9/22 Reuben PMPS 499 +1/HI +2/489

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Well, we got a good shot in last night and he came down from being 'HI' to +2/238 and kept going... when he hit +4/68 I added a drizzle of gravy to the LC food he had been inhaling all the way down. Note to self: measure the HC with something other than your eyeballs!! I thought it was just a little teensy bit, but +8/444 tells a different story :lol: The good news is that he stopped there and AMPS was 451.

The morning shot just now was a good one I think, we'll know soon. I shot in a different place on him, and while he wasn't paying attention or expecting it, and he still reacted and jerked away. I had warmed the insulin in the syringe, had the bevel facing upwards... what am I missing? He didn`t used to even notice when I injected.

He let me hold him afterwards (he hasn`t been letting me hold him recently) while we listened to 'Baby it`s Cold Outside' and danced! cat_pet_icon

Ongoing Medications:
Potencil 50mg bid
pepcid 2.5mgbid
bupe - very little yesterday... full dose at 4 am, then .05 in the afternoon
miralax - a few granules on the food; nice prezzie night before last
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368

Marje and Gracie said:
Darn on that bounce! Wow.(....)Yeah...I think there was some bounce in there :-D

Yeah, between the HC gravy that I didn`t measure ohmygod_smile and the bounce, he slept on the top bunk :lol: It *was* a crazy steep drop tho`... the first time he had dropped that far that fast if I'm not mistaken.


OT --- Why doesn`t Starbucks do home deliveries??
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219

Man, he's coming down super fast again. Fast drops can cause bounces, too. I would feed him some LC to see if you can slow it down a little.
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219

Dyana said:
Man, he's coming down super fast again. Fast drops can cause bounces, too. I would feed him some LC to see if you can slow it down a little.

It's crazy I know, Dyana! I've been feeding it since +1 already, and fed the huge drop last night the whole time. Think I need to give him french fries or something :lol:



Jane said:
Sorry about that bounce, Alexa. I'll be back soon.Happy Caturday!Jane

Yeah, his new thing.. :roll: haha! Take care Jane!
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90

Reuben is making this a habit:-)
Three out of the last four cycles, he's had a pretty big drop by +2, and the other cycle was a suspected fur shot. Looks like he's trying his best to get a reduction:-)
I know there was a reason, but on his first day on this dose he hit the 40s, but you didn't reduce. Is that because he'd just had a reduction the day before?
Carl
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90

Good morning, Alexa & Reuben,

Sure hope Reuben would stop being such a jumpy boy...in reference to his shot time and his numbers! Hope you guys have a great Caturday!

Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90

Carl & Bob said:
Reuben is making this a habit:-)
Three out of the last four cycles, he's had a pretty big drop by +2, and the other cycle was a suspected fur shot. Looks like he's trying his best to get a reduction:-)
I know there was a reason, but on his first day on this dose he hit the 40s, but you didn't reduce. Is that because he'd just had a reduction the day before?
Carl

Carl, I was advised against it -

this is from the 9/17 condo 9/17 condo

Sienne and Gabby said:
......what I think you're seeing is that Reuben's depot hasn't had a chance to catch up with your last dose reduction. Couple this with the bounce breaking and you see lower numbers. I'd like to see how the rest of the cycle plays out. If you're not having to really work hard to keep Reuben's numbers up, I'd suggest sticking with this dose.

... but it`s looking like the playing field has changed and maybe i should let him go for it...


Deborah. hi! yeah, i gotta take care of this, it`s no good!!!
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90

Well,
Like I said, I figured there was a good reason for it:-)
See how it plays out today. If he's needing a reduction, he'll let you know.
Carl
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90

Carl & Bob said:
Well,
Like I said, I figured there was a good reason for it:-)
See how it plays out today. If he's needing a reduction, he'll let you know.
Carl

Well, I carbed him at +3 with .25 tsp hc gravy mixed in 1T lc food, so I doubt it will happen today now. I wasn`t thinking about decreasing because Sienne said I had to start the cycle count over from zero bcz of the fur shots, and cited the protocol, but I can`t find the protocol for restarting the cycle counts for decreases after missed shots, only to the protocol for starting the count anew if it is for an increase here

i haz a biiig confuuuz :roll:
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90 +3.75/77

Hmm, I just went back and re'read my condos, and I think I was confused *then*, and misunderstood. ohmygod_smile

So, moving forward; it`s time to let him earn another decrease -for both of our sakes!! Do we all agree? Let`s have a show of hands..... :lol:
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90 +3.75/77

Wow, he just drops like a rock, doesn't he? No advice on the dosing from me, but just wanted to wish you luck.
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90 +3.75/77

Both hands and a few paws raised here:-)
I think it's okay to try to slow an early drop with food, but I would try a little LC first, before bringing out the "power brakes". Sometimes you do have to allow time for the shed to catch up with the reduced dose, like in this case where you see a low cycle right after a reduction. But by now, after a few days on this dose, the shed should be "caught up". If Reuben is ready for a reduction, he'll keep diving like this to try to earn it, I think.
Carl
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90 +3.75/77

Anne&Muffin said:
Wow, he just drops like a rock, doesn't he? No advice on the dosing from me, but just wanted to wish you luck.

Thank you Anne :razz: Since the coffee just ran out ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile the luck will come in realllly handy right about now!
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90 +3.75/77

Carl & Bob said:
Both hands and a few paws raised here:-)
I think it's okay to try to slow an early drop with food, but I would try a little LC first, before bringing out the "power brakes".
Carl

He ate large quantities of LC all the way down today -and last night too- but to no avail!... hence slamming on the brakes. I guess I`d better get a big 'ole nap this afternoon so we can do this again tonight (another fur shot not withstanding) -- and I`ll let him go as far down as he wants to go.
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90 +3.75/77 +4.5/1

Wow Reuben!

Love that you 2 were dancing this morning, life is good :-D :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/22 Reuben AMPS 451 +1/368 +2/219 +3/90 +3.75/77 +4.5/1

Tracy & Leo said:
Wow Reuben!

Love that you 2 were dancing this morning, life is good :-D :mrgreen:

Awe, thanks Tracy :razz: Now I think we need to dance this big ole' bounce away!
 
When they dive like Reuben's morning cycle, for sure there will be a huge bounce. I am never a good one to slow down on Rosy's dive because she loves to jump around, I can barely follow! :lol:
Come down Reuben! Slide down, K!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top