9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in am?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
9/22 Recap:
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 206
AM+3.5: 209
AM+5: 194
AM+7: 201
PMPS: 194
PM+5.75: 173
PM+7.5: 129

Today:
AMPS: 196
AM+3.75: 98
AM+5.25: 81
AM+9: 162

Yesterday's Condo

Late, late condo again. I hope someone is still up. I was gone a lot of today - had lunch with my cousin in Sac and ran errands after. Cinco was green when I left. Luckily, DH was working from home. Unfortunately, he didn't follow my instructions to test at +7, so don't know if he went down after that 81. :roll: So tonight Cinco decides to dive off the cliff. Problem is, I'm not supposed to feed him after 8:00 pm! I rubbed some karo on his gums when I got that 43. Praying that brings him up. They want me to give him 1/2 his regular dose tomorrow morning. I was already hesitant to do it. Now I'm pretty sure I'm not going to shoot at all. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Oh shoot! Is Cinco having surgery tomorrow? I haven't been reading much the last few days. I'd send a PM to Marje or Wendy to look at your condo. If you don't get a response by the time you are supposed to shoot my inclination would be to skip but I don't know enough to advise and even then he could be working on his depot. Can you call your vet early in the morning? I wish I could tell you what to do. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Thanks, Elise. I know it's too late for most people - especially those on the East Coast. I didn't shoot before his last surgery, and I didn't have these low numbers the night before. Of course, he could bounce in the morning... Time to test again.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Almost really have to wait until morning....if he bounces high from tonight's hi-jinx, it'd probably be fine to give him at least a token dose

Why no food after 8? Most of the time it's no food after 11pm or midnight....seems like keeping him NPO for over 12 hours is a little harsh, especially for a diabetic

They told me to feed China a couple of teaspoons on the morning of her dental and give 1/2 dose (but I don't remember what we ended up doing to tell the truth)

Will be thinking of you tomorrow and sending most excellent surgery vines for Cinco!
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Good point Chris. If he bounces a token dose might keep him just fine. Time for me to test again.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

+5 44
+5.5 51

Chris, I don't know why they say 8:00 pm. I'm not even dropping him off until 9:30, so if they want 12 hours without food, that would be 9:30 pm. When my regular vet does dentals, they say midnight. When they did his other eye in April, they said the same thing. They're pretty serious about it.

I did ask what to do if he went low tonight after 8, and was told to put karo on his gums. That's what I'm doing.

They said to give half his normal dose and to bring food, his insulin and syringes with him. If he does bounce, I'm thinking we should shoot half a unit, but what would I consider a bounce? 200? 250?
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Julie is on line . I hope she answers you.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

She wasn't on very long and must have not seen your question. I think someone should be able to answer you before amps. Max always goes up after a night like this. Maybe Cinco will too. Do you know how long the surgery will be and how long after his a.m. shot he will be able to eat? I guess they could always give him karo if he drops.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

I'm not even certain what time the surgery will start. They said to have him there by 9:45 at the latest. I honestly don't remember what time they sent him home last time, but I didn't test his BG until 7:48, so I'm pretty sure they must have kept him until close to 7 pm. The tech said to bring food in case they need to feed him while he's there, as well as his insulin and syringes.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

I hope he makes it easy for you to decide how much insulin to give in the morning. Hopefully you are off to sleep soon. I'm sending vines for an easy surgery and quick recovery.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Yikes....talk about throwing you a curve ball! Where is Cinco at now? DId you end up giving him any food? Can you call the place where he's having the surgery and ask them about feeding him, given the situation? Obviously keeping him safe from hypo would have to come first. Without knowing his AMPS just yet, I would be really hesitant to shoot before the surgery....we know that if you skip, he'll get back on track and be safe from hypo. Just my early mornin' 2 cents.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Thanks, Amy. At +8 he is at 94. He has not had karo since +6. No, I did not feed him - just rubbed karo on his gums. I'm debating about staying up for one more test at +9 - he's been known to double dip lately. I really think we'll skip his AM shot, unless he goes up quite a bit. I think I'll tell my DH to test twice to be sure before he shoots. I'm thinking 250 is the shoot or no shoot number, and .5 units will be the amount - 1/3 his normal dose. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Yes, that makes sense to me. I'm always hesitant about shooting when they are fasting and when anesthesia is involved, but I also know Cinco will be in great hands for his surgery and they will keep a close eye on him. I'm glad he's come up a bit. When he double-dips, I assume he does it late in the cycle, right? Definitely have DH double-test to be sure he has an accurate read. Sending tons of prayers for the surgery!!
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Yes, Amy. When he double dips it is late in the cycle. So far it hasn't been a huge amount. I'm probably going to dawdle around getting ready for bed and will still be awake at +9, so much as he'll hate it, I think I will poke him one more time. I'm going to write down DH's instructions now. I'll tell him to wake me if he's unsure what to do. Thanks for your input. I feel better having gotten feedback!
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Unless he's quite high for him, I'd say skip. I gave Neko a 1/4 dose for her dental last year and they tested her just about at the reduction point before putting her under anesthesia (which thankfully raised her up). Sending tons of good vines for the surgery.
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

I'm glad that you got input. I hope the surgery goes well and he heals quickly. What a stressful night you had prior to surgery. Hugs to you!!
 
Re: 9/23 Cinco PMPS 177 +1.75 109 +4.25 43 +5 44 Shoot in a

Good luck with the surgery, Cinco!! I can't believe he decided to go diving the night before his surgery. :shock: I'm sure he will get right back on track from the skip, and you won't have to worry about him going low while he's in there. I don't know what the timeline is like, but maybe the 18 hour cycle is something to consider depending on what time he gets home.

Sending lots of vines to both of you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top