9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 +4 55 +5 101 +6 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

CanisLupus

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115913

Bonk's doing it again! +3 is already at 88, and he has hours to go yet. At least this time, I'm home to catch it, and I was expecting it too, given his AMPS. I have a can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers sitting and waiting, I have a feeling I may need it today.

Thanks everyone for the comments yesterday, I agree that I would prefer him to do this in the daytime, I enjoy getting a full night of sleep. :-D
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 - Here we go again!

I enjoy my sleep too :-D . I'm glad you can be home to monitor. I guess Bonk wanted to hang out with Chyna today, she's doing the same sort of thing to me and I have a gravy food all ready to go too :lol: . I hope your day isn't too exciting ;-) , surf it Bonk!
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 - Here we go again!

Okay, Bonk, we want those greens, but can you slow down a bit? It's okay to do this gradually.

It sounds like you're prepared for Bonk's roller coaster ride that seems imminent, Brian. Keep us updated on how it goes!
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 - Here we go again!

While it's totally possible Bonk dropped 120 points in an hour, anytime you get a number that makes you go "hmmmm", you might want to immediately retest.

Sometimes the sample is just not right, or the strip is wonky, so when you get big differences like that in such a short time, retest

If you do need to pop open the Gravy Lovers, this is what works best for me. I open it and then put the top back on and press it hard into the can so the gravy part "oozes" out into another bowl. The gravy is where the carbs are, and it makes it easier to just add a little gravy without adding a lot of the food too (so they're less likely to get filled up in case you need them to eat later)

It's messy, but once you've squeezed all the gravy out you can use what you need and put the rest back in the refrigerator in case you need more the next cycle or 2

Bonk sure seems to love those carnival rides!!
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 - Here we go again!

Thanks Rachael, yes, I guess Bonk and Chyna are buddies! :lol: Though the day looks like it could get more exciting by the minute.

Thanks Shelly, yep, I'm ready. And from what I'm seeing, it will be needed.

Thanks Chris,

I retested at +3.5, and he was down to 69, so these numbers are correct. This is his pattern, when he drops, he drops fast and deep. I'm about to do a +4 test, and will probably be breaking out the Gravy Lovers. I will follow your idea. I also have the corn syrup ready if he decides to really drop and not eat.
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 +3.5 69 +4 55

Okay, down to 55 now at +4, he dove right into that gravy, he loves gravy!
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 +3.5 69 +4 55

yeah, they all love that gravy!! I think some of them go low just to get some of the "good stuff"

I wouldn't have started the HC stuff yet. I would have just tested in another 20-30 minutes to see if Bonk dropped below 50 and earned a reduction.

There are times when we'd advise someone to pull it out sooner, but it's also possible that Bonk could use a reduction to help with these dives, but until he drops below 50, we wouldn't give him one.

Hey Bonk! Time to jump on that surfboard! Surfing's just as much fun as diving!!
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 +3.5 69 +4 55 +4.5 63

Oh well, I guess I got too excited then. I don't like seeing the numbers go that low. I'll remember that next time. I was under the impression we didn't want to even let it drop that low, so I didn't.

He is back up to 63 at last test. We will see how he continues as the day goes. I'm just glad it happened on a day I was home.

Thanks!
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 +3.5 69 +4 55 +4.5 63

No problem Brian!! We all understand how scary those lower numbers can be..especially when they're new or unexpected!!

The reason you'd would have wanted to wait is to see if he IS dropping below 50..especially since you can't get tests during the day during the week when you're away.

Don't feed him anymore but keep testing and let's see where he goes..if he continues up or goes back down after the gravy wears off

Looks like Bonk is a lot like China...when he breaks a bounce, he breaks it FAST!
 
Re: 9/23 Bonk AMPS 287 +2 208 +3 88 +3.5 69 +4 55 +4.5 63 +5

Guess I gave him too much gravy, he's up to 101 already. Learning....I'll remember this next time.

And no, no more food for a while. I want to see how he is doing on his own. He says it's nap time anyway.
 
Bonk's going back down again at +6, I can only imagine how low he would have gone without that gravy. I had a feeling at AMPS that this was going to happen. It's actually too bad I felt I had to give him those extra carbs, I'm well on my way towards getting that curve my vet wanted me to get, but the data is probably tainted now. :roll:
 
Don't worry about it Brian. Pretty much everyone that isn't used to seeing double digit numbers panics. I remember one not too long ago that gave their cat like 1/2 cup of syrup!

Since he dropped back again, you want to keep testing for 2 hours after he's eaten anything so you can make sure he's really safe without having to eat to keep him safe.

Edited to add...if it were me and I couldn't test tomorrow, I think I'd go ahead and drop him back to 2.5 You may want to do that at PMPS so his depot can drain a little. With him doing these dives, I think you should try the little lower dose tonight (like he HAD earned it which I think he probably would have without the food)
 
Nice greens for Bonk today. It looks like he's getting used to those greens. It's nice he did this when you are able to be home and monitor him.
 
It takes beans much longer to get used to seeing the greens! It took us about 2 years to quit having major panic. :o nailbite_smile :shock:

Bonk is looking lovely and has the bestest name!
 
Brian

The +2 test is a great one to get because it can give you food info as to the cycle. If the +2 is similar to the PS, it's likely to be an active Lantus cycle. If it's much less than the PS, you should expect a very active cycle with a possible early drop. ...like today :lol:

For cats that like to drop early in the cycle, we usually suggest you front load the cycle with food at PS, +1, +2, and +3. That might be difficult considering your work schedule.

Any way to move his shot back in the morning to allow you time to get a +2 before you go?
 
Hey Brian!!

How's Bonk doing? Looks like he definitely bounced off those low numbers on the 23rd!

Hope he's feeling well, and that you're doing OK too!
 
Hi Chris,

Thanks for thinking of us. Yes, everything in going well, I would have come right over here if there was an issue. I've just been very busy in the last couple days, and haven't had a lot of personal Internet time. But I have been getting the testing in, though I haven't been updating the chart right away. Bonk wrapped up another bounce today with another below 70 day, but he is otherwise doing great. It seems that, even though he has these high days and low days, his energy level has slowly been increasing, which I'm thrilled to see!

By the way, I didn't see your edit to your earlier post until now, so I never saw your message about lowering his dosage. I was thinking the same thing, but din't act on it. But seeing he was off the scale the next day, I'm not sure what to do. (of course, I'm still scratching my head at how someone could fit a half a cup of anything into a little kitty tummy! )

And thanks everyone else for the comments too. Marje, I've thought about changing his shot time, but for me to move him back two hours, I'd have to give him his shot the moment I get out of bed on my work days, and that probably wouldn't work too well. And on non-work days, I sleep late. That's why a 9 AM shot time works perfectly with my schedule.
 
Good to hear he seems to be feeling better. I'm told that the highs they get when they're bouncing don't do the damage that just hanging out too high does.

Looks like he's already breaking that bounce too!! Down into greens again! (which will probably make him bounce again)

I know you have a hectic schedule! Good job on getting the tests in!!

Hope you have a nice evening Brian
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top