? 9/22 Bubbas AMPS 334 PMPS 440, +6 487-glucose meter question

So I have been using the Alphatrek 3 meter since his curve on 9/11. The numbers have been higher I think than normal? Or maybe not. I’m not sure. I am still extremely back and forth and confused As to what exact meter I should use. His new Vet told me to stick with the Alphatrek 3 readings, compared to the Relion platinum meter that I’ve been using. I know that I have been told by everyone on this for him that human meters are just fine, but then I have Vet’s telling me to use some sort of pet meter. There is a true difference whenever I compare the two and it just makes me frustrated. I wish there was just a way to know his actual blood sugar. His vet told me that human meters are just simply not made for animals and the readings are not going to be legit. I was using the Alphatrek 3 this morning, then switched to I think the meter is called Pet something..but his readings have been soooo high. I forgot his Relion at my moms which I’m going to pick up tomorrow. How do I know that Relion a human meter is ok for cats? It’s been 3 months and it seems as tho 2 units is too much, but anything under that isn’t enough. This is just starting to get really frustrating and sad. I understand that things like this take time but it’s already been three months and I feel like whenever he gets low numbers and slightly starts to tiptoe around remission, his blood sugar just spikes back up. I’m definitely not going to give up on my baby, but this is just starting to get frustrating. I enjoyed the Relion Platinum , mainly because it’s cheap, but I also read a lot of people on here use another type of Relion. I just wanted to get advice (from people who had a cat go into remission) what glucose meter they like and suggest. I’m back on a very limited budget, I just got a new job, but it pays almost 3 dollars less than I was getting before.

Sorry, I know this is a long post, but I’m really starting to get frustrated with all of this. I’m trying my best, and I just want nothing more on this earth right now than to get Bubbas into remission. I pray every night to God, and that is the only thing I want in life right now.
 
Hi Katrina

Many people use the Relion meters with great success, I used a different brand of human meter with Hendrick, a brand called Caresens. It really doesn't matter though, you should use whatever you like and can afford. There is no need to use the expensive AT3 no matter what the vet says.

Have you considered trying Tight Regulation?
 
Hi Katrina

Many people use the Relion meters with great success, I used a different brand of human meter with Hendrick, a brand called Caresens. It really doesn't matter though, you should use whatever you like and can afford. There is no need to use the expensive AT3 no matter what the vet says.

Have you considered trying Tight Regulation?
Ok great. As long as I know Relion is still good then I will stick to that!!
And yes, I might end up getting a job that works from home, I will know next week. So I will most definitely do it if I get that work from home job, but if not, I decided I’m going to start TR after this next curve next weekend!!
 
So I have been using the Alphatrek 3 meter since his curve on 9/11. The numbers have been higher I think than normal? Or maybe not. I’m not sure. I am still extremely back and forth and confused As to what exact meter I should use. His new Vet told me to stick with the Alphatrek 3 readings, compared to the Relion platinum meter that I’ve been using. I know that I have been told by everyone on this for him that human meters are just fine, but then I have Vet’s telling me to use some sort of pet meter. There is a true difference whenever I compare the two and it just makes me frustrated. I wish there was just a way to know his actual blood sugar. His vet told me that human meters are just simply not made for animals and the readings are not going to be legit. I was using the Alphatrek 3 this morning, then switched to I think the meter is called Pet something..but his readings have been soooo high. I forgot his Relion at my moms which I’m going to pick up tomorrow. How do I know that Relion a human meter is ok for cats? It’s been 3 months and it seems as tho 2 units is too much, but anything under that isn’t enough. This is just starting to get really frustrating and sad. I understand that things like this take time but it’s already been three months and I feel like whenever he gets low numbers and slightly starts to tiptoe around remission, his blood sugar just spikes back up. I’m definitely not going to give up on my baby, but this is just starting to get frustrating. I enjoyed the Relion Platinum , mainly because it’s cheap, but I also read a lot of people on here use another type of Relion. I just wanted to get advice (from people who had a cat go into remission) what glucose meter they like and suggest. I’m back on a very limited budget, I just got a new job, but it pays almost 3 dollars less than I was getting before.

Sorry, I know this is a long post, but I’m really starting to get frustrated with all of this. I’m trying my best, and I just want nothing more on this earth right now than to get Bubbas into remission. I pray every night to God, and that is the only thing I want in life right now.
Hi Katrina, my vet also told me to use the AT3 and I did until I got a good handle on what his numbers were doing and what they meant. Once I showed them my data (the spreadsheet here) and they realized how much I was doing for him, they were just fine with the human meter. I explained the AT3 was just not financially friendly for doing TR (or really at all) and the human meter would help me more with working torawds remission.

The understanding is the human meters run about 20-30 lower than the pet meter (this is what I was told here AND my vet said the same unprompted), but guess what they used before pet meters were invented... human meters of course! That's why you see the AT3 numbers as higher. Yes it is more accurate, but unless you are in the super low-lows, the difference is not so great to change your course of action at all.

The best advice I got (just yesterday!) is if you are concerned about a number the human one gives, just keep your AT3 on hand and do a spot double check at the same time. It may ease your mind.
 
Can you do a curve in the next couple days? Looks like time for one. That will tell you if it is time to try 2 units again. A cat’s insulin needs can change over time. 2 units may no longer be too much.

The folks who make the AT have a great marketing group. It doesn’t really matter what his “real” blood sugar value is. It just looks so far that it is too high no matter the meter. Unless of course that curve proves otherwise. It’d be great if you could do TR with the new job.

Pet and human meters are much closer in numbers as you get to normal BG numbers,
 
Hi Katrina, my vet also told me to use the AT3 and I did until I got a good handle on what his numbers were doing and what they meant. Once I showed them my data (the spreadsheet here) and they realized how much I was doing for him, they were just fine with the human meter. I explained the AT3 was just not financially friendly for doing TR (or really at all) and the human meter would help me more with working torawds remission.

The understanding is the human meters run about 20-30 lower than the pet meter (this is what I was told here AND my vet said the same unprompted), but guess what they used before pet meters were invented... human meters of course! That's why you see the AT3 numbers as higher. Yes it is more accurate, but unless you are in the super low-lows, the difference is not so great to change your course of action at all.

The best advice I got (just yesterday!) is if you are concerned about a number the human one gives, just keep your AT3 on hand and do a spot double check at the same time. It may ease your mind.
Thank you for the advice!
 
Can you do a curve in the next couple days? Looks like time for one. That will tell you if it is time to try 2 units again. A cat’s insulin needs can change over time. 2 units may no longer be too much.

The folks who make the AT have a great marketing group. It doesn’t really matter what his “real” blood sugar value is. It just looks so far that it is too high no matter the meter. Unless of course that curve proves otherwise. It’d be great if you could do TR with the new job.

Pet and human meters are much closer in numbers as you get to normal BG numbers,
Yes I will do one soon!!!
 
Back
Top