9/22 Big Kitty AMPS 305, + 2 382, + 6 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

evakot

Member Since 2010
Hi All,

This is my first condo, so please forgive me (and instruct me) if I am doing something wrong.

I am very worried about my cat having such a flat response. Even more so, because tomorrow night I have to leave for 6 days and my DH is in charge, and since we are both newbies he can't even test yet. He is trying, but is successful about every third time. So, I am not even sure if he should shoot Big Kitty, or if we should give him a 6 day break from insuline. By the way this is going now, the insuline has not made any difference so far.

Please see my yesterday's post for more info:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25593

I am really concerned. What a bad timing. Unfortunately, I can't cancel my trip. I know I will be worried sick the entire time...Sigh

Any suggestions welcome,

Eva
 
.

here is your previous link: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25593&p=258030#p258030

Hi Eva

welcome to the group!

As for not giving insulin for 6 days - I would not suggest that.

Is there anyway your DH can learn to test tonight?
Even if he just does the preshot test and give insulin, it's better than no tests and no insulin

You have to keep in mind, Lantus doesn't work overnite, it requires lots of patience on your end.
Others will be by to offer more thoughts, but I highly do not suggest skipping insulin while you are away.
Big Kitty needs insulin and without it, well, it could become an unsafe situation for him. (Ketones)
 
Does DH access the board? He can practice testing all night and come here for help. If he can get every thrid test done, I have faith in him. :smile: We've had DHs and DBFs and Deverybody test/shoot/post for the primary care-taker while they've been away. Think he might want a crash course? Do you have ketostix? it's a urine test for ketones you do at home and you can pick them up at any local pharmacy.
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
.

Others will be by to offer more thoughts, but I highly do not suggest skipping insulin while you are away.

We have no choice but to stop insuline for 3 days. DH just got sent on a business trip at the same time I am gone...I am very upset about it. The best I can do is to have our regular cat sitter (a 17 year old) monitor Big Kitty closely for possible signs of ketones, during these 3 days. I gave the sitter detailed description what to look for and directions and $ for possible vet visit. I do trust this kid, I've never been dissapointed yet. When DH comes back he will test pre-shot and shoot. I did give him crash course tonight. I hope he can execute when I'm gone.

This is all so, so stressful and upsetting...Unfortunately, people at work don't classify a newly diabetic cat as an emergency to cancel the trip for. Believe me, I tried.

Tears, tears, tears...

e
 
can your petsitter learn to give insulin, at least, even if she can't test? Most 17 year olds learn quickly, maybe she can learn to do both tonight. Then reduce the insulin dose to keep him safe. At least that would get some insulin in.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
can your petsitter learn to give insulin, at least, even if she can't test? Most 17 year olds learn quickly, maybe she can learn to do both tonight. Then reduce the insulin dose to keep him safe. At least that would get some insulin in.

I am afraid to have her shoot blindly...And the cats will be home alone whole day (have a civvie too) ... Not sure which is worse- no insuline for 3 days or someone shooting blindly, and perhaps not at perfect 12 hour intervals...? My vet did say to me that when in doubt, better don't shoot. Gee- not sure which is safer...
 
Libby and Lucy said:
can your petsitter learn to give insulin, at least, even if she can't test? Most 17 year olds learn quickly, maybe she can learn to do both tonight. Then reduce the insulin dose to keep him safe. At least that would get some insulin in.

What would be a safe dose to have her shoot with no testing? Can someone let me know if it's OK to do this? Is this better than stopping insuline for 3 days..? I am so torn- need help making a decision.

e
 
some people here have had to leave their cat with a petsitter who couldn't test. I would reduce the dose by a lot, like maybe by 1/2. When your husband gets back, if he can test, he can go back to 1 unit. I wouldn't increase to the 1.5 units Jill suggested yesterday until you get back.
 
Gabby will not allow anyone to test her except me. My petsitter is either a feline veterinary nurse or a feline vet tech -- so these are people experienced at testing and working with cats. Gabby goes from hiss, to growl, to "I'll take your hand off." in about 5 seconds if my petsitter attempts to test. I've reduced the dose, like Libby suggested, and we shoot blind. It's not ideal but it's better than the alternative.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top