9/23 Chester's PMPS 345,+3=380

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
I'm wondering if I should go back to my last good dose already (1.5 units) or stick with these crazy numbers for another day? If I do give him 1.5, should I leave food for him?

Is there anything about this full moon stuff that might be making him wonky high?
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 9/23 Chester's AMPS 424

Sometimes, J.D. goes high at the full moon.
This red is probably a bounce. J.D. used to have delayed bounces.
1.5 might be better for Chester, but If it were me, I'd wait until tonight to up the dose, when you can be home to monitor. Let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 9/23 Chester's AMPS 424

I'm wondering...I gave him 1/2 tab cyproheptadine the other day...can't remember which but it could only have been a day or two ago. His appetite was lagging and he used to be on it all the time. Could that have anything to do with it? Now I'm wondering if a lot of the issues we had before could have been influenced by the cypro. No clue if that drug has an effect on bg or not.

I think I'll do the 1.25 and up him tonight if necessary. The last time I thought it was time to increase, he shocked me with a low number at pmps. Keeping my fingers crossed.
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 9/23 Chester's AMPS 424

Good Morning Jaye,

Hmm....looking at your SS, I'd be tempted to up that 0.25u too. Part of me saying that because you've been working your way DOWN as opposed to Attie who is working his way UP. The protocol does state after a reduction if numbers rise to return to the last good dose.

I like to be home to monitor on docrease days or at least home within the 24 hour cycle. Going up I was less concerned as I was pretty confident we were too low. Now, I won't change unless I'm going to be home. A day or two either way high...is the safe bet.

Let's see what other have to say.
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 9/23 Chester's AMPS 424

I don't think cyproheptadine itself will effect BGs, except to increase their appetite, which if all goes well, makes them eat more. I think this red is a bounce from the lower numbers, and hopefully it will be a quick one. Fingers crossed.
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 9/23 Chester's AMPS 424

Thanks!

I gave him the lower dose (1.25) today because I'll be away from home. Tonight, depending of course on pmps, I might increase. Although that's exactly what I said last time he did this to me and he surprised me with a pmps of 107.

Didn't give him any cypro today and he ate a good breakfast. I'm leaving just a heaping tsp in his autofeeder for +3 and +4. Yesterday I had it open later and I'm wondering if he didn't eat it very close to pmps. Also leaving him less today (hope his brother doesn't get it).

Curious to see what happens when the moon starts to wane.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 435

Well, he's high again. I'll be home tonight. Should I up him back to his last good dose (I'm thinking 1.5)? My dog's numbers are out of whack today as well... Grrrrrr
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 435

Jaye, is he at 435 or 345? Your spreadsheet says 345. I wish someone else would have come by today to advise or back me up. I'm not all that experienced with giving dosing advise. When is shot time, now?
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 345

Oh, my....I got my numbers mixed up (at least they were the same three numbers ;-) ) He is 345, NOT 435 (at least he isn't 543!)

Shot time is now...and I'm planning on shooting the 1.5. It will be a long night, but I'm not comfortable where he is now. Supposedly, that's following protocol (I hope!)
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 345

My only hesitation is that bounces sometimes take 3 days to clear. But, go ahead. I think you'll be okay with the 1.50.
He'll be fine. You get the weekend off, to do a curve, right?
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 345

I made it a very skinny 1.5 with a bubble to boot! :smile: So it's possible that it's a bounce, even though his numbers have been relatively nice the past few days (before the pinks arrived)? I'm beginning to wonder if there will ever be a number that he won't bounce at!
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 345

for what it's worth, I would increase too. It could be a bounce, but to me it looks like the last reduction didn't hold. He *is* quite a bit lower than this morning, so it's possible that if it WAS a bounce, it's starting to clear. Just monitor, then you can control him if he keeps dropping.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 345

Jaye and Chester said:
I made it a very skinny 1.5 with a bubble to boot! :smile: Nice hooting! So it's possible that it's a bounce, even though his numbers have been relatively nice the past few days (before the pinks arrived)? I'm beginning to wonder if there will ever be a number that he won't bounce at! You have no idea how long I've lived with a bouncy kitty :roll:


Good luck with the dosecrease :-D
Go ahead and enter 1.25 for AMPS and s1.50 for PMPS in your spreadsheet, if you have'nt already.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 9/23 Chester's PMPS 345

A number that he won't bounce at.... sorry.... I don't think there is such a thing.
Bounce is a function of counter-regulatory hormones... I was going to say the same ones that make us eat chocolate, cry and buy another pair of shoes; however, that's another set of hormones altogether, so disregard. My point is, once Chester's liver is used to seeing numbers that are normal and in a fashion that is also relatively normal (like not diving), it will stop panicking and bouncing should reduce. It's not really a function of dose or number. I'm not familiar enough with the medication you are using on Chester to say if it will do anything, however, i would like to encourage you to shot a dose that you are comfortable shooting (disclaimer, not all circumstances apply). Lantus likes consistent dosing and shooting time; the more you are adhere to that (within your comfort zone and while keeping safety in mind), the better lantus will work.
So.... 1.5sk is was ... good! Make sure to update your SS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top