9/22 Minky AMPS: 410, 210@+6, PMPS:161, 176@48 min., 120@+3.25, 102@+5, 217@+7

Minky is at 161 before her shot. She ate 1.5-2 hours ago so that should be already in her system. She just had another feeding but it isn't high in carbs. Since she is recently out of DKA, thoughts on dosing?
 
Can you monitor overnight? And will giving the shot later make a difference to the shot schedule tomorrow morning.?
Have you tested for ketones since the 0.4 result?
 
Can you monitor overnight? And will giving the shot later make a difference to the shot schedule tomorrow morning.?
Have you tested for ketones since the 0.4 result?
I just tested last night for ketones. I have to leave for work at 7:40 AM and it is almost 9:00 PM. I am not sure to be honest how often I can get up tonight. I will try to monitor. If I don't give her a shot now I will have to wait until the morning.
 
I just tested last night for ketones. I have to leave for work at 7:40 AM and it is almost 9:00 PM. I am not sure to be honest how often I can get up tonight. I will try to monitor. If I don't give her a shot now I will have to wait until the morning.
Why don’t we give a token dose to at least make sure she has some insulin and test in the morning and if the BG is still low make sure you post asap for help. You will be giving the dose earlier than is really suitable in the morning but I can’t see a way around it. I won’t be around in the morning but hopefully someone will be. So just give her 1 unit now and make sure she eats well and give the dose in the morning as late as you can.
Does that all make sense.?
 
Why don’t we give a token dose to at least make sure she has some insulin and test in the morning and if the BG is still low make sure you post asap for help. You will be giving the dose earlier than is really suitable in the morning but I can’t see a way around it. I won’t be around in the morning but hopefully someone will be. So just give her 1 unit now and make sure she eats well and give the dose in the morning as late as you can.
Does that all make sense.?
Yes that makes sense, thank you!
 
@Sheila and Minky
I'm glad Bron was around, I'm pretty sure you need to put the the 176 BG number under the 161 BG since that is the number you are giving the insulin .
You can just put 176 and how many minutes it was . You might have to color code it manually but I don't think so
Oh and up top after the 161 put a / then 176
You can also go to the title and delete the ? Need dosing help please
 
I tried feeding the food with gravy but she didn't really want it. I gave her Mariner's Catch which is 6% carbs--still not high in carbs. I am wondering if I should give some corn syrup since I gave 1 unit and she is in only 3 hours.
 
I tried feeding the food with gravy but she didn't really want it. I gave her Mariner's Catch which is 6% carbs--still not high in carbs. I am wondering if I should give some corn syrup...
Can you just use some of the gravy squeeze some out of the can and add it to the 6% carbs, the gravy is really where the carbs are
@Sheila and Minky

I would keep some of these in the house

Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
The food she loves is 13% carbs but she isn't wanting it right now. I think Iams Chicken pate might be more. Maybe I will try that.
 
Is this it ? It's on 3.75 carbs
upload_2024-9-23_0-56-9.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-23_0-56-9.png
    upload_2024-9-23_0-56-9.png
    506.5 KB · Views: 128
You will have to tell me how you find it on Chewy. I am so super curious.

Some one asked this question
To find out how many carbs are in a food , the type in the food you are looking for and if you see it on the Chewy site tap on it and to the right you will see 12 questions answered
Hello, do you know what the carbohydrate content on a dry matter basis is for all flavors? Thank you.
Answer by • Aug 03, 2021
The Chicken variety contains approximately 3.75% Carbohydrate content and the Tuna variety contains approximately 3.57% Carbohydrate content, on a dry matter basis.

@Sheila and Minky
 
Maybe she did. There wasn't much gravy on the plate when I picked it up. Even still she is lower when I just tested her despite giving her corn syrup. She is at 102 now and still has 1.5 hours to go to get to the six hour mark from the insulin dosage.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA I just gave her half of a small can of the Fancy Feast again. She ate about half of that so about 1/8 of a can of the seafood in gravy. At least it is something. I will test her in 1.5 hours again.
Ok just try and not fill her up , we usually give about 2 tablespoons at a time .
She's really keeping you up late :banghead:
I'll check in again , I'll be up
@Sheila and Minky

On your SS you typed gave 2 swiped of corn syrup but you just said you gave FF seafood in gravy
What is correct
 
Okay, that is good to know. I am getting so tired but I won't sleep well until I know she is okay. I will have to get up to get ready for work in 4ish hours.
I know you're tired , oh God around 4 AM you have to get up , set the alarm and get some sleep until then
@Sheila and Minky
Remember when you thought she would never get out of those high numbers


On your SS you typed gave 2 swiped of corn syrup but you just said you gave FF seafood in gravy
What is correct
 
Green is good that means her pancreas is probably producing some insulin on its own
@Sheila and Minky
I asked you before

On your SS you typed gave 2 swiped of corn syrup but you just said you gave FF seafood in gravy
What is correct

2 AM by me too
At 9:39 (just before your detective work) she said she gave some corn syrup when mummy wouldn’t eat but hopefully she comes back to clarify. She said their honey didn’t look good
 
Back
Top