Hi Hosana,
I'll try not to be too long-winded, but that's almost impossible for me :lol:
Tested Martha +3 and got a 177. So it went up from AMPS. It went up the last time, also, but the two times before that, it went down. Talking about +3 readings. What is it telling me?
Here is an example of a typical curve. From what I have seen, it is typical until you get to the point where your cat is almost ready to go "OTJ", then it looks a little bit different -
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
There are a couple of possibilities as to why you are seeing a rise at +3 sometimes, and a drop at other times.
1 - The inconsistency of the doses. "Typical" only happens when things are kept constant as much as possible. When you really think about it, there are only two things that you have control over in this dance. One is the amount and timing of food you give her. The other is the amount of insulin you give her. Beyond that, there's all sorts of things that her body is going to do with those two once you add them to her system. Those things, for the most part, you have no control over. When you alter the doses, you are affecting one of the "constants" and turning it into a variable. So that affects the "insulin depot" that Lantus works by, and keeps things in flux, so your curves will look atypical.
2 - You can see in the "typical curve" description that +3 is normally when the onset of Lantus will occur. It could be that the onset is just not happening at the exact same time each day. That isn't really surprising. The timing of things, like onset, nadir, etc can change even when all things remain constant. Just because they're cats ;-) But seriously, just "because". They are living organisms, nothing is precisely constant. Like I said, you have very little control over anything "internal" once you put the food and the insulin "in".
Too, I have noticed some people shoot when the number is below normal. That would scare me to death and I just can't fathom the reason for it. I'm not questioning you guys, just these principles.
I didn't use Lantus with Bob, I used PZI. And like you, I couldn't fathom shooting insulin into "normal" BG numbers, and it scared the hell out of me! BUT, it was a question of understanding the difference between how Lantus works and PZI works. I think you think like I used to. PZI is what I call a "if this, then that" insulin. Like a painkiller for instance. If you shoot X, then X will happen. If you take one painkiller, it will do "X". If you take 2 of them, "XX" will happen. If you shoot 1u of PZI, you're going to get a fairly predictable response. If you shoot 2u, then you can expect "more" to happen. If you shoot 1u, you might get a drop of 200 points, so if you see a preshot number of 225, you probably don't want to shoot that much insulin, because you would expect a hypo to happen, right? "If this, then that". So, logic would tell you "reduce the dose for safety". Perfectly logical thinking.
It wasn't until I "learned" by reading and asking lots of questions of long-time Lantus users that I was able to wrap my head around the "shoot low to stay low" concept. I think that the only way to "get it" is to watch it happen. When someone is just staring out with Lantus, they will see curves that look like the "typical curve". And they will see preshot numbers that are pink or red, and they'll see nadirs that are yellow, blue or green. A "smiley shape" curve. And they will be advised to not shoot lower than 200 preshot numbers until they are "data ready". You have to be able to see and know what a dose does, and that will give you the confidence to start giving shots when you see lower preshot numbers. While you are getting to that point, the Lantus has begun to work the way it is supposed to work with your cat. The curves have begun to start to lose that "smiley" shape, and will have become more "flat". Because that is the way the insulin works. It is supposed to work 24 hours a day, and it is supposed to make the BG numbers more consistent. It has stopped acting like an "if this, then that" insulin, less like a "drug" as we understand medicine.
The best thing to look at is the spreadsheets of people who are either going through OTJ trials, or soon will be. Here are a couple of great examples -
Dale's boy Max:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AorpXuifiGH7dGdENnVhTXp0UFNYTUsxa1hMUWs0bGc&output=html
And Anne's Muffin:
https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0Aj2DL9Xz4IstdENaYld0T0xYN2JUQzRDanh4aXJqb1E&output=html
Both kitties are currently going through "OTJ Trials". If you look at them, you can see the progression. The old data will show you every color of the "SS Rainbow". Scroll down, and you will see the gradual improvement, and the lower you go, the more you will see them shooting "normal" doses into "normal numbers". You'll see the curves become flat, and even when they shoot what you and I would consider "scary amounts" of insulin into "scary low numbers", you will see how the kitties responded to them. You will see some numbers that would shock you, like 30s and 40s, and you'll see what they did to raise those numbers up into the 50s and 60s by using food to do it, and keep the kitties safe from hypos. But the closer you get to the bottom, the less difference you will see between the preshot numbers and the nadir numbers. That's because the doses are lower (but kept constant from cycle to cycle), and because the insulin was working exactly the way it was supposed to. Flat cycles and gradually lower numbers.
There are three things going on there -
1 - the cats are responding to the insulin and the way it is designed to work.
2 - the caregivers are confident in doing what they are doing, because they have mountains of data to back them up.
3 - As each one of the "scary" things happened, they have gotten overwhelming amounts of help and advice and hand-holding from the amazing people who are on this board around the clock - those who know how this works, and have "been there, done that"
Lastly, "meter variance".
What Sienne was pointing out is the similarity between the two numbers. On the 166, you shot a full dose. On the 144, you shot a significantly lower dose. But the numbers are pretty much the same. Only 22 points apart. These meters we use, let's face it... they aren't laboratory instruments. Some of them cost less than $10 to buy, and probably cost $3 to manufacture. What they are is a tool so that people can monitor their blood glucose at home, and use insulin safely. The FDA allows them to only be accurate within 20%, sort of "close enough for government work"

We have found them to be a priceless tool in managing feline diabetes safely. But we also all understand that they are "close enough", not exactly right. We manage the disease, and the daily numbers we collect, not so much to know exactly what kitty's BG is, but to measure and record the "trends" on a day-to-day basis. Fortunately, what we believe to be true is that the lower the numbers, the more accurate the meters are. So when we get down to numbers in the 50s, 40s, or even 30s, we take what we get on the meter as "right on the money", and we act accordingly to ensure the safety of our kitties. That 42 somebody sees is "right", and we feed them LC or HC food to get them up to the safer 50-70 range and keep them there as long as possible, because the longer the lower numbers are there, the more kitty is healing. Where we emphasize the "20% factor" is when we look at the higher values, when we are looking at the "trends". If Kitty is at 250 at preshot one day, and 220 the next preshot, that's not really that much of a difference. You're going to dose the same on either number, and you are going to expect pretty much the same results day to day. If the numbers don't get much better, and you don't see lower numbers at nadir over a few days, you increase the dose. If during that 4-5 day period, you all of a sudden see a positive response, and you get a much lower number at nadir, then the "trend" has been broken, and you reduce the dose accordingly. And when you look across 12 or 24 hours of data, and you don't really see much fluctuation, you can look at the numbers and say "wow, all those numbers are within 10% or 20% of each other, so not much is happening at all because the meter is only accurate within 20%"
OK, my attempt to be brief and concise has once again failed, but I hope this helps!
Carl