Re: 9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce
Yes...and no. Yes, the dose is higher than the average cat, but no, it's not high enough (yet) to be necessarily a high-dose condition; that's usually around 5u BID where you might want to look into getting some tests done.
There are a lot of factors that play into how much insulin a cat needs: size of the cat, the food the cat eats and even how much on a given day, any co-morbid conditions that might elevate glucose levels, how well a particular insulin is working for that cat, possible insulin resistance, etc.... Mikey had even gone up to 3u BID at one point when he was on Lantus. You increase until you don't need to increase any more, whatever the dose might be.