9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 PMPS 489

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100

Is someone there to watch him today Nicole?

Great night last night...you sure were busy!! Didn't that 47 earn him a dosecrease?
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100

Nicole --

Napoleon is a newly diagnosed kitty -- he's been FD for less than a year. When he drops below 50, he earns a dose reduction.
Tight Regulation Protocol said:
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I think you missed a reduction on 9/12 and it looks like Napoleon earned a reduction from the drop to 47 last night. One other option is to wait until he drops below 50 three times prior to reducing. If you opt to do this latter method, please make a note on your SS.
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100

Thanks everyone!

My mom will be checking on him all day ;-) I was going to wait until he drops under 50 just once more because he does not seem to respond well to reductions and when I have reduced before, after 1 drop below 50 he has needed an increase again. I might just wait this one out since I have plenty of strips and food and there will always be someone to check on him. If he drops below 50 again I will shave to 3u skinny instead of the full quarter unit just yet. I wonder if his diet change to Wellness is making a difference also towards these better numbers?
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 +2~207

The Wellness may have contributed to the numbers, yes...
Shadow needs to get 3 <50s on separate days within one week to earn a dosecrease now.... it makes it a little harder to earn them, but then I have to keep track on my SS carefully.

From the German Diabetes-Katzen Forum:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments).
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 +2~207

Thanks Pat. Looks we will need to follow that rule with Napoleon too, especially because he is soooo bouncy. It was nice to see green two days in a row with him. That is why I am waiting this dose out.
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 +2~207 +4.5-262

He's definitely bouncing but not as badly as I expected. We'll see how the rest of the day goes....
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 +2~207 +4.5-262

Nicole....I try to watch Shadow's numbers and when I see him dropping a little, I "feed the curve. Meaning, I feed a little LC at certain times when he is dropping and the food will keep him steadier. If you let them get too low, then you deed to do a lot of work to bring them up. It is easier to prevent the drops.

Many people use the mini meals with some of the kitties in the beginning of the cycle when the kitty usually drops too far too fast.
Looking over you numbers last night, I see that you fed 1/4 Wellness at +4=87~that was excellent. But, seeing that drop from +3=160, when I saw that 87 I might have checked again in a half an hour....so then it would have been +4.5 and then I would have fed a little more HC again if I saw him dropping further.
By +5, Napoleon had dropped to 55 and then again would have come more LC....

There are times that Shadow drops <50 no matter what I do short of giving him HC, but I have found that the LC does a nice job of keeping them surfing.. I try to make it as difficult as possible for him to get that <50 but it doesn't always happen that I stop a drop completely. When they need dosecrease, they will go <50 but it's fun to try to keep them above that as long as you can!

Since napoleon had dropped, a couple of tests after that 47 would ensure that he was still rising. They sometimes drop again so a couple of rising numbers is good to aim for....test once and then again....He is looking so good, isn't he?

Maybe next time, you try feeding the curve with some LC and see if it keeps him surfing instead of scuba diving! :lol:
I hope I described it properly....did I make it clear as mud or can you follow my babble?
Feed the curve...give a little LC to stop the radical drops... :razz:
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 +2~207 +4.5-262

Thank you so much Pat! Makes perfect sense, never thought of it quite that way before. I just went to Petsmart on lunch and stocked up on food for them. This way I will have a little extra to spare when I need it. Got some lc,mc,hc Fancy Feast too.I don't mind feeding him that still for drops, snacks etc. and my civvie has her picky days when that is all she wants.

Come next time, I am feeding the curve. Maybe I can sleep then too :lol: I have no idea how I am even partially functional at work today. @-)
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 +2~207 +4.5-262

I don't know HOW you do it Nicole! Those crazy nights ~~soo tired the next day. (and it's not from wild partying either. LMHO...)
We are bleary-eyed and people must think we are having some great fun!!
Yeah, I had a wild time till the wee hours last night~~watching my cat's BG drop! LOLOLOL @-)
 
Re: 9/22 Napoleon AMPS 100 +2~207 +4.5-262 +7~376

LOL! :lol:
Pat you could not have said it better. People would look at me like I had 8 heads if I explained this to them. All of us on here know the feeling because we are so dedicated to treating this disease. But we do it for our furbabies cause they are our babes. I would rather be a nonfunctional hot mess the next day than to have him crash or even lose him. I would never forgive myself, ever.

My husband and I are hoping for a baby so I always say this is great practice. Hell, babies ( most babies) don't need their BG checked! They don't need insulin. Diapers, vomit, breastfeeding - meh, bring it - this mommy thing is going to be a breeze after Feline Diabetes :lol:

I say that now ;-) I will probably change my tune.
 
Nicole, I had two DDs and two kitties on FD. Granted, we have only been doing the FD for 13 months, and thankfully, my babies were healthy....but I think I was done with the night feedings within a about 4-5 months or so. :lol: Yeah no, there is no comparison...but doing this will prepare you for motherhood in ways that you will only know later. There basically is nothing that you have to do every hour with a baby...(and certainly no monitoring carb intake when nursing!) :lol:
Now the teenage years are a whole other story kiddo....plenty of time for those worries! :lol:
 
Thanks Roni!

Trust me Pat - I am just in the mindset that they will stay babies forever. Teenage years I am locking away in a corner of my mind that I will only open when I need to :lol: It is amazing that you were able to juggle 2 FD kitties along with your 2 children. Us women truly are superheroes when we need to be. Not man bashing - but we can multitask like no ones business!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top