9/23 Nigel AMPS 256

Dreakat27

Member Since 2012
Hello all, This isn't my first time visiting here but this is my first time posting about my cat Nigel. He was diagnosed around August 10th. I have a spreadsheet. We have been home testing from day 1. My vet wanted us to start him on 3 units twice a day and we knew from our late cat Tiger that was much too high and based off weight alone. We have been crusing along but he is staying pretty flat but it would be great if the numbers were a little lower. Thankfully his numbers aren't any higher than they are. We are just looking for direction on where to go from here. Our plan is to push the dose up to 1 unit this Friday 9/25 and see how the numbers go with that. We just want to make sure we are on the right path. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...6FjdwZm-of-MMNI4YpCB_0gywzs/edit?usp=drivesdk
 
Hello and welcome. Can you tell us a little bit more about Nigel and how he was diagnosed. At least you are comfy with home testing so that part isn't new for you.

This post lists the information that'll help us if you have it in your signature: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Make sure you take a look through the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. Of particular interest is the Dosing Methods Sticky Note. People here follow one of two methods, the Tight Regulation Protocol (TR) or the Start Low Go Slow Method. With the numbers you are seeing, you definitely need that increase. And we wouldn't hold the dose longer than 1 week, less with TR. We also wouldn't have started on 3 units, unless your cat is HUGE.
 
Welcome to the LB&L Forum!

Looking forward to seeing your next post tomorrow...

Wendy has given you some great suggestions - please stick around :)
 
Hello and welcome. Can you tell us a little bit more about Nigel and how he was diagnosed. At least you are comfy with home testing so that part isn't new for you.

This post lists the information that'll help us if you have it in your signature: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Make sure you take a look through the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. Of particular interest is the Dosing Methods Sticky Note. People here follow one of two methods, the Tight Regulation Protocol (TR) or the Start Low Go Slow Method. With the numbers you are seeing, you definitely need that increase. And we wouldn't hold the dose longer than 1 week, less with TR. We also wouldn't have started on 3 units, unless your cat is HUGE.

Thank you both. We upped the dose to 1 unit yesterday morning and we are still seeing numbers in the 200's but it's only been a day so we will hold for a week and see what happens. He just doesn't seem to get a very noticeable nadir. I might need to redo my spreadsheet for this message boards format. I'm using one from the Facebook group I joined. Thank you again.
 
I think I got it all set up correctly, fingers crossed. I am limited on time for anything with 9 cats and a 2.5 year old human. We are still cruising along in the yellow numbers for the most part. We will keep on with 1 unit and see how things go. Thank you again.
 
Back
Top