9/22 Molly AMPS 403 Bounce???

Status
Not open for further replies.

MissMolly

Member Since 2017
Previous Convo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...eed-some-help-with-molly.184169/#post-2044576

Molly hit green for the first time in weeks yesterday afternoon. I'm thinking this morning amps is a bounce because of that, but would like for someone else to peek at her ss and confirm. Or perhaps I'm missing something entirely different.

Vet update: She suggested we hold off on doing any tests right now and stick with the suggested dose of 2.75 units, but she would like for me to hold it for 2 weeks unless of course Molly indicates otherwise. If in 2 weeks we don't see movement with her numbers, perhaps then we could explore bloodwork and an ultrasound.
 
Did I do something wrong? If I did I apologize. Just seems weird everyone is getting a response, but me.
 
Sorry you didn't got an answer before, I'm sure they'll get to your post in awhile, one thing that does caught my attention is that you raised the dose from 1.5 to 2.75 that's a huge raise was there any particular reason for that?

It could be a bounce since he did wet down very dramatically, but since the raise was very big there's no telling if he would remain on high numbers ( like a regular bounce ) few more cycles or go down again I do suggest you monitor him closely
 
Sorry you didn't got an answer before, I'm sure they'll get to your post in awhile, one thing that does caught my attention is that you raised the dose from 1.5 to 2.75 that's a huge raise was there any particular reason for that?

Thank you for replying. The 2.75 was recommended by a forum member and my vet is in total agreement with her.
 
Sorry you didn't get a response earlier. If you add a post, say the word "bump", it'll bump the post up and maybe catch more eyes.

Yes, she's bouncing. She's out of practice with greens and no longer feels comfortable there.
Vet update: She suggested we hold off on doing any tests right now and stick with the suggested dose of 2.75 units, but she would like for me to hold it for 2 weeks unless of course Molly indicates otherwise.
What sort of tests is the vet talking about. Surely she's not suggesting you stop blood testing! :eek: With this dose getting Molly to the 70's, I'd want to keep monitoring.
 
Sorry you didn't get a response earlier. If you add a post, say the word "bump", it'll bump the post up and maybe catch more eyes.

Yes, she's bouncing. She's out of practice with greens and no longer feels comfortable there.

What sort of tests is the vet talking about. Surely she's not suggesting you stop blood testing! :eek: With this dose getting Molly to the 70's, I'd want to keep monitoring.

Thank you Wendy I was thinking that's what it might be but scared I may have missed an extreme low at some point. My vet totally rocks. She's totally on board with me testing at home, she's also very aware I come to the forum for help. I was thinking of having her run a test to see if Molly was having issues with her pancreas and that's the reason I couldn't get her numbers under control. She doesn't feel that Molly is sick as her clinical signs are wonderful and she hasn't lost any weight. Her last blood work was done back in July and pretty much just showed signs of dehydration. I think she knows I worry way to much but said she will run the tests in a couple of weeks if Molly doesn't improve in her numbers.

I should mention that she would like for me to hold Molly at this dose unless of course she goes to low for at least 2 weeks.
 
Whew! Glad you were talking about other tests.

Am I testing at the correct times for a lantus kitty or should I do different times?
It's ECID, or each cat is different. I've seen some Lantus kitties nadir around +2, my Neko would typically be around +7 to +9. The "typical" nadir is +6. If they are breaking a bounce, often the nadir is later. Some aren't very consistent. Neko would nadir from +3. 5 to +13. :rolleyes: Others are like clockwork. For some Lantus kitties, a +2 is a good test to get. If it's the same or lower than the preshot, you will get the normal Lantus curve. If it's quite a bit lower than preshot, then is an active cycle that will need more monitoring, or leaving out higher carbs if you'll be gone.
 
I'll be more vigilant in her testing now that she's on this dose. Thanks again for the help. Appreciate it as always :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top