9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 PMPS 97 vet report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eva and Achilles

Member Since 2010
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25615&p=257771#p257771

We're gearing up for an OTJ trial this weekend. We need to make sure we have enough LC food at or below 5%.

Achilles' AST and ALT numbers came down into the normal range!! We are so happy about that. Vet did notice that he has more protein in his urine and suspects this may be a result of the transition from dry food to LC wet food. At this point, vet isn't terribly concerned and he recommended that we re-test in 3 or 4 months and do a urinalysis at that time as well. Achilles can also stand to lose about 2 1/2 lbs. That's a lot of weight for a cat so I plan on taking it slow. Right now, food is our friend and helps keep Achilles' numbers in check. We can probably give him fewer freeze dried chicken treats, but he loves them so much it breaks my heart to deprive him of them.

I'm sorry I haven't been visitng other condos much these past few days. Work has been crazy. I should be able to catch up this weekend.

Happy Thursday all!!
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

otj trial ? How exciting! and congrats!

Nice vet report, and glad that all is well. A sigh of relief I am sure. Nice amps this morning too. have a great day!
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

If you check Dr. Lisa's site on feline nutrition, she has a section on obesity with information on weight loss. Gabby is in the same place and I find it hard to get her weight in shape when I have to feed HC in addition to her regular food.

Glad the vet report is good. I can't say that I understand why there would be more protein in Achilles urine due to the food change, though. Getting a repeat on kidney values next time would be a good idea.
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

Hey Eva

Good news...OTJ trial..YAY!! BTW, you can always have the vet check her protein/creatinine ratio on the urine...that will tell you if
there is something going on in the kidneys; it's more accurate then just finding protein in the urine. One of my cats always has a trace amount of protein in his urine but his kidney values (blood) are good and his protein/creat ratio is awesome.

Pls keep us posted!
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

I went back to the blood test results andthe vet's e-mail to make sure I was reporting accurately because my head was in a fog yesterday from overwork and little sleep.

Here is what the vet wrote:

"One of his kidney tests is just slightly above normal (urea nitrogen, 38) but that can be influenced by his diet (high protein diets can increase the urea nitrogen). The other test, the creatinine, is completely normal."

He didn't seem terribly concerned and mentioned that we can check it again in 3-4 months.

What do you think?
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

Hey Eva

I have a CRF cat right now...my 15 year old, Teddi. BUN (urea nitrogen) can be affected by high protein diet and also by dehydration and can vary from one vet visit to the next. The most important thing to look at is if the creat is in normal range. If it is, then the kidneys are functioning properly but I would look at the trend, too. For instance, with my Gus, his creat has slowly been rising so we're keeping a close eye on it. We think it is because he went hypothyroid after his I131 treatment and his thyroid levels are a little low right now which decreases the perfusion to the kidneys thus we increase his thyroxin. So watch Achillie's creatinine. If it starts to go up, BUN will probably also rise some and then you want to catch any renal insufficiency early. Then you have to start watching other numbers like phosphorus, potassium, HGB, HCT (or PCV), etc. I think a recheck in 3 mos is reasonable..that is what we are doing with Gus.
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

Eva and Achilles - OTJ trial - how exciting! Good luck this weekend. We'll be anxiously watching your condos to see how Achilles is doing. Congrats!
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

I'm so nervous about a trial. I almost don't want to do it because I am afraid of throwing off all of his and our hard work to date. nailbite_smile

I also don't want to rush it.

I'd love to get opinions of what others would do if they were in our shoes.
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

Eva

I certainly can't give you any advice but I will just say I totally empathize with you. You have done such incredible work with Achilles. This whole process is a little scary but I imagine when you get down to Achilles's numbers..it can be a little daunting but I know these great folks will help you out whatever you decide to do. Sending hugs for courage!
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

Love all those greens on Achilles' spreadsheet!

Of course, you can keep going with a drop for a while. We held each sliver of a reduction seven full days, just to let Kitty's pancreas take over as gradually as possible. If you're nervous about the trial, there's no need to rush.
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

Hi Eva

we held the last drop for 14 days (28 cycles) before I was given the go ahead to try trial.
I tell's ya, it felt like a lifetime and pure torture! @-) :lol:

I often hear this from the experienced eyes, there's no rush, and to give kitty the best chance, hold the last dose as long as possible.

Good luck to you both - whatever you decide!
Very proud of you for getting to this point with Achilles.
 
Re: 9/23 Achilles AMPS 81 vet report

Achilles!!! you are doing so well...it's wonderful. you and eva rock!

celi

come to the harvest ball tonight achilles...we gotta celebrate with you, man!

binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top