9/22 Obie + 7.5 was 90, + 9.5 was 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
He was pretty high last night and not the best at today's Amps. I was considering altering his food and shot time.
I was considering feeding him 20 minutes earlier and testing him, then shoot him at normal shot time. I am curious if that might help slow down his drop during the night?
 
hi james!

Is it possible for you to choose one meter and stick with it? The ss is color coded to help us "see" what the patterns are, and it is so confusing to try to mentally convert the numbers while seeing the color for a different range. the pmps 435AT is red, but the human glucometer equivalet is about 322, or pink. If you need to switch, maybe you could do one week on each. My poor brain is imploding trying to mentally translate Obie's numbers on the spreadsheet back and forth between the two types of meters. ;-)

are you feeding him earlier because you're trying to head off a drop in his BGs right after the shot? What's making you think he's dropping quickly? Some people take their meal and divide it into 3 mini meals, at preshot, +1 and +2, if their cat typically drops fast after their shot.
 
I know the meter usage is driving people nuts here.
If money wasn't so tight I'd use both meters and keep the charts separate until He got regulated and then throw the pet one off of a bridge.
I am going to see my vet in a few weeks where I will probably be told to switch insulins to prozinc like they have suggested via email.
They ride my ass heavy about not using the human one and how inaccurate it was when the Pet one always rates him off the charts and in the few times where he was in the low zone, they were both in the right area at 40 being bad on the humans and 70 on the pet one. Fun Fact: they sold me the Pet Meter for 175$ and 50 strips for it when I ran out for 90$ because I couldn't get them in a pinch when I ran out. Highway freaking robbery!!
Lately I test the cat with the pet one at the preshots only because I'm kind of broke right now and to make sure he isn't too low(Which hasn't happened yet) and use the cheaper ones during the day to guess his patterns.
I've noticed that he sometimes drops pretty fast in the first few hours after his shot and then rides lower(Even when sticking to 1 meter), but not too low and skyrockets in the 11th-12th hour back up.
He seems to be worse at night. I feed him several small meals about 5 per day of low carb fancy feast watered down (about 1 3/4 cans and a small chunk of boiled chicken each time as a treat).
I am hoping that trying to split his A.M. shot food in to 2 servings, that I can feed and check is glucose, wait 20, shoot him up while feeding the rest that the insulin would have a bit more to do in the initial 20 minutes after shot and maybe drop him a t a slower rate.
BTW he was at 400 this morning on the pet one. The last time he was at 400 on the pet Meter he was 325 on the Relion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top