9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 PMP 182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shantismom

Member Since 2014
For those who didn't see my post yesterday, Shanti is back on Baytril. On the Veraflox he just seemed to go right down, was so depressed. I made the decision to go back to Baytril myself because there wasn't any vet to talk with yesterday. He is eating pretty well, and mood is about normal considering he has some issues going on.
BG high but could be all the stress of being sick is driving his numbers up.
That is all. Any further developments I will let you know.
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 Eating and stable this morning

Eating is really important. I'm glad Shanti is feeling better. Apparently the other AB didn't agree with him.

Sending good appy and healing vines.
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 PMP 185 Stalling not eating

Once again Shanti has decided he doesn't want to eat. Have tried a few things but not much luck, he has eaten a small amount.

What do I do now?
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

hey Shanti
please eat so ur mama bean doesn't have to worry.
sending prayers and hugs
nadine & tibbs
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

Finally called vet said if he is nibbling to give him half a normal dose which puts him at 1.3. Since I am not sure what to do I will do that rather than risk a hypo.
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

that was a reasonable decision, marlene. sorry no one caught your question in time, but luckily your vet was available.

it would be good to know what's causing his appetite to fail. have you considered giving him an appetite stimulant? I see he got mirtz on 9/16 but can't tell if you're continuing to give him anything. Has he had any mirtz or cerenia since 9/16? There are two - cypro and mirtazapine. If the mirtz isn't working, you might want to try to cypro.

Before you give an appy stimulant, however, you want to give an anti-nausea type of med, if that's what the vet thinks is causing the lack of appy. Cerenia is very good in many cats, but if it's not doing the job, ondansentron is another option that many cats also do well with.

With his teeth looking bad, is there any chance his mouth hurts and that's what's making him not want to eat? that happens in some cats.

If he's eating in the morning, I'd return to the previous regular dose of 2.75, and then i would also try to always get one test in the pm cycle after the shot. we see so many cats with completely different cycles at night and can't emphasize enough how important it is.

You must be so worried. i hope his appetite picks up asap. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

Shanti had continued to get the appetite stimlulant but he gets it every other day and today was not the day. He has been taking cenenia and had one this morning but he is suppose to skip two days now and only get it twice a week. If it was his teeth I don't know why he ate so well this morning, as the day progressed he was starting to back away from food. I did get him to eat some by hand feeding, this evening I tried parm, no go.I gave him some of the prescription food I picked up at the vets Saturday and he picked at it. Next I was going to try Fancy Feast Gravy but Shanti just went back on the couch. I have gotten him to eat a few more bites of the prescription food.
Will speak with the vet tomorrow.
One day up, one day down. Poor little guy.
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

Shanti has been getting mirtazapine every other day, today was not the day. He has been taking the cenenia for four days but he is suppose to skip two days now and take it twice a week.
Yesterday he ate pretty well and normal this morning, great start to the day. As the day progressed he was backing off food. This evening he wasn't eating, I tried a sprinkle of parmesan but that did work.. I gave him some of the prescription food we got at the vet Saturday, he picked at it. After the shot I hand fed him some, it ate a few bites more.
One day he is up, the nest he is down. Yesterday mostly good, started out really good this morning but not so good this evening.
Since I called the vet, my vet will get back to me tomorrow. I will mention the cypro and the ondansentron. Maybe a switch would help.
I am thinking that after his ultrasound and echocardiogram Wednesday we will more information. Maybe a new plan to turn this around. My poor little boy, it breaks my heart. :cry:
Will go back to 2.75 if he is eating, what do you suggest if he isn't eating? I suppose it depends on his AMP, can you give me some guidelines please.
Thank you for writing me.
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

Don't know why I posted almost the exact information twice, guess I am so distracted with Shanti that I am not paying attention.
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

I wouldn't be surprised if the Baytril is causing Shanti's appy to be off and on.

There are different approaches to dosing cerenia. My Trix is on it every other day indefinitely without issue. Other kitties do take it every day without a break, and that is now considered to be a safe practice, although it is not a widely practice practice just yet. I wonder if Shanti would benefit from more frequent dosing while he's on the Baytril.

Cypro didn't work for Trix, but many cats here do well with that as well, so maybe asking your vet to prescribe that instead of the mirtz is a good idea, too. Cypro can be given more frequently than the mirtz, so that is another benefit.

Sending more prayers for you and Shanti!
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

As with every cat related, every cat is different. Both of my cats react well to cypro and Max who is nearly 16 pounds needs just 1/8 a 4mg pill to stimulate his appetite. I would never you it without nausea medication because if you do it can lead to food aversions permanently. I hope you figure out a good mix for Shanti.
 
Re: 9/22 Shanti AMP 311 +6 166 Stalling not eating

when you're having to make decisions because a cat isn't eating, it's really a case by case, "what's happening in the past few hours?" type of decision. If you can test tonight, then you'll have an idea of what happens with this particular reduced dose.

You have to walk a fine line here. It's important that a cat get enough insulin, even if they are not eating. But, you don't want to give so much that you push him into low numbers, because then you could have a crisis if you can't get him to eat. I can't speculate on what to do tomorrow at this point. Data tonight would help someone help you in the morning, however.

One risk factor is ketones. The recipe for ketones = not enough insulin + not enough food + infection or inflammation. If you can't get him to eat, you may want to try syringe feeding him to get him going. Sometimes just getting a cat eating will stimulate them to eat more.

Cats that aren't eating are also at risk for fatty liver - if they lose weight too quickly, their liver will literally clog with fat particles. Then there is a new crisis.

I'm not trying to scare you, but just want you to understand the implications of not eating. I never knew any of that until I got to FDMB. I'd try syringe feeding him (lots of youtube videos) if he isn't back to eating normally very soon.

Hopefully someone else will chime in with more suggestions for you. I've seen very sick kitties turn around, so don't give up. It would be good if the source of his appy problems could be figured out. If it's the antibiotics, and they're being given for his dental issues, can something else be done for the dental issues? a different antibiotic might not make him feel sick. Clindamycin is often given for mouth infections because it works on anaerobic bacteria, like those found in oral cavities. With any antibiotic it can be helpful to give a probiotic (like Fortiflora) at the same time to prevent diarrhea. Clindamycin can cause diarrhea in some cats.
 
Julie does bring up a good point...when did Shanti's appetite become an issue - was it when you started the ABs? Knowing whether or not there is a connection there can help you figure out the next steps...
 
I got Shanti to eat a little more by hand feeding. I believe that they now feel the infection is from the liver. Actually he wasn't eating on Monday before he got the antibiotic, he saw the vet that day and came home with the baytril, he had that Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday but overnight Wednesday he went down hill and Thursday morning he was vomiting. He went back to the vet, didn't have an antibiotic Thursday. Friday Started on Veraflox was kind of off, Saturday went down hill so depressed. Seemed as thought the Florimax affected his mood. I put him back on Baytril yesterday, he had a good day and started out well this morning. You know the rest.

I tested him +2 167.

I will try to get some help in the morning. One problem is I am in the eastern time zone and people are not always on that early in the morning. I can call the vet again at 8:00 if I have a problem.
Getting some rest now, will try to hand feed Shanti before I go to bed.
 
I am sorry he's not doing well. I also would try a bit of the cypro so you can give it every day. I agree with Amy....there are cats taking cerenia every single day and thriving with it.

Did you see the other day when I posted I fi about what is helpful to heal the liver that you could talk to your vet? If you could get an u/s, you'd better know what you were dealing with. But some of the things that can support the liver that you can discuss with the vet include:

--denamarin
--water soluble liquid vitamin E
--ursodiol
--standard process hepatotrophin

Sending many healing vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top