9/22 Toby's PMS =320+3=302+7=369

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby started out at 401 this morning. Not what I wanted to see but, better than yesterday. Increased to 4.75 units this morning
hope this is the magic dose. Toby is doing good and I am feeling better so hope this is good day. Peg and Toby P.S Neg. Ketones.
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS +7.5=291 AMS=401

Definitely better than yesterday...work that dosecrease, Toby!! Great job with the steady increases, Peg...hopefully you'll hit the breakthrough dose soon. Hooray for negative ketones and Toby feeling good!!

Have a great day, Peg!
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS +7.5=291 AMS=401

Toby's +4 bg is 417 not much different than AMs . Just started new increase been told that sometimes don't see anything for a couple of doses. Where it is about the same at + 4 do I have to test all day today or just again tonight at preshot? Just hate to keep testing if don't have to. His little ears are getting sore. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS +7.5=291 AMS=401

Just wondering every time I go up on the dose it looks on his spreadsheet that the numbers keep rising. Does anyone else see this or is it just me. When he was on 4.00 units to 4.25 there was more yellows and blues. Now on 4.5 units and 4.75 units
all it shows is pinks and reds. Just wondering if we are missing the dose? I know I have no experience in reading spreadsheets
so I guess just need it explained. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS +7.5=291 AMS=401

I think you can take a break from testing the rest of the cycle. Do something for yourself the rest of the day.

Sometimes kitties don't show much progress on an increase. As long as you've been increasing according to the protocol, then you aren't on too high a dose.
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS =320

Guess I spoke to fast about Toby's numbers. His bg is 320 tonight. Less than at + 8 which was 350. Will have to monitor tonight to see where we go . Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS =320

sometimes BGs don't make sense. I fall back on the stat - although i don't know where it's located, but i know that a cat's absorption of insulin can vary by as much as 50% from one shot to the next.

So in other words, if you do everything exactly the same for every cycle, feed the same food, give the same dose, you can still have that 50% variation in absorption that can make a difference in the blood sugar.

Just keep going by the protocol and he will reach his breakthrough dose. Every cat does - you just have to go up until it happens. The odd thing is sometimes as you increase the dose you don't see any progress until you hit That Dose. You'd think every time you increased the numbers would come down some, but it doesn't usually work that way. They tend to stay flat and higher than you want until you get a dose that will make the whole range move.

You're not doing anything wrong - this isn't unusual. Just keep going - 6 cycles on a dose and evaluate whether or not it's getting him into good numbers - if not, increase per the protocol.
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS =320

Thank-you for explaining it out to me. Sorry to be so thick. He is feeling good we went out for a walk today. It was a beautiful day in Maine. Sunny and a little breeze. Will spot check tonight. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS =320

so happy that toby dropped a little and that you are feeling better.
i know how hard it is to see high numbers. we'll get there. soon i hope.
take care
nadine & tibbs
 
Re: 9/22 Toby's PMS =320+3=302

you're not thick, peg. i've been amazed at how many things about feline diabetes and the insulin are counter-intuitive. it is unlike anything else i know of - although i'm not a medical person. you can only absorb so much at once, and this is quite the crash course in the first few weeks.

keep asking questions - no one minds. it's good to ask until you understand - then you can help Toby as much as possible! :-D
 
I think Toby forgot which way to go instead of going down he went up a lot earlier than usual . usually says down till +7. Like you said when you think you got them figured out things change. Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top