduce the dose a little bit if the vet will not be monitoring a lot just to keep him safe. Definitely give a not shot number if he's too low and make sure they don't increase the dose if his numbers are higher.
 
So today has been strange. Neither Teal'c or Shefoo were very active today. Kinda warm in the house shut off central air last week when it cooled off. Between 80 and 85 in the house. Both cats ate well this morning. Then tonight he wouldn't get off his testing chair to eat. I picked him up and placed him in front of the food, he turned and walked away. I moved the food under his face he gave it a few licks and turned away. He walked away and layed down by the back door. This is when I saw him raise front left paw and shake it rapidly.

Shefoo then decided to eat what Teal'c didn't want. She started licking the liquid next thing I know she threw up in the bowl and beside it on the floor. This is the cans of food that were 50% off. I dumped the bowl of food but till my order from Amazon comes tomorrow I only have a couple cans of this food left. So I put out MC food FF chicken grilled with gravy I think. Then Teal'c and Shefoo decided to eat. Is this a case of bad food? And as for the shaking of the paw is it the cosequin chews? I've been cutting them up into smaller pieces and he has done ok with them the past 2 days. So confused. Didn't want to go to work cause concerned.
 
Is the food new to them? It almost sounds like they're allergic to it...

Are you not able to turn the A/C back on? It sounds kinda warm in there. I wonder if they've gotten used to cooler temps (from the A/C) and that's just a big change for them?

I hope things settled down last night. I'll be looking for your new condo today.
 
Back
Top