9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 +2/119 +3/82 +4/80 +5/92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

I haven`t shot yet, I fed him and will retest in a minute. Isn`t he supposed to be over 150 for me to shoot?

Wow, look at that PS 126. The last I knew he was in a huge bounce, the last test I took was +4/435 and I went to sleep.
I didn`t get a +11, incorrectly assuming he was still in the reds. I was actually expecting 'HI' when I got this reading.
It was a new vial starting last night, I will note it on the SS.

EDITED: I just retested 16 minutes after the 126 and it is 110 now.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 126 - Stalling

Test again after stalling for 30 min. I would want to see if Reuben is surfing, rising, or if numbers are dropping.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 126 falling - Stalling

This isn't a "911" -- it's not really urgent or life threatening.

Is your schedule for the next 24 hrs or so OK for stalling? If so, I'd retest in another 15 - 20 min to see where numbers are heading. Remember, don't feed.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 126 falling - Stalling

Sienne and Gabby said:
Test again after stalling for 30 min. I would want to see if Reuben is surfing, rising, or if numbers are dropping.

Thank you Sienne. Is that 30 minutes from the second test, or the original test?
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 126 falling - Stalling

I fed him already :roll:

My schedule is free to be with him for the next 24 hours.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 126 falling - Stalling

You want to space out the tests so you re-test every 15 min or so in order to catch the rise. Also, you NEVER feed if you're stalling. You now don't know whether when numbers rise, if they are rising on their own or if it's a food spike.

How about printing out Libby's post on dealing with low preshots?
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 126 - Stalling (fed) +.25/110 +.75/117

AMPS......126 FED (I thought I was going to shoot, haha :roll: )

...........+12.25/110

..........+12.75/117
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 126 falling - Stalling

I would retest at +13.

You really don't have an AMPS since you didn't shoot. So, you actually tested at +12, + 12.25, and +12.75.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben +12/126 - Stalling (fed) +12.25/110 +12.75/

..........+.12/126 FED (I thought I was going to shoot, haha )

...........+12.25/110

..........+12.75/117

...........+13/122
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben +12/126 +12.25/110 +12.75/117 +13/122

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think you're OK to go ahead and shoot. Please get a +1 and a +2.

Okay, I`ll shoot the 1.75u We don`t think he's going to drop much before +1? I think I might need to poke at +.5 nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben +12/126 +12.25/110 +12.75/117 +13/122

((Alexa)) Bummer on the accidental feeding! I bet you'll remember next time though! :smile:

Reuben seems determined to surf. I'd shoot since you're able to monitor - you have plenty of supplies, right? Don't forget to get the follow-up tests to see where he takes this, k? A (+1) and a (+2) should give you an idea.

Happy Sunday!
Hugs
Jane

Edited to add: Lol, Sienne, *just* saw your post when I'd hit "Submit" :lol:
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122

Sienne and Gabby said:
You can always get an extra test in (i.e., the +0.5) if you're nervous.

He ate a big breakfast and seemed normal so I chilled out and waited until +1 to test.

+1/133

Why this sudden and dramatic change I wonder. And after a cycle that was still in the reds at +4... Could it be the new vial?
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133

It could be the new vial. (You might want to note when you start new insulin on your SS.) It might be that Reuben is getting used to spending time in lower numbers so it's taking less time for a bounce to clear. Or, it could be the favorite explanation.... because he's a cat and inherently unpredictable.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133

Sienne and Gabby said:
It could be the new vial. (You might want to note when you start new insulin on your SS.) It might be that Reuben is getting used to spending time in lower numbers so it's taking less time for a bounce to clear. Or, it could be the favorite explanation.... because he's a cat and inherently unpredictable.

+3/75

Or a little of everything? Whatever is it, it sure makes *me* feel good! I hope he does too.

Thanks for reminding me to note the new vial in the SS.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133

It looks like this is the lowest number you've shot, so good 'hootin'!! You're going for the BOS award! :lol: You're doing a great job.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133

Anne & Zener said:
Woohoo! Go Reuben! :mrgreen:
Liz
Anne&Muffin said:
It looks like this is the lowest number you've shot, so good 'hootin'!! You're going for the BOS award! :lol: You're doing a great job.

Hi Annes, Thanks for the visits! :razz: I`m waiting to see what happens next :o hahahaaa
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133 +2/75 +2.5/53 +3/56

I'm starting to hear "the wanderer" in my head when I see Reuben 's condo.
Come on Reuben, get some surfing going!!



I think you need a new t-shirt, Alexa!!

sleep_is_for_mere_mortals_gifts_tshirt-rfa9fd16480594592ad59f79fc89cc77f_f0cz4_210.jpg
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133 +2/75 +2.5/53 +3/56

rhiannon and shadow said:
here is the song.
Your link didn't take me anywhere.....

Thanks!! yeah, techno-fail hahaa,, it was to the U2-bono one anyway ...Yours is way cooler -
Reuben's new (anti-) theme song!! :lol:

Sienne and Gabby said:
What a beautiful surf!! A bit of LC (a teaspoon or two) maybe to keep the surf going?

Okay, I`ll give him a teaspoon or two...

Question: since I don`t know what the heck I'm doing or why ( :lol: ) how will feeding him right now maybe help to keep the surf going?
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133 +2/75 +2.5/53 +3/56

It can stop him from going lower, without boosting him quickly into higher numbers, keeping him in the 50-60 range through his normal nadir time.
Carl
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133 +2/75 +2.5/53 +3/56

Hi Alexa,

Look at Reuben go! He's doing great! I'm glad to see you learning to shoot low. This is important in his road to remission. The fewer missed shots, the better. :razz: Keep up the good work!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133 +2/75 +2.5/53 +3/56

Carl & Bob said:
It can stop him from going lower, without boosting him quickly into higher numbers, keeping him in the 50-60 range through his normal nadir time.
Carl

Thank you Carl! Ah..I think my confusion was that I assumed we were past nadir for some reason ohmygod_smile ... I just gave him around 1.5 teaspoons. He wanted more but the cafeteria closed early!
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +1/133 +2/75 +2.5/53 +3/56

It can stop him from going lower, without boosting him quickly into higher numbers, keeping him in the 50-60 range through his normal nadir time.
Carl
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 +2/75 +2.5/53 +3/56 +4.75/51 +5.5/5

Carl & Bob said:
It can stop him from going lower, without boosting him quickly into higher numbers, keeping him in the 50-60 range through his normal nadir time.
Carl

I'm thinking another teaspoon now, an hour later..

+5.5/50

he's standing in the cafeteria line looking forlorn...

who votes yes?
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 122 2.5/53 3/56 5/50 6/63 7/53 8/63

Anybody have any guesses about what my night time holds in store? I really think Starbuck's should have 24 hour home delivery :lol:
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben PMPS 152

I`m trying to figure out how much bg testing I need to be doing in our present range. Every hour is probably overkill and Reuben is tired of it.... cat(2)_steam But I`m not confident yet about what's going on....

Any advice?
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben PMPS 152

It's definitely a Know Thy Cat kinda thing.
But I know Sienne always likes that +2 to see if there is any indication/implication of an active cycle. ( works for me every time ;-) )

Your cat seems to have a broken cable on his elevator cord....

so... you may never sleep again.... :-D

no....it's just feels that way.

You need a better answer from someone else.
I just had to poke. :-D
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben PMPS 152

thanks rhiannon! how often did you test when shadow started living in the greens? he was really stable today, did you see the ss? i was testing every hour .... which in retrospect was overkill, but how was i to know? that`s how it feels.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 TESTING QUESTION

Reuben is doing great! I wish I could answer your testing question. I think it's good to test at EITHER +10 or +11 to know where the next cycle may go if you shoot at the next shot time, then, of course +1 and +2. Other than that I had a nadir of about plus 3.5 or 4, so I didn't have to try to figure out what to do between the plus 2 and plus 6 or 7. Hope someone can help you. I know those ears can get sore.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 TESTING QUESTION

Wow, seems to be a lot of kitties starting out the night in the mid blues. A very nice cycle today for Reuben.

I've seen blue PS enough for Neko that now I wait to get a +3 unless it's a really low or dropping blue, in which case I'd get a +2. But I know her nadir is almost always at least +5 and I've done endless staring at her SS to know that she doesn't ever get to green until +3.5 at the earliest. I try to find patterns in Neko's numbers to help me decide what to do. I usually look at the cycle before and the current cycle. But even after 7 months on Lantus, Neko still gives me some numbers where I've not seen anything like it before.

I currently test every hour when Neko is in the greens. Twice she surprised me by taking a dive at +9 (once to 49 from 72 the hour before).
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 TESTING QUESTION

Coming down the dose ladder can be a lot harder than going up!

I am a fan of the +2 test. It can give you an indication whether it might be an active cycle. The challenge is getting a feel for your cat's patterns. This is the purpose of having a SS. You've clearly been bitten by the testaholic bug. That's not to say there aren't time when you need to test frequently. You need to figure out what is necessary to keep YOUR cat safe. You also need to become confident in your ability figure out what Reuben is up to and if he's giving you a signal that his numbers are low. For example, Gabby will sit near me and stare and follow me into the kitchen and stare at her bowl. (I'm very well trained!)

I agree -- testing every hour gets old. You might want to take a look at this section from the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky:
Let's talk specifically for Lantus and Levemir. This is about fine tuning your curves.
Are you data ready to handle a lower preshot number?

This is where the very early cycle spot checks (those +1's, +2's) and those very late cycle spot checks (the +10's, +11's) come into play. Call them the "neglected" spot checks. Everyone gets those +6 spot checks, but there is a reason to collect data in the very early and very late part of the cycle.

Say you get a preshot of 150. Well if you've collected the data on the average time it takes the insulin to start having any effect for your cat and what happens after +12, then you might see that shooting a 150 is actually very safe in your cat. Kitty will be in the 200's before the insulin starts working. You are then using the lag time (aka overlap and carryover) between shooting and effect time to your advantage.

So why the +10's and +11's? Well say you are on day 5 of a dose increase change and your storage shed is now not only full, it is overflowing... and your +10 or +11 was way higher than your preshot. Good way to stay out of trouble cause now you know you would have shot a still dropping number, not a good idea. so what is the plan then?.... keep testing, and not 2 hours later, every 20-30 minutes would be better, so you can catch the minute it turns and do not loose all your overlap. If you miss the rise and cat is way up there BG wise before you shoot, remember the number is just going to continue to rise in those hours before the insulin has a chance to kick in, and you have a roller coaster curve going rather than the flat curve that is ideal.

Also some Lantus and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that their preshot is always a bit lower than their +10 or +11. It is important to know if your cat is one of those because if you are not raising your dose because your PS doesn't seem to call for it, yet your nadir is not so hot... this could be the reason why.

If you want to choose less important times to test, really the +8's and +9's and the +4's and +5's are the numbers that yield the least amount of important data once you have well established the nadir in your cat. Yes, get them here or there on spot checks, but do not forget to get the "neglected" spot checks... the very early and very late parts of cycle. They are more useful than most realize.

Know thy cat. Be data ready to handle the situation.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 TESTING QUESTION

Sienne and Gabby said:
Coming down the dose ladder can be a lot harder than going up!
Know thy cat. Be data ready to handle the situation.

Thank you Sienne!! I read your post -and Wendy and Dales- and felt so relieved to have a better idea how to do this, that I promptly fell asleep until +2!! haha... And yes, 'testaholic' , so true, i think i kind of am anyway, and then after the major diving he did the last couple of days I think i was a little nervous, but that doesn`t seem to be happening now... Thanks again, and I can see that the 'shooting and handling low numbers' sheet is my new best friend :razz:

Wendy&Neko said:
Wow, seems to be a lot of kitties starting out the night in the mid blues.

Thanks so much Wendy! It is so helpful to know other experiences... Staring at th SS, I like that! :razz:

max&emmasmommie said:
Reuben is doing great! I wish I could answer your testing question. I think it's good to test at EITHER +10 or +11 ...........I know those ears can get sore.

Thanks Dale!! That was a big help :-D MUch appreciated!! :razz:
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 TESTING QUESTION

What a great day for Reuben! I'm with Sienne as being a huge fan of +2 tests. And when you are dealing with numbers like you have had tonight so far, I like Janes idea of a +3 so you can see how fast his onset is.

Doing ok there, Alexa? I bet you're tired!
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 TESTING QUESTION

Jane said:
Nice (+2) on your SS there, Reuben. Blue looks good on you.

Alexa, if it were me, I'd get a (+3).
Jane

Thanks Jane! I`m going to set the alarm and wake up for +3 :razz:
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 TESTING QUESTION

Marje and Gracie said:
What a great day for Reuben! I'm with Sienne as being a huge fan of +2 tests. And when you are dealing with numbers like you have had tonight so far, I like Janes idea of a +3 so you can see how fast his onset is.

Doing ok there, Alexa? I bet you're tired!

Thanks Marje - yes I think I can abandon the +1 as a regular test, reserved for shooting a falling number maybe? I`ll get the +3 and then decide from there what test is next, does that sound logical?

Yeah, I`m pretty tired, but getting better at sleeping for short bits and waking up to test.

Wasn`t it an amazing day for my boy? I'm so proud of him! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 +2/119 TESTING QUESTION

I think the value of +1 is early on when you are learning on whether your boy gets food spikes and, as you said, when you shoot a dropping number.

He did fabulous. So did his mama! Happy napping. See you soon with the +3.
 
Re: 9/23 Reuben AMPS 152 +2/119 TESTING QUESTION

Marje and Gracie said:
I think the value of +1 is early on when you are learning on whether your boy gets food spikes and, as you said, when you shoot a dropping number.

He did fabulous. So did his mama! Happy napping. See you soon with the +3.

Thaaaank you Marje :razz:

+3/82 This morning he dropped a lot more in half an hour after getting into the greens, so I`d be tempted to test again in an hour. What do you think?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top