9/23 Cher - AMPS 175 +7=410;+9=398 - Can her PM shot be moved forward?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jancol & Cher

Member Since 2017
Cher's numbers have come down again - PMPS 385 +10 56.
Have given her 4 drops honey and HC food
Will test again in 15 mins

She did the same thing two days ago

I haven't posted her numbers for awhile
 
Depending on her number I wouldn't give too much honey as you are at +10 just enough to help her surf in a safe area till PMPS as the insulin wears off. As she tends to run high on a regular basis. Too much honey or HC will send her higher up only to bounce
 
Good catch. Did you do a second test in case it was a bad strip? That's a huge drop. I can't stay with you. Rinse, lather , repeat until you are sure she's not dropping any more. It looks like a bounce cleared. It's so Kate in the cycle I'd try to feed lc .
 
Depending on her number I wouldn't give too much honey as you are at +10 just enough to help her surf in a safe area till PMPS as the insulin wears off. As she tends to run high on a regular basis. Too much honey or HC will send her higher up only to bounce
I gave her 4 drops in total
Is that too much?
 
thats a good number . Did you give more food? You can wait 15 minutes test again we want three tests with rising numbers not affected by eating
 
Good catch. Did you do a second test in case it was a bad strip? That's a huge drop. I can't stay with you. Rinse, lather , repeat until you are sure she's not dropping any more. It looks like a bounce cleared. It's so Kate in the cycle I'd try to feed lc .
Her second test came in at 74
Gave more HC
 
Well le'ts see in 15 to 20 minutes that Hc will bring her up more as she is late in the cycle. Your doing a great job!
 
Of course I had that happen many times late at night when Fritz was going low. :confused:
That is a good number. See how giving little bits of food with a little bit of honey when low brings the numbers up slow and then next just giving food. Now no food and lets see in 15 to 20 what her number looks like. :)
 
Of course I had that happen many times late at night when Fritz was going low. :confused:
That is a good number. See how giving little bits of food with a little bit of honey when low brings the numbers up slow and then next just giving food. Now no food and lets see in 15 to 20 what her number looks like. :)
I'm concerned I may have given her too much HC .... gave her additional after the last test ... what is your opinion?
 
If you'd like you can go back to the box with the #56 and keep typing the other two numbers and you can have it in the same box:cool:
 
If you'd like you can go back to the box with the #56 and keep typing the other two numbers and you can have it in the same box:cool:
Have done that now ....
What would her level need to be to give the AM shot? And would the dose remain the same?
 
Thats ok it will just help keep her numbers up which is fine. When I first test that low number I feed a small amount of MC or HC food if low number like the 56 I add a little bit of honey then test in 15 minutes. You want them to come up slow and not bounce the number too high. 2nd test I give another small amount of just food MC or Hc unless the number is unchanged or still lowering then add a small amount of honey test in 15 to 20 minutes. Then once the number is in a safe number I start to just monitor test in 15 to 20 minutes and as long as the numbers are rising with no food.
You don't want to over feed in case you have to keep using the food and honey to rise the numbers a full kitty won't eat.

Usually if the number drops late in the cycle it's easier to bring and keep the numbers rising in a safe numbers.
I'm use to the TR portocol.
 
Don't give any more food. That 56 was ansafe number on the Freestyle and did not need high carb intervention. But now you won't know if her numbers are inflated from the food or the natural end of the cycle. Wait another half hour, without feeding any more, and test again. Do not shoot.

She has earned a reduction down to 3.0 units.
 
In future, give high carb or honey, one drop will do, if she is below 50. At the end of the cycle, the insulin is wearing off and often low carb will be enough to bring them up.

How long since the last high carb/honey was given?
 
Thats ok it will just help keep her numbers up which is fine. When I first test that low number I feed a small amount of MC or HC food if low number like the 56 I add a little bit of honey then test in 15 minutes. You want them to come up slow and not bounce the number too high. 2nd test I give another small amount of just food MC or Hc unless the number is unchanged or still lowering then add a small amount of honey test in 15 to 20 minutes. Then once the number is in a safe number I start to just monitor test in 15 to 20 minutes and as long as the numbers are rising with no food.
You don't want to over feed in case you have to keep using the food and honey to rise the numbers a full kitty won't eat.

Usually if the number drops late in the cycle it's easier to bring and keep the numbers rising in a safe numbers.
I'm use to the TR portocol.
I hope 4 drops of honey wasn't too much .... the last time I only gave her two drops with HC. She came up but then she went down again, so that is why I gave her the four drops this time. I didn't consider the fact that this time she was at the end of the cycle.

Also she is transitioning from HC Z/D to raw ... yesterday she had 40 grams of raw ... since she now has the taste for raw, it is difficult to get her to eat the HC Z/D.

Thank you for your help by the way ...
 
Also she is transitioning from HC Z/D to raw ... yesterday she had 40 grams of raw ... since she now has the taste for raw, it is difficult to get her to eat the HC Z/D.
IMO raw is the best. I don't know about the HC Z/D but my guess is once your feeding only raw the numbers will come down.
Your welcome! :):bighug:
Each time you have to manage the lows you get more comfortable and it helps to know thy cat;).
Job well done:cool:
 
In future, give high carb or honey, one drop will do, if she is below 50. At the end of the cycle, the insulin is wearing off and often low carb will be enough to bring them up.

How long since the last high carb/honey was given?
Sorry. Wendy, I missed your reply .....
She had the honey at +10.15

I'm thinking should the dose be reduced seeing as she is not having as much HC Z/D?
 
Don't give any more food. That 56 was ansafe number on the Freestyle and did not need high carb intervention. But now you won't know if her numbers are inflated from the food or the natural end of the cycle. Wait another half hour, without feeding any more, and test again. Do not shoot.

She has earned a reduction down to 3.0 units.
I have only just seen this post ....

Her shot is due in 20 minutes ...
 
I'd not feed then at PMPS see what her number is. With SLGS doesn't the number need to be 150 or higher or give token dose 10-25% of dose?
I need to get more familiar with SLGS:confused:
Either way congrats on the reduction;)
 
I'd not feed then at PMPS see what her number is. With SLGS doesn't the number need to be 150 or higher or give token dose 10-25% of dose?
I need to get more familiar with SLGS:confused:
Either way congrats on the reduction;)
Her level is now 153

So I can give nothing
give 10-25% of the usual dose
or feed and test

I am thinking she should have the reduced dose?

Can anyone advise if they agree with this or not, please.
 
If you can monitor and have plenty of supplies strips MC HC food and honey I would give the 3u and get a +1 or +2 to see where the cycle is headed I don't see too many times you shoot this low
hopefully others will give advice.
 
You can also not feed wait 15 minutes and see if her numbers are still rising then decide what to shoot or not. If she were my cat I would at least give a token shot if your worried.
She is your kitty.
 
You can also not feed wait 15 minutes and see if her numbers are still rising then decide what to shoot or not. If she were my cat I would at least give a token shot if your worried.
She is your kitty.
I think I will wait a bit longer to see if she is rising on her own ..
 
Another option is to wait for two hours after you last fed her to see how far she comes up, if you are able to stall that long. That should only put you one hour behind your normal shot time.
 
Her level is now 153

So I can give nothing give 10-25% of the usual dose or feed and test
The rule for not shooting below 150 is for those who are new and who do not have data. People on SLGS will shoot as low as 90, providided they have the data to do so. You gradually lower your no shoot or "shoot less" number.

If the last high carb was at +10.5, you can test at 12.5 and provided she hasn't dropped, you can shoot them and be less than an hour behind schedule. Thankfully it's the weekend so you can make up time.
 
The rule for not shooting below 150 is for those who are new and who do not have data. People on SLGS will shoot as low as 90, providided they have the data to do so. You gradually lower your no shoot or "shoot less" number.

If the last high carb was at +10.5, you can test at 12.5 and provided she hasn't dropped, you can shoot them and be less than an hour behind schedule. Thankfully it's the weekend so you can make up time.
Her last HC was at 6am and test was 97 - 7.45am test was 191
8am test is 169.

It has come down .... thoughts please on whether to go ahead with shot or reduce dose?
 
I see your weaning off pred that will lower the numbers. Wouldn't surprise me if she goes down the dose ladder quickly
I was weaning her off the pred but it looked as though her IBD symptons were reoccuring possibly because of the new RC Diabetic diet the vet suggested to put her on, so I put her back onto the pred yesterday .
 
169 and 175 are basically the same so she is stable....still a bit below the 191
I think I would give a slightly reduced dose ...because you are changing her over to the raw as well.
She earned a reduction so her normal shot now would be 3 units...
Maybe 2.5 units. What would you be comfortable shooting?
 
It's your call if you want to shoot 3.0 or 2.5 units. Delaying the shot can act like a reduction by itself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top