9/22 River PMPS:153 +2:56 +6:59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Happy Autumn, everyone, except if you live in Oz or NZ, lucky duck.

I don't understand why River is so high these days. He was doing really well on 3 units, and if anything going too low, and that's how he earned his decrease to 2.75 u. He was starting to get low, flat days, and bouncing less high and less often.

Now, he's often bouncing or going high. He did have a furshot a few days ago, and he might have been reacting to unintentionally getting some beef in his food, but I don't understand why now he's not doing so well.

Yesterday I saw one of these, and simply must have one.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373

Because River is a cat? :roll: It is very frustrating. Very cool! I bet your kitties would love that. That reminds me of the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. The supports are trees.
Liz
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373

Morning Lara! Cool cat tree . . . very bonsaiesque. Sorry River has been bouncy - I definitely understand the "why, oh why??" feeling :roll: Hang in there!
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

So sorry Lara. Bad numbers are so frustrating. I always want to know WHY. Not sure I ever do.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

Hi Amy, Liz and Donaleen! Just wondering if there's anything I should do, like put him back at his last good dose, or do I just keep him here and wait?
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

I am not sure but you have had six cycles so it seems you COULD change. Put a dosing help on your subject line.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

Yeah, I don't want to be dozing here if I should be doing something.
If I'm supposed to sit and wait it out for a few more days, for something to happen that's okay too.
I'd just like to get some direction if there's something I *should* be doing.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

I'm not the best to advise on dose, but I guarantee that the people who ARE confident doing so are going to suggest you get a couple PM nadir tests. Since Lantus dosing is based on nadir rather than the preshot values, you need to know for sure whether River is going lower at night then bouncing up for the AM shot time. If there are no lower numbers a dose increase might be in order, but if there are some evening lower values you might need to hold for longer to see what will happen. Could you get a +4 or +5 tonight? Also you could put "INCREASE??" in your original subject line and mark the post with a question so you'll get some more eyes on it.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

Actually, I'm going to put on my Pants of Patience, and wait a few more cycles.
I'm planning on doing some cooking and vacuuming today, so this limits which pair I should wear.

pants_050212_m.jpg
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

I don't think I have any patience pants, but you probably already knew that. I pick the ones on the left. They make me dizzy and they aren't even moving.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

Oh Donaleen, we *must* get to work on getting some lovely patience pants for you!
/threat
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

Bouncing drives me crazy too. I hate it when Furball is doing well on one dose and then doesn't do well after I give a reduction. It's hard for me to tell if a reduction failed or I need to wait a couple more days. I love the cat tree. I would love to have one.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

Did you see Liz's link? Phenomenal.
I think I got some good advice about this: wait and get a PM nadir and see what the story is. And don't cook while wearing those pants.

About the cat tree, I don't currently have one, but I have some open bookshelves. I previously had a cat tree with a sleeping box on top that was a big hit. But the best cat tree I ever saw was one that a carpenter made as a gift for a relative. What made it great was that is had arms that extended, with a level on the end of each. They were well-spaced so that a cat could bound up each one to the top (a refinement of the happy crapdash if there ever was one). This is user-centred design at its finest.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

I think he is bouncing from the blue yesterday. It looks like he's coming down so I'd wait a couple of cycles before going back up. Those patience pants are stunning!

OT: I'm making red beans (Ellen and Portia's recipe, sort of :lol: :lol: ) and quinoa and bean loaf (it's a "burger" recipe but I'd rather just put it in a pan and bake).
Liz
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

I am looking at your ss and see that on 9/19, River went from pink to blue in 4 hours.... so just because you have a pink doesn't mean you shouldn't keep an eye open.
I also see that River bounces from blue bg's..... and bounces even higher from greens.
I think you might want to try setting an alarm.... it's likely he is seeing some greens in the pm cycle. ( imho)


and wow on that tree.... and $$$....
I like the spiral one that has a ramp all the way up..... too.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319

Hi Lara,
I hope River's next couple more cycles will make it easier for you to decide on his dose. :smile:

My favorite cat tree maker is him.
He lives in Victoria and he uses driftwood to build his cat towers.
I've met him a couple of times and he is very enthusiastic about this cat towers.
The big towers are expensive, so I haven't been able to get one, but I've got one smaller tree, one scratching post, and one nubby thing for their chin/cheek rubbing.
Ginger LOVES to scratch on the real wood.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319 PMPS:153

A nice slide into the blue.
*Whew*

Mariko, I've bookmarked that site. I love the look of the driftwood.
When I lived in Nelson, BC, the house we were renting had a stripped tree trunk and branch that the owner had installed for his cats. It went from the floor to the ceiling, and was like art. Cat art.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319 PMPS:153

Just checked in to see how your patience pants are fitting. Tight? Baggy?

Thanks for the kind words. I feel like I've had a overdose of adrenalin myself.
 
Re: 9/22 River AMPS:472 +2:373 +4:319 PMPS:153

I'm sure you do! Time for some chiropractic and a nice warm blanket for you, forgoodnesssake!
I was watching but not wanting to clutter your condo since you were waiting for advice.
But now that the dust has settled, I can say that you were terrific.
 
Re: 9/22 River PMPS:153 +2:56

Nice +2 River, now thats low enough for the night. Der's rocks down der nailbite_smile
Good luck Lara with your dose decision. Sometimes (most times :lol: :roll: ) it can be so hard to know what is the right decision to make. Luckily we have the best of the best to help us ;-)
I love the pants and definitely need a pair myself :lol: maybe two :lol: :lol:
Looks like you might be needing some PJ pants tonight ;-)
 
Re: 9/22 River PMPS:153 +2:56

Wow!! Easy River.
But he did give you a clear sign what he wants to do with the dosing, did't he!

It's potentially a long night for me too. :-D
 
Evening Lara - looks like you found the answer to that dose question. I would have tested a half hour after that +2. Any test in the 50's in the first part of the cycle deserves more frequent testing. River might have been telling you he was tired of this dose.

BTW, it's a often recorded phenomenon in LL that as soon as you threaten an increase, they give you a reason to look foolish. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top