? 9/22, Destiny, AMPS 365, Time for a new pen?

Desi Mom

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...6-252-pmps-253-2-369-time-for-new-pen.253201/

It has been 7 cycles since I have raised her dose. Before I raised her dose, she was getting nadirs in the 100's. Ever since I raise her dose though, she has been staying in the 200's. Raising her dose should have made her lower, not higher. I am still thinking her insulin might be going bad. I keep it in the "butter" compartment on the fridge door.

I did change her food last Friday evening because she didn't want to eat pate texture any longer. All the new food is FF flaked or shreds which still show as 5% or under carbs on Dr. Lisa Pierson's database, catinfo.org/chart/index.php so that shouldn't make a difference.

Are you sure my insulin isn't going bad?
 
I am still thinking her insulin might be going bad. I keep it in the "butter" compartment on the fridge door.
When did you start your pen? Do you see any floaties (white specks) in it?

FWIW, I used pens down to the last drop with Jax. Additionally, it's not recommended to keep lantus on the door due to movement (i.e. opening and closing of the doors then moves the insulin) - I kept my pen in a cup & wrapped in a cloth on the middle of a shelf; with that said, lantus is a lot more stable than once thought (people carry it in purses, bags, etc.) so while I wouldn't store lantus own the door, I personally don't think there's anything wrong with your lantus.

Although tough to remember and TBH even for me to comprehend, the needs of a cat's pancreas wax and wanes - so maybe Dentiny's pancreas stepped up last week and now needs some extra help (i.e. insulin). There's a fun post from a member Sue that helps explain a little bit - link.

What dosing method are you following (signature says SLGS but your SS says TR)? - if it's TR and there is no dry, then you can increase by 0.25u every 6 cycles (which would have been this morning). I see @tiffmaxee has stopped by before so she could help advise to increasing if she swings by.

Hang in there - feline diabetes tests the caregivers patience so, so, so much :bighug:
 
Hello there! I just wanted to add I've never had Lantus go bad. Unfortunately it's usually the kitties' pancreas that is going bad - or rather not doing the job it was before when you were getting better numbers with a lower dose of insulin.

As Elise mentioned, it appears that a dose increase might be beneficial. I see that Suzanne shared the little pancreas story I wrote and it's a humorous way to try to get a handle on what's going on under the hood.

Hope to see that increase soon, no kibble please and let's look forward to some better numbers showing up soon! Destiny is adorable btw! Have a great evening!
 
Back
Top