9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140 +7 278 pmps 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125694
yesterday's condo

good morning new friends :-D

Today i am going to get a +2 and then another +5,6 or 7 when i back and if those are still high then i guess
it will be time to go to 2 units? I will post again later and see what you folks think. Thanks as always.

Hope everyone else is doing ok today and that all kitties and beans have a great day and feel wonderful today.
xoxoxoxo

Nadine & tibbs
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178

thanks Georgette & Clare. you too

Tibbsey's + 2 is 178 so hold the dose ??? the next time i can get a test today will be +5
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178

Hi Nadine,

The best way to get your questions answered (I'm not one of the experienced ones so can't answer) is to go back to your first post of the day and change the "Post icon" from None to ?. That brings it to the attention of our friendly advisers who monitor the board.

You can also then add a new Reply to your own condo, and that will bring your question right up to the top of the list.

Warm wishes,

Georgette
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178

Hi Nadine.

I'm not one of the "friendly advisers" Georgette mentioned, but IMHO, Tibbs may be ready for a dosecrease (increase in LL's slang). Wait to see where he goes today after that nice blue number.

Hopefully, one of those advisers will come along and tell you more.

Adding a ? icon wouldn't hurt, and editing your original subject line to include something like "increase?" would help, too.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178

It's great to see Tibbs with his blue suit on so early in the cycle. But this is quite a plunge. When you see a drop like that indicating an active cycle, if you can't test again for a few hours, it's a good idea to make sure he has lots of food to snack on if he goes low and needs it.

Let's see where he goes today before deciding on that dosecrease.
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178

Wow! Great to see Tibbs in the BLUE! Way to go! :RAHCAT Noodle and I are cheering you both on!

Christi
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178

I agree on two things:

--let's see where he goes before we think about an increase or not

--it's easier and faster to get our help if we see a "?" by your subject line or even a little note like Tricia suggested.

Generally, the first thing we do is scan down the list of condos and look for the ones with "?" or a note in the subject line.

Have a great day Nadine!!
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140 !!!!

thanks everyone. his +5 is 140
tibbs free feeds and he just had more food after this +5 test.
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile i am nervous . i'll test again in about an hour.
what do you all think?
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140

he's doing great! you want this, nadine! remember, normal blood sugar is 50-120 - and that's the range where his pancreas can heal if at all possible.

One thing that his helpful is to look at the size of the drops, and depending how long between tests it can give you an idea of how fast he's moving. It was a big drop from amps to +2, but from +2 to +5 he's basically surfing in blue. Which is GREAT! He's not dropping quickly at this point at all.

You don't have to do anything now. I'd get another test in maybe an hour to see if he's bottomed out and on his way up yet. But i don't see any danger of low numbers here (less than 50).
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140

ok julie. thanks so much. i'm going to test again shortly.
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140 +7 278

hi everyone
so his plus 7 is 278 so he is on the rise. do i understand correctly, since his nadir was about 140 i hold the dose for a while longer? no happy to see some blues for him. will this curve level out some instead of dropping from 308 to 140? here's hoping? thanks for your help. hope you are all ok.
nadine & tibbs
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140 +7 278

Hi Nadine, lovely to see that little blue surf today. Sorry about the bounce coming. :roll:

You've still got room to increase him to 2.0U. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
You've been on this dose for 17 cycles and haven't seen green, so I think it's time to increase. Giving him a little more juice might help with bringing down the preshot numbers to. The 140 was interesting, cause it looks like he might want to nadir a little earlier than +6. That's not uncommon, we have a number of kitties who mostly do all their diving in the first four hours of the cycle.
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140 +7 278

Good luck with the increase. Thanks for the visit today. You are very new to this dance. Most cats get used to good numbers and don't bounce like my Max. I hope Tibbs isn't a bouncer for your sake as well as his. :-D
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140 +7 278

I wouldn't be surprised if you see a bit of a bounce either....that was a pretty big drop from AMPS to +2.....

Skooter used to love his bouncing ball, but I couldn't get it away from him no matter how hard I tried :roll:

Hope Tibbs is having a great night!
 
Re: 9/22 Tibbs amps 308 +2 178 +5 140 +7 278

thanks elise & molly.
here's hoping he doesn't hit the trampoline tomorrow but....... i'll b prepared just in case. hope you both have a nice restful night. take care.
nadine & tibbs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top