9/23 - Scratchie AMPS-284, +2=378, +5=343, +8=373, PMPS 408

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

9/22 Condo

I had increased his dose to a f2u yesterday but did not have that noted. I started that yesterday morning as I figured it was time. I think my comments yesterday on food were taken the wrong way - so sorry! Mostly me rambling with ideas that were coming to my head..

Recap of numbers:

amps - 390
+3 = 337
+6 = 296
+9 = 332
pmps = 262
+3 = 308
+6 =397
+9 = 380
amps on 9/23 = 284

Seeing some yellow so that's good.

Have a great day.

Jo
 
Re: 9/23 - Scratchie AMPS-284, +2=378, +5=343, +8=373, PMPS

Not been a good day for Scratchie especially when compared to yesterday. It's almost as if he didn't get any insulin this morning and yet he did, and I didn't smell anything after to think I gave him a fur shot. I don't know what's going on :?: He hasn't eaten much today and he ate toilet paper earlier this morning. That used to mean he had an upset stomach so I am assuming his tummy was bothering him. He only hate 1/2 of his breakfast, then nothing until his dinner - no matter what coaxing I did. Finally he ate 1/2 can prior to the shot. We'll see what the evening brings. :YMSIGH:

Jo
 
Re: 9/23 - Scratchie AMPS-284, +2=378, +5=343, +8=373, PMPS

Do you think his tummy is bothering him?

I'll have to go ask someone about when and why they introduce things like Pepcid, and Miralax and all those other aids.
I haven't dealt with those issues.
It's very common for a diabetic cat to have pancreatitis.

Has Scratchie ever had any other labels or tests run on him by the vet?
Many of the secondary issues can raise bg...
 
Re: 9/23 - Scratchie AMPS-284, +2=378, +5=343, +8=373, PMPS

Rhiannon,

All other tests that have been run have come out good. He has had 3 hair balls in two day which is unusual for him. My biggest worry is why so high all day. He has been acting like not feeling well.

Since dinner and his shot he's more lively and he ate good! If he doesn't seem better tomorrow I may call the vet.

Thanks for checking in on us.
 
Re: 9/23 - Scratchie AMPS-284, +2=378, +5=343, +8=373, PMPS

Hi Jo,

I haven't posted in Scratchie's condo before. I saw you just increased Scratchie's dose. When I increase Furball's dose, her numbers usually go up for a couple of days before they go down. It's called New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). This doesn't happen with every cat, but it could be a possibility. Of course you know Scratchie best. If it seems like he is not feeling good, you would know. A vet visit may be necessary. I hope not. Hopefully he'll feel better tomorrow and give you some better numbers too.

Carla
 
Re: 9/23 - Scratchie AMPS-284, +2=378, +5=343, +8=373, PMPS

Jo

A couple thoughts. For where his numbers are right now where nadirs are above 200, whenever you increase, you will want to do it by .25u increments every six cycles. Normally if nadirs are over 300, you would increase by .5u but I worry about getting him overdosed if we don't have daytime numbers.

Carla is right...and giving two dose increases so close together could put him in NDW a little longer. Here's the full post on New Dose Wonkiness.

I hope his appetite picks up. Miralax is only given if they are constipated and I would talk to my vet first. Pepcid is given if they have an acid tummy which is indicated by clear, foamy vomit or hunching over in a meatloaf.

His BG could also be higher if he doesn't feel we'll for some reason.

Sorry it took me so long to pop in. I hope Scratchie feels better soon.
 
Re: 9/23 - Scratchie AMPS-284, +2=378, +5=343, +8=373, PMPS

Hi Jo

I've been off the board for a week - apologies for not stopping by earlier!

Reading through some of your past condos, I was wondering whether you've since made any more progress with convincing your DH that he really, really could to a daily spot check? Do you think he's worried he would do it wrong, and that's why he doesn't want to try it? Maybe if he watched you closely a few times? (Or maybe you could bribe him with promises of, say, foot rubs and or cold beers or something he loves? :mrgreen: :lol:) I don't mean to harp on about something that we all know you're already anxious about and trying so hard to work on, I just thought I'd ask.

Hope the NDW clears out of Scratchie's system soon, so that you can feel happier with his numbers. It's so tough to see our kitties out of the zone we want them in!
Hang in there, ok?

Hugs!
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top