9/23 Doodle AMPS 92 +4/44 DOSE REDUCTION EARNED?

Status
Not open for further replies.
yuppers. decrease by 0.25u with next shot.

sorry about being cryptic in your thread yesterday! Here is a spreadsheet that reminds me of Doodle's - particularly with the recent going all green.
Davidson. Take a look in February 2014 when Davidson first starting getting green am preshots.

The path to OTJ typically starts with green nadirs. The next to come down is the pmps. The last to come down is the amps, because of Dawn Phenomenon.

when a cat is held in normal numbers, then the pancreas can begin to heal. In some cats that seems to happen quickly, and they begin to move down the dosing scale. In some cats (like Davidson) it then becomes a matter of trying to reduce the dose after 7 days in normal numbers. Then wait another 7 days and try to reduce again. If the pancreas is beginning to put out insulin again, the cat will need less and less, so you will see the cat going under 50 and then getting a dose reduction. If all is well, the dose reduction will hold. So there are 2 ways to get dose reductions: one is if Doodle goes under 50 and the other is if he stays 7 days in normal numbers on the same dose.

I know he's been diagnosed for more than a year, so the less=than-40 would apply, but he seems to be holding reductions when he goes under 50, so i would continue with that unless he can't hold the reductions.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

the bottom line is that the TR protocol is working for mr. doodle!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top