9/22 Oberon PMPS 341, ketones 1.0, starting new dose 4.5 U, +2 357, +5.25 305

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday: pink, with bonus ketone excitement in the late evening https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...3-5-5-364-ketones-1-2-6-5-ketones-1-3.235673/

Ketones are down this morning (0.7). Appetite is good; I'm going to start wetting the food down a bit more to get more fluids into him. He ate and went right under his favorite chair to nap, so I don't have a feel for how he's acting this morning.

Dose increase tonight; at Wendy's suggestion I think I'm going to go ahead and bump him up 0.5 instead of 0.25 (ignoring the one brief dip that brought him below 300).

Question: how often should I be testing ketones right now? I don't know how quickly they may change. I could do them every time I test BG if necessary; I have 6 strips left and a new batch arriving (hopefully) sometime today.
 
Last edited:
I can't respond to your question about frequency of ketone testing as I don't have a lot of experience with that. Hopefully someone with more will respond soon.

Wishing you a good day - darn those strips! I used to hate it when my strips got low and would chase them down at different Walmart stores :(

I switched to the OneDrop subscription system for that one reason.

Good luck on the increase!
 
Whoops... new ketone strips aren't arriving until tomorrow. I forgot that when I placed the order it was after midnight, so "tomorrow" was Wednesday. So I'll have to ration these a bit.
 
Good luck with the increase! I hope Oberon works this dose for you.
I'm not sure how often you should test right now. I know they can change fast. When Butters was stuck in higher numbers, Marj told me to make sure I test daily for ketones, which I took to mean once per day. But if it looks like Oberon's ketone number is creeping up there, like yesterday, I'd be testing more frequently.
I had to switch to a blood ketone monitor for Butters and the highest I have seen is 0.8. I tested every six hours when I got that number. And I fed her lots of small meals and added enough water so they were soupy. The food should help keep them at bay and the water should help flush them out.
 
Daily will be good for now for ketones since he seems to be holding steady, or if you see them creeping up then more often. Also watch for signs of lethargy and inappetence.

Looks like a good call on the 0.5 unit increase.
 
Good luck with the increase! I hope Oberon works this dose for you.
I'm not sure how often you should test right now. I know they can change fast. When Butters was stuck in higher numbers, Marj told me to make sure I test daily for ketones, which I took to mean once per day. But if it looks like Oberon's ketone number is creeping up there, like yesterday, I'd be testing more frequently.
I had to switch to a blood ketone monitor for Butters and the highest I have seen is 0.8. I tested every six hours when I got that number. And I fed her lots of small meals and added enough water so they were soupy. The food should help keep them at bay and the water should help flush them out.

Daily will be good for now for ketones since he seems to be holding steady, or if you see them creeping up then more often. Also watch for signs of lethargy and inappetence.

Looks like a good call on the 0.5 unit increase.

Yep, that's pretty much my plan. I'm going to check ketones at PMPS just to make sure they're still low, then tomorrow morning and daily after that until BG (hopefully!) comes down or unless I see symptoms like last night (slightly wobbly, big eyes, licking his lips a little, slightly low appetite). Soupy food, too. (I'm also watchful for a return of the pancreatitis that kicked him out of remission in the first place, but I can't test for that myself.)

Luckily I only have one meeting scheduled tomorrow (and could miss it if necessary), so if the 0.5 U increase sparks a pj party or a busy day tomorrow I can handle it. Today was my long teaching day. (I spent part of it telling my classes that everything I've ever told them about glucose homeostasis is wrong, or more accurately a gross oversimplification. They now know what ketones are and why I was yawning through class.)
 
Had to shorten my title, so here's the data for the morning: +9 356, ketones 1.5; AMPS 371 ketones 0.7; +2 365, +4 360, +6 359 ketones 0.8, +9 338
 
Back
Top