? 9/23 - GIDEON BLUE AMPS = 394, +6 = 93, +7=107, +8=91, +9=111, +10=115, +11.5 = 123.

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...has-never-been-this-high.235733/#post-2641698

I looked back at Gideon's spreadsheet and 600 is actually not the highest he has been. Anyways, we increased his Lantus to 2.25 units this morning after an AMPS of 394. I probably should have tested at +3 or +4, but got busy with work. So he dipped into the dark green at +6. I fed LC 9% food, and he only came up to 107 an hour later.

I work tonight, so hubby will be responsibility for our sugar boy. He will test at +3, and if low, he will feed appropriate carb food and retest. Unfortunately, he is not able to stay up all night if Gideon has a hypo event.

I am presuming the dip today was from being in the BLACK yesterday, and not so much the slight increase in dosage (+.25 units).

Hoping Gideon is stable through the night.
 
Last edited:
Gideon could have been breaking a bounce today, but some cats will also give a clue about the new dose on the first cycle. Nice to see that green after yesterday.
 
I would start with a couples tsp of his regular LC. It's after mid cycle, he shouldn't need as many carbs to bring him up. And you don't want him skyrocketing to PMPS.
 
OK. Regular food it is. I am having some anxiety about giving him the 2.25 units tonight, because I won't be home. As I said, husband is the caretaker tonight.
 
Well, Gideon took only a few licks of 5% carb food. I put some dried chicken on it. He took a few more licks. I then put some grated cheese on it. He took a couple more licks. Then put a Stella & Chewy freeze dried nugget on it, and he also took a few more licks.
 
Gideon at +9 = 111. I pick up his food in an hr. Should I offer him more food? Not sure if he will be interested.
 
I am a bit concerned that at +10 Gideon's BG is only 115. His insulin is due in 2 hours. I am not home tonight,as I mentioned. Husband will do his best by getting up one time.
If he was 120 at AMPS, I would give the 2.25 units. I am not sure about the PMPS, how low I would go, with not being home.
He might bounce again, from being low BLUE, I do not know. How low could his BG be at PMPS, and still safely give the 2.25 units?
 
At +11.5 Gideon's BG = 123. Do we give the 2.25 units of Lantus after he eats? I feel so sick knowing I am leaving him tonight.
Thank you in advance for your advice.
 
How is hubby feeling about testing and monitoring. Just to get an idea for advise givers.

LC, MC, HC foods available? Syrup?

i know these are things we haven’t had to worry about regularly yet :eek: , but now that Gideon is showing improvements and breaking bounces quicker, I guess time to be prepared :)
 
Check again at +12. This is where an auto feeder would come in handy. Lack of a good appy when in lower numbers has me worried. Darn. If your hubby will get as many tests as needed I would not hesitate.
 
No auto feeder. Food is out or it isn't. I leave in 2 hrs. Shot is due now. At +12 he is 122 (just now) Hubby has Karo, but don't want Gideon to go that low. I can test at +1, +2. Hubby will test at +3. I probably will have now internet access once I get to work.
Shod I shoot a light 2 units, meaning the top of the 2 unit line (after he eats)? What carb do I feed now? We have LC, MC and HC food in the kit.
 
Will hubby get more than one test if the +3 is low? How many tests? I’d get a +2 and +3. I’d feed lc now and then give mc if the +2 is lower than the PMPS. I think if he will get more than one test your short 2 should work.
 
You could give a token dose to really air on the side of caution.
A slightly reduced dose that could mean he might dip a bit tonight.
Skip?
 
Now 1.5 since hubby will only test once after +3. I can't blame him. He has to work and can't stay up all night.
 
Hubby is getting a +3 and then depends on what it is when he will test again. Could be +4, +5 OR +6.
 
Hubby just said if Gideon is double digits, he will do an additiional test after his last one. So sounds like after +3, he will do 2 tests.
 
Back
Top