9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
I was so delighted (briefly it turns out) that Noodle got a 205 yesterday on his +6. Now he's back up in the 300s. UGH. Is this a bounce, because 205 isn't low at all, just low for him. Would you kindly look at his SS and tell me what you think? Thanks a zillion!

Christi
 
Re: 9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce

It could be a bounce, it could be New Dose Wonkiness, but more than likely, I'm thinking Noodle probably just needs a bit more insulin still. The numbers have steadily been coming down as you increase, so I think you just haven't hit the "right" dose yet. Notice the difference between your numbers since the beginning of September? Not very many pinks any more! :thumbup
 
Re: 9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce

hi christi
our boys are finally starting to drop. yayyyyyy
 
Re: 9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce

Hi KPassa,
I know you are a very experienced member, maybe you can answer a question. Isn't 3 or 3.25U a big dose? Seems like most peoples' SS that I look at are between 1.5 and 2U BID. I know ECID but I never thought it would so much Lantus to get Noodle regulated and we're not even close. Just wondered what you might have heard about how much is a large dose. Thanks!

Christi
 
Re: 9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce

Yes...and no. Yes, the dose is higher than the average cat, but no, it's not high enough (yet) to be necessarily a high-dose condition; that's usually around 5u BID where you might want to look into getting some tests done.

There are a lot of factors that play into how much insulin a cat needs: size of the cat, the food the cat eats and even how much on a given day, any co-morbid conditions that might elevate glucose levels, how well a particular insulin is working for that cat, possible insulin resistance, etc.... Mikey had even gone up to 3u BID at one point when he was on Lantus. You increase until you don't need to increase any more, whatever the dose might be.
 
Re: 9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce

hi christi
kay is right. your spreadsheet is showing lots of yellows now and not many pinks at all so Noodle is def coming down. hope he settles in soon.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/22 Noodle AMPS 323 after hitting 205 on 9/21. Bounce

Thinking your guy still just needs more insulin to get him down where he needs to be. And yes some kitties go pretty high in dose before they start coming down again. Autumn on Lantus got up to 2.75u before I switched her to Levemir now she is trying hard I think to give up the juice altogether..because while she is a boncy girl right now I'm only shooting a fat zero.

Mel, and the Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top