? 9/23 Norton AMPS 247, +4 83, +5 97, dosing issues + starting Clomipramine

Marina

Member
Hi guys:)

Hoping I might get some advice

Norton was started on Clomipramine (Clomicalm) 2.5mg on 9/12 for behavioural spraying

He has been doing AMAZING on it, after a week of drowsiness he is finally getting his personality back PLUS the spraying has all but stopped, (just twice in the last week or so compared to up to 10 times a day!!!!). He also had a loss of appetite in the first week but would eat all of his food when I brought it to him and encouraged him. That has since resolved too

You can see in my spreadsheet I did a dose reduction following a hypo as per SLGS on 9/11 but since he started the clomipramine his BGLs have been extremely high. I've found some information online that says BGL can be affected by the medication

As as per the protocol I put him back up to 3U BD 9/19 but today he had a drop down to 83 so far. Not scary low, but low enough that I'm supposed to do a dose reduction

I'm confused. Seems that 2.75U BD isn't enough for him, 3U BD is too much
Thoughts??? Should I do a "shave" of the dose, drop down a full 0.25 or just continue 3U and monitor closely?

I'm going back to the vet with Norton on Thursday for a follow up so I'll get their advice then too
 
Since you are following SLGS and feeding dry diabetic food which is hc, you need to take a reduction to 2.75. It’s not a good idea to shave the dose with SLGS and I would not suggest that in any case. It’s quite common for cats to go back and forth between doses especially when new to lantus.
 
Back
Top