9/22 SHEBA AMPS 326; +3 394; +9 265 PMPS 320; +3 266; +4 184; +5 167 ? Insulin off

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Last condohttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-16-sheba-amps-236.144376/

AMPS 326
Sheba has had horrible numbers for a week despite an increase. Yesterday I thought it could be the insulin as it was near the end of the vial and the last vial in the box. So I opened a new box of levemir and started a new vial.
She started to fall very fast and had large drops between AMPS and +3, and +3 and +4. I managed to slow her down with honey and MC and she spent a few hours in green. I tried to stop her dropping too low and triggering a bounce, although the earlier fast drop probably had already done that.
So it looks like it was the insulin which was off. What do you think??
We now have the expected bounce.

I also bought a product called Hexarinse which aids prevention of tartar,plaque and periodontal disease in cats. I bought it for the chlorhexadine content to put on Sheba's chin acne...Paula recommended chlorhexadine. @Paula So we will see how it goes. It can also be squirted into the mouth and is apparently good for preventing the above conditions I mentioned.

I am still unwell and now this wretched thing has gone onto my chest. I started antibiotics last night so hopefully I start to feel better soon.
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry to hear you still have that nasty bug. Feel better.

I'm glad you figured out the the lev had gone bad but wish it hadn't happened with a dive.
 
It does seem like the new vial is making a difference. I hope Sheba doesn't bounce too long. I hope you get better soon. Sending prayers.
 
I was hoping in your absence Bron that you had made a full recovery, sorry to hear this is not the case, and that you are actually worse - sending tons of get well vines to you:bighug: hope the AB kick in quickly.
That was an exciting cycle yesterday, aided by the new vial of Lev. Hope Sheba soon recovers from the bounce.
 
Oh miss trampoline girl Sheba, why do you keep doing this to your mamabean? Especially when she's sick.

Bron, sorry to hear you're still unwell. Hopefully those ABs will clear it up quickly.
At least you got Sheba back on track (or back on trampoline ;) ).
 
+3 394
So the bounce is not going away any time soon:(. No real surprise considering the big drops yesterday.
I'll have a "save the strips day" today. Just worry about the effect of the high numbers on her kidneys.

Thanks Elise, Carla, Suki and Carolyn for dropping in.
It has been many years since I have had such a bad winter as far as bugs go. Normally I don't catch anything.
It has been a really bad winter in Sydney this year though for flus, bugs etc.
 
How long was the old vial open? I am using cartridges of Lev so I don't have to through out as much if it goes off. Don't know if those are available there.

Vines for your recovery Bron. I hope Sheba gives you a chance for recovery sleep tonight.
 
@Wendy&Neko
Actually I should probably have said a cartridge....the five pack that can be used with a pen. It was the last of the five pack and it had not been opened all that long really ...maybe a month and I was almost at the end of it. It was still in date.
After a week of no green and only a bit of blue and mostly yellow and pink....I could not see where there could be a bounce that lasted that long or was repeated....I began to look for other causes....So I wondered about the insulin. And she responded so emphatically........I don't know.....I just hope she goes back to green after the bounce.
 
It does look like she had a pretty dramatic response to the new cartridge. Good thing you hadn't increased the dose too much because of the stale numbers.

I was reading through your condo just now and thinking "Australia, SW US, Eastern US, Western Canada, Central US, France, NW US . . ."

Pretty cool.

I hope you feel better!
 
Well, let me add West Coast, US, to the mix!

How odd that the pen would have gone off so soon. I'm glad you figured it out, though. Now we need to send some kitties over with the ropes to get Sheba back down where she belongs. Try not to worry too much about the numbers. It is sustained high numbers for long stretches that can damage the kidneys. A few days now and then shouldn't do it.

I just launched a rocket in your direction, loaded with healing vines to help that AB chase away the nasty stuff you've got. I hope the grandkids don't have it, too?
 
Hi Bron, Here are some more vines for you, special delivery. Feel better soon!

Weird that the whole 5-pack of Lev. should have gone bad so quickly. Perhaps it wasn't well refrigerated before you bought it. I would take it back to where you bought it and try to get a refund.

Ella & Rusty
 
Yay for the West Coast US! @Tricia & Cinco
Yes some kitties with ropes would be very useful please....they will need to be long ropes please!
Thanks for the rocket of vines!p
All the grandkids are fine again now thanks! So it is just me.
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) It was only the last of the five cartridges that seemed to have gone off and I was near the end of it. So not too much lost. Just really frustrating having high numbers day after day. Thanks for the vines...
Thanks Marilyn for the vines...much needed and appreciated.
@CarolynE yes we do need Serryn to pop in!
Thanks Sienne.....I have also given Sheba the message to cut bouncing.....she ignored me and kept sleeping.
 
I'm here, I'm here covering off on the west coast :)

Damn on that bug Bron, quite a lot of people seem to have been hit hard this year. I hope you can kick it soon and that it at least provides you with some good natural immunity for the next few years.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top