9/23 Durielle AMPS 133, +2 108, +5 54, +6 37

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=104608

Durie is having some trouble today. I fed her at 10am, and gave her shot too. About 30 mins later, she threw-up and I noticed a small lump of poop nearby. She had been trying to poo (outside the litterbox), and strained so hard that she vomited.

I put her in the washroom with a litterbox, and noticed 'scooting' behaviour, as well as many attempts to poo and subsequent vomit reflexes. I palpated her abdomen for lumps or blockages, but none apparent. She was very upset and growly.

I looked symptoms online, and thought to express her anal glands. One of them expressed well, the other was stuck but after removing a crusty-cap from the opening, it began to flow a little.

Now Durie's belly is empty due to vomiting, so I am checking to make sure she doesn't have a dangerous glucose drop. I suspect the problem is the anal glands, and she's been straining to clear them. So I will keep trying to express the one that was stuck.

Does anyone else have thoughts on what might be going on? If she can be treated at home, it's preferred.
 
Re: 9/23 Durielle AMPS 133, +2 108

I know anal glands can get impacted. They get really tender and make for most unhappy kitties. You probably need vet help with that.

And if she's been doing this off and on .... she might need a smidge of miralax added to her foods. Higher protein diets can make for more frequent constipation.
Let the vet rule out any other problems first. You don't want to cause new problems.
 
Re: 9/23 Durielle AMPS 133, +2 108, +5 54

She has not had symptoms like this before. Right now she's resting, but I will check on her again in an hour. I have tried to feed her, to raise her bg but she isn't interested in food.
 
Re: 9/23 Durielle AMPS 133, +2 108

She may be very constipated... just went to check on her, and she was lying sideways trying to poop. I gently helped her pass a few pieces that were very large. Worried for her, but maybe once she empties out she'll feel better.
 
Re: 9/23 Durielle AMPS 133, +2 108

I would err on the side of caution and talk to your vet. You don't want to use a laxative unless you know it's safe to do so.
 
Gave 1 tbsp of corn syrup to raise her bg. Not all of it went in, but much of it did. Will retest soon. No hypo symptoms, just carbing her to keep her bg up.

As for the GI issues, no longer pooping or straining, but still vomitous. Private vetting is not an option, out of resources after one of my cats survived his 2nd urinary blockage ($2,000 bill). Hoping Durie stabilizes, or will have to go emergency surrender at Humane Society.
 
Am I correct in guessing that Durielle is a DCIN foster cat? Have you contacted Venita about her medical issues?

MJ
 
Yes, she's a DCIN foster. And yes I emailed Venita the same info as the beginning of this post.

Durie has been doing very well, it's only today that things are off. I'm hoping it's a minor issue, and I've managed to stabilize her by secreting her anal glands, helping her to pass feces, and by keeping her bg up. Now she's resting, and appears more comfortable. At dinnertime, I will entice her to eat, or feed her by oral syringe.

Will keep updating on her situation. Thanks everyone.
 
Duriel is not a DCIN foster cat. She is a DCIN-assisted cat in private foster with Jorge.

Have you tested Duriel since the 37? It appears that might have been 3 hours ago.
 
I am glad she is feeling better this afternoon. What is her BG level up to? You may want to hold off on insulin tonight, or give her a highly reduced dose. With not eating well, the hypo territory numbers today, and BG levels that could be artifically high because of simple sugars, a full dose might not be the right thing to do.

You said your only option if she needed vetting would be to take her for emergency surrender at the Humane Society. Wouldn't that be an immediate death sentence for her?

It does sound like constipation is the problem, and that along with the vomiting likely means she is dehydrated. Do you have any fluids you could give her? If not, could syringe her water through the evening and add water to her food?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top