9/22 Crowley || AMPS 212 +2 197 PMPS 303 +2 227 +4 132 +6 101 +8 84

Liz & Crowley

Member Since 2026
Yesterday

Since I saw a bounce incoming, I stayed home again (plus the office is so loud tuesdays) so I could nab this data. I suppose it's good he drops pretty quickly because I don't want him in the 300s for long. But also lets come down gently for me pls. He is dropping faster than his last bounce I have record of (the 13th) and I'm hoping he comes up enough that I can give the AM shot tonight without issue or reduction, unlike last time where I had to skip!

Tricksy boy, as always!

ETA my question from blw:

Since he's continued to fall, my understanding is that he's earned a reduction at his next shot (altho I doubt I'll be shooting at his next shot because he'll probably still be low). But I'm also concerned because we know that 1.25u isn't enough? I know bounce breaks usually go lower than what they end up settling into, so would maintaining the dose the advisable?
 
Last edited:
The face of a hardened criminal who has been banned from an establishment
 

Attachments

  • 20260921_200452.jpg
    20260921_200452.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 24
I have to ask - which establishment could have banned such a handsome gentleman??
My parents' house! Shortly after getting him, I had a pre-existing weekend away with my mom and I was a bit nervous about leaving him alone (he was still young!) so my brother volunteered to watch him and at the time, he lived with them. Now I warned my parents: hey, I know you've had cats before, but CROWLEY IS BUILT DIFFERENT. I DON'T CALL HIM A CRIMEBOY FOR NUTHIN'. and they were like no worries :rolleyes:

So we drive out the day before we're set to leave, just so he can get comfy and he can get acquainted with my dad and brother. And my mother, love her, only put away some of her plants??? I guess she thought he'd ignore them??? so he goes to dig them out and those immediately have to go away. And I'm just sitting there as this tiny still-half-a-kitten is climbing up the couch like I warned you all.

He climbs in Dad's lap while he tries to eat (as was his habit at the time), knocked the garbage cans down and pulled the bags out (which I did specifically warn them was a habit) (they sent me pictures of the taped up cans lol), and- the one that really drove my brother up the wall- reached his paw into the drain of the sink (no plunger) and pulled up the gunk. Which! some people pay a lot of money for someone to clean their drains so idk what the complaint was.

Crowley is my brother's nemesis now and Talasseres is his favorite (even if he cannot pronounce his name) and he has been BANNED from my parents house. This was like. Literally two and a half days btw.

(Tagging @Tim & Pookey simply bc you have previously enjoy crime stories and this is the best one)
 
Since he's continued to fall, my understanding is that he's earned a reduction at his next shot (altho I doubt I'll be shooting at his next shot because he'll probably still be low). But I'm also concerned because we know that 1.25u isn't enough? I know bounce breaks usually go lower than what they end up settling into, so would maintaining the dose the advisable?
 
With SLGS, you reduce immediately when they go below 90. No exceptions.

A cats pancreas has the ability to heal. As they see better numbers, healing can happen, and they need less insulin. There are many things that can affect how much insulin a cat needs. Just watch the numbers and follow what the dosing method says to do, to keep him safe. Maybe he'll do better on 1.25 units this time.
 
Okay, got it! It looks like likely we won't be shooting a full dose in an hour anyway. I am hoping that we will get at least a partial dose, because I hate to do the total skipped shot, but we will see what the meter says in an hour!
 
Over time, with data and the ability to monitor, you can lower the PS you can shoot to as low as 90 with SLGS. Of course they never do it when you are around to monitor.
 
Yeah, I took today off specifically because I saw the high preshot and knew he was gonna bounce today. Was not supposed to be home lol, but I saw that pink and was like ohhh I need to see this.
 
The thing about Lantus, is that when you shoot lower, you can get much flatter cycles. The 80's was Neko's sweet spot - I followed TR. She would often not move more than 10 points the entire cycle with a preshot in the 80's. If you shoot at 90, there'll be a food bump from his meal, and hopefully flat after that. Or bounce, or he'll earn a reduction. Of course you would only shoot that low when you can monitor closely. Take a look at some of the other posts (and spreadsheets) from people who shoot below 100.

ETA: It is below 90 that earns a reduction.
 
Got it! Thank you for clarifying. I want to make sure I understand as much as possible to make sure I give him the best care possible.

I have seen a couple people's numbers and they ARE very flat. I wasn't sure if it was an ECID situation or what. So the hope is to find the right dose that lets him get that low flat curve in the right area. Crowley was having relatively flat curves for a bit (at least compared to what he has been doing) but it was too high.
 
Back
Top