9/23 Katmandu PMPS 155 +1 158 +2 93 +3 112 +4 105 +5 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonia & Tom (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's first day

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79609

He was out from under the bed late last night but was not letting me pet him. I heard meowing around 3:30am, which drove the other 2 a little mad :roll: , so I went into his room. His bowl was empty so I fed him and got some cuddles. Ah, the magic of the bringer of food.

This morning, he gave me more cuddles and I picked him up to put him next to me on the bed, he growled at that but him mom told me that's what he does. Does not like to be picked up. Took a few tries to get blood but success!! He was a good man and got treats. Number are high but he's had no shot for about 24 hours and lots of stress.

I don't feel comfortable giving him 2u, especially since he's strictly wet now, so I'll go with 1 and test him today.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +1 193

+1 193
He didn't like that one so much, gave a big hiss. Good thing I didn't give him 2u.
Didn't expect to be fostering, have to go out for DD's 1st ever hockey game. Back for +3.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +1 193

Ah, so you gave him 1 unit.

I would test him again before you leave the house, with that drop, I would leave plenty of food out for him. You'll be back in an hour?
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +1 193 + 3.5 206

Yes, I meant I gave him 1u instead of 2 :oops:
I had a really hard time testing. Had to get him out from under the bed first. Then I could not get blood. Then he starting growling and trying to bite me. I had to resort to putting treats in front of him while I tested.
Do you think he maybe dropped low between +1 and +3.5?

It's been less than 24 hours here so all things considered he not doing badly for testing. I test at +5 then leave him alone.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +1 193 +3.5 206 +5 168

Got the blues at +5. His mom told me the few times she tested him, and the time I did at her home, that he would be in the 400's.
I know he snacked on his sisters dry, and now he's on only wet LC, but I have to believe that 2u was too high.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +1 193 +3.5 206 +5 168

:thumbup :thumbup :thumbup What a good boy! Chalk another one up for proper diet and a bean that knows what she's doing! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +1 193 +3.5 206 +5 168

Great job Sonia! I can't tell you how much it warms my heart that you have taken this on.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +5 168, PMPS 161 what do I do now

Did he surf? Drop more?
I left him alone after +5, didn't want to over do it.

I know we're supposed to hold a dose but I have no data. What do I shoot now?
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +5 168, PMPS 161 what do I do now

You're forgetting an important point -- you need to be data ready to shoot low. You don't have data and you have a cat who is barely tolerating testing. If you can afford to be off schedule tomorrow, I'd re-test in 30 to 60 min. I'd also lower the dose. If schedule is an issue or you're concerned about getting multiple tests tonight, I'd skip.

I think starting Katmandu out at 0.5u may be needed so you can get acclimated and be able to shoot twice a day.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +5 168, PMPS 161 what do I do now

Sienne and Gabby said:
You're forgetting an important point -- you need to be data ready to shoot low. You don't have data and you have a cat who is barely tolerating testing. If you can afford to be off schedule tomorrow, I'd re-test in 30 to 60 min. I'd also lower the dose. If schedule is an issue or you're concerned about getting multiple tests tonight, I'd skip.

I think starting Katmandu out at 0.5u may be needed so you can get acclimated and be able to shoot twice a day.

Thanks Sienne. Without an answer from anyone here I was about to shoot 0.50. I tested him 30 minutes ago, retested now and he's 155. Do I continue waiting? I can push off for another 15 minutes or so.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +5 168 +12 161 +12.5 155 what now

Stall for the next 15 min. and see what the numbers look like.

I'm not worried about your ability to manage the numbers. I'm just concerned that Katmandu may not be wanting to cooperate given all of the changes.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +5 168 +12 161 PMPS 155

Delayed as much as possible. When I went back up, he was asking for food so I shot a skinny 0.50 and fed him.
I'll test again at +2.

I feel like I did with Tom. Amazed and thrilled that just a change of food does so much but nervous at the same time seeing lower numbers.
He looked depressed today, stayed in his little house to nap. He is locked up in his room whereas at his house he had 4 cat girlfriends and 2 dogs. Then again, he is a cat :roll:
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu AMPS 322 +5 168 +12 161 PMPS 155

Give him a chance to acclimate. No girlfriends means he needs you for attention. I'd get a +1.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu PMPS 155 + 1 158 + 2 93 and pic!

We have green!
It's only +2 though. Is that ok? The drop doesn't seem too steep?
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu PMPS 155 + 1 158 + 2 93 and pic!

I would still get a +3. That's still 60 points in 2 hours -- a 40% change. It's a big drop given that the +2 should be at around the same as your pre-shot number.

He's a cutie, Sonia!
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu PMPS 155 + 1 158 + 2 93 and pic!

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would still get a +3. That's still 60 points in 2 hours -- a 40% change. It's a big drop given that the +2 should be at around the same as your pre-shot number.

He's a cutie, Sonia!
Planning on staying up or waking up at least until +5.
He is a cutie. Big boy. Skinny right now but hoping that will change. He is really starting to warm up to us.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu PMPS 155 + 1 158 + 2 93 and pic!

Holler if you need anything. I'm off and on throughout the evening. Marje will probably be around.

I'm glad to hear he's coming around. I suspect he's going to find out just how lucky he is that you found each other.
 
Re: 9/23 Katmandu PMPS 155 + 1 158 + 2 93 and pic!

Thanks. I'm a bit nervous.
I have some experience but I'm not experienced you know? Food, testing: not an issue. But with Tom i never really had to deal with managing his numbers much, he was OTJ so quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top