9/23 Jake's AMPS (HI) PMPS (413)

Status
Not open for further replies.

breayle and jake

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25681

Was working all frickin' day and the 405 was a mess. Jake got his shot (and a dose crease from 3.25 to 3.75) a little late but was in good spirits... well he was running around the house meowing at people to feed him till he finally settled on me, sat down and got his BG reading. He's a stinker! Poor baby doesn't get snacks throughout the day when I'm not home :(

He seems fine though, ate all his dinner and got his second dinner and promptly fell asleep after a paw licking party. <3

-Breayle and Jake
 
hi breayle! happy to see you've increased jake's dose.
what does your vet say about jake's numbers? i'm not a vet, but it looks like there may be something going on with jake... a health related issue of some sort. i'm really concerned about his numbers being so high for so long. if you haven't talked to your vet lately, i think it would be a good idea to show him jake's ss and ask for suggestions.

some questions...
--- how are jake's teeth?
--- has blood work and a urinalysis been run recently?
--- jake has pancreatitis. what are you doing to treat him?

there has to be some reason his numbers aren't coming down despite the dose increases...
 
Last blood run was like a month and a half ago when he was diagnosed with Pancreatits. Jake is on some enzymes for his enteric system now... from what I heard there's not much you can do other than supplment the enzymes to give his pancreas a break... and anti acid. Right now he is not on an anti acid because I'm not really a firm believer in them, unless he's not eating. Also the vet suggested to me that Jake's high numbers was Somogyi Effect and suggested I decrease his dose, which I did. When this was done his numbers did go down a little bit however they remained high and then he began testing pos for ketones. When that happened his dose was increased again, as of right now he's still getting high numbers and wont be able to have a vet visit until next paycheck. The last time I saw the vet it wasn't my actual vet because she had been bitten by a cat and had to have surgery on her hand! The other doctor was nice but I didn't really like some of the things he told me, he said not to worry about his numbers so much, because we wanted to relieve his symptoms before that. He also said to not worry about testing before a shot even... and that was pretty much a deal breaker for me.
 
ok, let's start with the pancreatitis. pancreatitis is very painful when untreated. ask any human who has experienced it. untreated pancreatitis *could* be the reason for the high numbers. cats hide their pain and discomfort very well.

please read jojo's chronic pancreatitis post carefully: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,876722,876722.

CP Toolbox...
possible tools your vet might have you use:
~SQ fluids
~ pain meds
~ anti-nausea meds (hey look pepcid falls in this category)
~ antioxidants (vitamin E ~water-dispersible form preferred and vitamin C ~non-acidic Ester-C form preferred)
~ liver support (milk thistle, denosyl, or marin)
~ vit b-12 injections(especially if bowel involved)
~ +/- pancreatic digestive enzymes (to 'predigest' food, however some controversy in vet med on whether or not to use these)
~ +/- antibiotics if indicated
~ +/- steroids if needed
~ +/- appetite stimulants if needed (and if liver not involved, some of these are contraindicated with liver issues)
can all be used to help the cat through the flare up. your vet can work up a treatment plan for managing your cat's CP flare up attacks.


please talk to your vet about having these things on hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top