9/22 Gracie AMPS291+3 261+5 274+9.75 330PMPS 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25539&start=50

Gracie and her civvies send good morning greetings to LL from cloudy AZ..yay we might get more rain today dancing_cat

So in recap, we started out awesome yesterday and +2 was 142 and then it was all uphill from there. We ended at +3 242 and +4.5 254 last night. Typically, Gracie is down at her AMPS so this is a surprise number for us. Any thoughts? We'll probably go a little lighter on the testing this morning as she had a stressful day yesterday. If you all have a recommended test schedule, we're open to it.

Hope Binks let Celi get some rest last night!!!
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291

Morning Marjorie...I do have one suggestion....go back into your first post and edit where you put the link.
You will need to put at least one space between your last word and the link, ok?
When you preview the post, the link should show up in blue as a link...the space will fix it...
Let's see if that works, okay?

It is always a good idea to alternate the times of testing to other times from the day before in the beginning so you can get a clearer picture of the entire cycle. So a +3 and +5 would give you an idea of where she goes in those hours, okay?
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291

Pat...thanks...one of these days you will be amazed that I will be properly trained!! Sorry...just a function of not much sleep. I always appreciate your help so I don't slow everyone else down!!

Okey doke...+3 and +5 it will be. Hope you have a great day...I have a HUGE work project to work on today but DH is around, too.
Hope Shadow and Raja are well.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291

Good morning! I think you guys are doing great. It does get easier as time goes on. Gracie is looking good this morning - maybe even some more blues today? Come on Gracie - you can do it!
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291

Hey Michelle...well, she's higher than I had hoped but I gotta give her time to do her thing. The blues yesterday gave us some motivation. She's her old self off and on depending on her numbers and we'll do ANYTHING so she gets back to her crazy baby self. Hugs to Mannie!!! Have a great day and enjoy the weather.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261

Thanks, Lisa and Anne...I was really hoping for blues today so we will stay positive. I told my Gracie girl "YELLOW BETTER THAN PINK". She seems to feel better today...bright shiny eyes and purring/cooing. Gosh I love that girl. cat_pet_icon

I've actually been trying to work today from home....seems I've been pasted to the FDMB but I have to get some projects done before we
take our STAYCATION starting Friday.

How's little Muffin today? I hope she has a much better day and I hope Do Lou is doing great, too. Need to check your posts.

Yes...it actually does rain in AZ!! It's been a nice, rainy monsoon but then it got crazy hot last week. Front blew in last night and we got
some rain...we're supposed to get up to an inch today flip_cat It's cooler out...probably in the 80's and Gracie and Tobey ("the kittens") are out on the enclosed patio up and down on the condos and watching birds in the courtyard.

Hope your kits have a great day. Thanks so much for checking in with us.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261

Looking good there Gracie. I'm so jealous, RAIN. It's been 5 months and still at least one to go for us. Sounds like the kittens have a deluxe apartment out on the porch. Live entertainment even!
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261

YIKES...five months with no rain? And we live in the desert and have had a nice amount of rain. Maybe you should head to Tucson Ann and bring DH and Tess with you!! It is absolutely pouring right now and Gracie is still out on the patio with the wind blowing her incredibly soft fur...she loves it out there esp when she gets those cool breezes. We call it the "kitty cage"...we just took one of several patios and just made it a nice, large room for them (altho we have furniture for us too as it is my meditation room :smile: ); it's in the front courtyard with a huge mesquite tree and lots of shrubs so they are mesmerized by all kinds of birds from hummingbirds to Coopers hawks!! And at night the little ground squirrels race around in the courtyard so we always have two or three little furry faces pressed against the metal screen watching the show. It was money well spent since there are too many coyotes, bobcats, owls, and hawks around our house for them to be "outdoors" without protection.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261

The "kitty cage" sounds great! Muffin came down to the blues, but is now hiding in the closet, feeling yucky. Thanks for checking on us. Yeah, some rain would be a nice change around here - it sprinkled for a minute the other morning just to remind us what rain is I think.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261

Glad Muffin is in the blue...Gracie is being stubborn but yellow better than pinks yellows better than pinks etc etc. It is absolutely lovely here today...sorry...we hardly ever get to brag.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 ?? for next test??

So we're not making much progress...should we just let her rest and do the PMPS? DH is trying to learn bless his heart and he must have hit the vein cause she bled like crazy :cry: She seems to be ok now. Thanks!!
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 ?? on next test time

Dont Feel Bad--Moonie has been yellow All Day!!--Not to worry some days are just like that--
FD is not a predictable disease!! So we try to regulate it the best we can..
You are doing great! Gracie is so lucky to have you--Hugs~~ :-D
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 ?? on next test time

Thanks, Roni. I don't think I've ever seen Mike so upset...he loves Gracie so much and he just is beside himself that she bled so much
(but I got it stopped fast and and put neosporin on it and have been giving her extra love). I know he wants to learn this, too. I'm hoping that what we are seeing is as Sienne and others said....liver just getting used to more insulin ..."liver training" and that she'll come down into the blue or else we might be looking at another dosecrease by Fri.

Hope Moonie has a good afternoon; she looks like such a sweet girl!
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 ?? on next test time

I hit the vein on Muffin's ear pretty often - don't worry, it doesn't seem to bother her any more than any other poke. I am not an advice giver, but if it were Muffin, I would give her a break until +11. If I have several hours I'm not testing in the afternoon, I like to get a +11 just in case the pmps is a surprise, I know which direction she's headed.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 ?? on next test time

Thanks, Anne...that sounds reasonable...and thanks for letting me know you've hit vein, too.....I told DH that it has happened to others but he said "others are not Gracie and I didn't do it to them." :cry: How's Muffin?
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 newbie ? on tests

Just wondering if a +10 or +11 gives us more info with a numbers like these? Or should we just do PMPS? Anne thought maybe a +11 but wasn't sure. Thanks for any help.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 newbie ? on tests

Gracie says Binks is a party animal and while mamabean says "+10 or +11 test?" , Gracie says "NEITHER!!"
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274

Gracie's numbers are staying kinda up today...so I guess Mr. Liver is still not happy. Any concerns I should have...she's been pretty
quiet today for her. We're on the two hours no feed before PMPS and I'll post that number when we're done. Thanks.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 +9.75 330

Hey Gracie! Looks like a yellow day for you... no worries there girl, it's like that sometimes. Maybe some blues for you tonight?

Mannie can be a bleeder too - he doesn't really mind - just sits there are purrs. He's funny -he can hear me getting the stuff ready and comes to sit in his spot and wait for his test.

Have a great night there in rainy Arizona. We will be the same too here soon. I love your kitty cage idea - nice. Mannie loves the outdoors, just can' get enough.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 +9.75 330

Thanks Michelle...now we are in the pink. I keep telling myself PATIENCE. Guess we got too hopeful yesterday when we had those nice blue numbers. I would have thought something was up with the meter except we got three blue readings over a few hours. So, this may be a bounce for her as her liver adjusts...just hope she comes back down soon.

Mannie...Gracie says come on down..lots of room in her kitty cage for a handsome guy! I love your weather...we lived in Germany 6 years and I never got tired of the rain. Sometimes it's just a little too hot here and I long for the cloudy rainy days like today. Finally we can open all the doors and windows and get the fresh air breeze.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 +9.75 330

i have a friend here today, marjorie, and after i tested binks i still had my reading glasses on and noticed she was looking at me weird...took em off and they have little blood spatters all over the lenses. Binks likes to do the ear flick and wash me in the blood of the manx lamb every chance he gets. i hit the vein sometimes too...and find myself feeling relieved that i don't have to milk his ear...

you guys are doing great, girl!
celi & buns-ky B
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 +9.75 330

Hi Marjorie, Please tell your DH not to worry about nicking a vein. We all do it. It doesn't hurt our kitties. Just staunch it with a gauze pad until it stops bleeding. Someone on the board once said that cats have evolved to have ears that are not bothered by little mishaps or too many pokes. Their ancestors fought all the time and in cat fights of the present day the ears are always scratched and bitten. Of course, Gracie would never get into a cat fight!
It will take a while for her numbers to settle down, so don't worry. Also, it's the full moon and that seems to influence numbers.
Stu is looking forward to seeing Gracie tomorrow night at the Full Harvest Moon Ball and Banquet.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 +9.75 330

Thanks, Celi. I'll tell Mike. I thought he was gonna cry when all that blood started coming out and she shook her head and threw it
everywhere. He's been sucking up to her all afternoon cat_pet_icon

We got a magnifying glass for the syringes as I'm shooting a pretty low dose right now but even that didn't help but if I take out my contacts, my near eyesight is better than the magnifying glass but still trying to get .75 u is a bear....how DO they do .1 or a drop???
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS 291 +3 261 +5 274 +9.75 330

Holding steady tonight in pinks but not that far off yellow so hoping we get some downward movement tonight.

Questions:
1 Does anyone know if there are any long-term effects from her not dropping more in her BG while we are waiting for her shed to fill? Or is it possible her shed has filled but she just had the bounce for liver training :?:
2. Will we be ok to do a +4 only tonight and if she's at the numbers she has been on previous nights, we can save her some sticks? I know we aren't getting alot of alternate nighttime data...should we be doing that? Just seems like we dont see much movement in the evenings and, of course, we like to get some sleep esp since I have ONE more day to work this week. These six hour nights are killing me :lol:

You peeps are phenomenal....we truly appreciate you being there and helping us with all this hand holding. Hugs to your kits.
 
Re: 9/22 Gracie AMPS291+3 261+5 274+9.75 330PMPS 329 Advice Pls?

you should be fine just getting a before bed test, unless that test surprises you.

I do think she is just bouncing from the blue yesterday. It's annoying, but it happens to everyone. By tomorrow we'll probably see it start to clear out. Maybe sooner, we don't really know yet how quickly Gracie clears bounces. Looks good, though, she's doing what I would expect her to be doing at this stage in the game.
 
Libby

Thanks for the quick response. I hate bugging you all when there's a 911. I appreciate the info; it comforts me to know this
is not unusual. Bad thing is, she is supposed to go to nutrition vet tomorrow afternoon. I don't know if the increase the other day was purely bounce, stress from vet visit, or both. But I hate to miss the appt because the vet checks the strength of her pancreas and how it's responding to the supplements.

BTW, I think Sienne pointed out that Gracie's supplements have sugar/honey. I did see this and asked the vet and she said it was tiny amounts but I talked to her again yesterday. She said Gracie gets a total of 4 calories a day from her supplements and that the supplements have sugar or honey or rice bran as some of the last ingredients so her carbs from these supplements are really low..that even if you assumed that all 4 calories were all carbs (which they aren't), it would still be a tiny amount. Any thoughts?
No hurry on response..others have more going on.

Thank you so much. Have a great evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top