9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198 pmps 94

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267

Good morning yourself and a nice sunny morning it is too for Sir Larry. :-D

Mel, and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267

Good morning!! I rarely get to say good morning to you two because it's usually noon by the time I get on here. :lol:
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267

hi to u all...mel, should i give him a while longer on this dosage? what do u think?
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267

Personally I would take him back up since he's smoothed out again and not bouncing all over the place.

Pam,

You don't need to wait for me to tell you to up a dose, if his numbers aren't where you want them, you hold the syringes and you know Larry the best. My job and for that matter anyone's job here is to teach you the steps to the dance, but we can't dance it for you. You know Larry and your own limitations so you can decide what is best for both of you. Basically all we old timers are here for is to be your sounding board, if you have a question or are unsure which way to go with a dose then by all means ask and we'll throw our 2 cents in and give our opinions but like all opinions you are the one to decide which to follow and which to ignore.

One of the best pieces of advice I got long ago when I started here and had my testing and injecting down was...Don't ask "What now? But....ask "What if I?" There is nothing magical I do when I look at a spreadsheet, I look at it just like everyone else and see what the trends are, is the cat trending down? Up? are there enough points of data to see where the dose takes them? etc. Everyone of you has that exact same ability to look at a spreadsheet and see the patterns, then decide what you're going to do about it. Raise, lower or hold the dose steady. The reason I want everyone to learn to do this on your own is because servers crash, computers break and internet service goes out and you have to be able to make those judgment calls on your own. I don't want anyone to feel like someone is going to jump down someone's throat because they made a decision about their own cat's treatment without consulting the powers that be. That just isn't how we roll here. :-D

Sorry if this sounds like I'm picking on you because I'm not you just happened to be the first person to ask a dosing question that gave me the chance to mention the above about just making the dosing call on your own. Again if you need help that's why we're here but if you think you have it figured out pretty well then by all means fly solo. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

ok, mel. thanks. most times i would like a 2nd opinion at least, but good to know i can decide. i would have nvr known last time to DEcrease, so u do know a lot more than me. thanks mel! we appreciae all u do.
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

Well said! I vote that that should go in a Sticky, Mel. ;-)

And Pam, you've been doing just fine with Larry. You're an excellent "Sugar Mommy!" haha_smiley
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

Now look at that pretty blue at +6 :-D

Hon if you aren't going to blindly follow your vet who has way more education than I do in the field of animal medicine, then I certainly don't expect you to blindly follow me or anyone else for that matter.

But we can always discuss what you're seeing and what to do about it. :-D Actually sometimes I think that is easier than just being told to do this or do that. I'm always better at answering things like Hey he seems to be trending straight down during a cycle, is that right? Or why does he go up in the middle instead of down? Because honestly what I will and won't do with my own cats is often very different than what someone else would do with theirs. Partly because I'm here with mine all day, I can test whenever and I can set an alarm or stay up all night if I make the wrong call and shoot too much or have the dose set too high. Because I can go crawl back in bed during the day if I need to, not everyone can.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

ok..thx!
and what does up in the middle mean? ive seen that with him. ive seen him go straight down all day. i havent ever seen him go from like triple digits to mid digits in the middle, which is sort of what i thought would happen.
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

Well if he was a Levemir cat then going up in the middle is normal because of the longer onset time and the longer duration, but for a Lantus cat it can be a sign of one of two things either he has a very late onset (when the insulin starts working) which would then mean he also has a very late nadir, or an inverse curve where they go up in the middle and back down at preshot can and usually is a sign of too much insulin the same with a straight line down unless you know it is a bounce clearing.

Mel, and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

so im kinda confused? until today it looks like for abt a week he was mostly up in the middle, so if that keeps/kept up, we would decrease?
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

You could and see if that smooths him out more and gives you better numbers or you could increase and see if it does the same. There really is no hard and fast rule, most of the time you (or at least I do) go with your gut and a little trial and error. If you reduce the worst that is going to happen is that his numbers get worse and if that happens you go back up, if you raise and the numbers get worse then if up wasn't the answer you go back down.

I don't think I fully appreciated the statement Every Cat Is Different until I had more than one sugarcat. Because I can see the exact same thing for example an inverted curve and with one that is just how she curves and with the other one his dose was way too high. It just takes learning your own cat's individual pattern and then playing with the things we can control to see if we can make the pattern change to what we want it to be..We can control, dose, food, and playtime with us after that it is up to the cat to reveal how those things change his or her BG patterns.

Mel, and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/23 larry amps 267 +6 198

ok, thank u. since today was good, and he was feeling pretty well...ill wait until morning and see what i think, then. appreciate ur help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top