9/22 Asher amps 286, +3 221, +9 91, pmps 358 :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi kids:

Here is our last thread from two days ago where we reduced from 4 to 3.75 units: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79425&p=858695#p858695

We have had some odd numbers since we reduced. I just updated the spreadsheet. Yesterday being most odd: 179 amps, +6 300, 267 pmps and a +3pm of 300.
I would understand a bounce but the numbers seemed so up and down, went high a day late kind of, and why such ikky numbers after the nice blue amps....

Today is a bit better, although I wish I was home mid-day to find out what went on between that 221 at +3 and the 91 at +9 :?

I guess we have to let him settle into this lower dose a little more so see what we are going to do next. My guess is back up again, but I didn’t expect this 91 this afternoon either.

The gray boy is a mystery confused_cat

Good day and numbers to you all!!!!!
 
Terrible pmps tonight, 358. Tom acouldn’t believe it so he tested again and got worse, 388 :cry:
We kept him at 3.75 tonight but does anyone think we have to go back up to 4 units tomorrow? Or is this all bounce and we have to let him even out?

Really bummed about all these 300s again. It makes me so nervous.
Any advice you might have would be great. Spreadsheet is current.
 
Anyone have any suggestions on dose for us tomorrow? I was thinking of raising again but I just don’t know.

Could that inverse curve the other day (300 right in the middle of the day) mean he is still on too much insulin? Do I need to reduce or increase? Or do I just have a bouncy boy and I have to be patient and let it clear?

Sorry, I have myself worked into a frenzy about what to do....
 
I would say to stay with the 3.75 dose as you don't know where he went this afternoon. He sure bounced up fast.

Let's see what others have to say about the raising of the dose.
 
Thanks Dyana. I appreciate the advice. Sometimes I find it hard to step back to see what is really going on with the numbers.
 
Hey Donna

I agree with Dyana.....Asher often nadirs around +5 or +6 so we don't know if he nadired lower and the 91 is on the way up or if he was clearing a bounce and decided that 91 was too scary so shot up.

I tend to think the former rather than the latter. I'd see where he can go with this dose in between the bounces.

Remember what the protocol says about increasing:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I bolded the part that applies here. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top