Hello,
Thanks for letting me join, backstory, last Wednesday we took Luna to the vet she was just not acting right, somewhat lethargic, some eye drainage, nothing specific it was just a hunch. We have 3 cats and a dog, so it can be challenging to keep up with all the details. They looked in her mouth and said "she has diabetes", tested glucose at 339 and then urine was quite dark, did a complete blood panel and urine test, bilirubin high, Pancreatic enzymes high, kidneys ok. Gave her insulin and an antibiotic injection. Sent us home to return the following day for fluids. They don't have emergency care.
Next day, Thursday glucose 99, fluids all day, she actually looked bright eyed when we picked her up, sent us home mission to get her to eat came home maybe ate 2 tablespoons of her regular food, urinated, layed on me enjoyed pets, I was encouraged although she seemed restless a bit not sleeping hard.
Friday, 9/20 she was not interested in food in the am, did drink and urinated. Glucose was lower 86 and 99, received IV fluid electrolytes all day. Picked up not pert, not interested in food pm, layed on me but no eating, drank some and urinated. Asked to return for more fluids following day.
Saturday am, not interested in food, took in fluids at Vet until 1 pm, came home drank, urinated and ate 10 or so Applauz treats, I was encouraged. About 5 pm she ate 15 or so more, no interest in her normal food, tested BG 250, our vet said only do insulin when over 250 for now. Feeling like we needed emergency care decided that in the am if no eating going to ER vet.
Sunday am, not interested in eating, still alert but not herself. Up until this point we had been told diabetic cat, elevated bilirubin and pancreatic enzymes but no mention of keytones. ER vet checked her in repeated some test small amount of keytones found. Protocol followed IV fluids and electrolytes, feeding tube nutrition, pain management and round the clock care.
Monday noon, I saw her today 24 hours later and she was dazed a bit likely from the pain meds, weak, but knew me. Licked tips but did not eat any food, was sleepy and just seemed worn out, I was a bit discouraged but her BG numbers trending down below 200 with continuous readings and small bits of insulin.
Thanks for sticking with me, I believe she will be coming home tomorrow. I don't know the exact plan, but they had us bring her Lantus and mentioned something about "bolus", not sure what this is. She also have the BG reader in that will stay for 2 weeks? Anybody who has been thru this need all the things...
1. how to get kitty to eat
2. what does home care look like after ER care and DKA?
3. what should we look for that could be sign of not improving?
4.just need some real life input tell me where to find it
Its crazy a cat can go from no health issues to this and it just breaks my heart that I didn't recognize any issue sooner. Thanks for listening and for any feedback.
Thanks for letting me join, backstory, last Wednesday we took Luna to the vet she was just not acting right, somewhat lethargic, some eye drainage, nothing specific it was just a hunch. We have 3 cats and a dog, so it can be challenging to keep up with all the details. They looked in her mouth and said "she has diabetes", tested glucose at 339 and then urine was quite dark, did a complete blood panel and urine test, bilirubin high, Pancreatic enzymes high, kidneys ok. Gave her insulin and an antibiotic injection. Sent us home to return the following day for fluids. They don't have emergency care.
Next day, Thursday glucose 99, fluids all day, she actually looked bright eyed when we picked her up, sent us home mission to get her to eat came home maybe ate 2 tablespoons of her regular food, urinated, layed on me enjoyed pets, I was encouraged although she seemed restless a bit not sleeping hard.
Friday, 9/20 she was not interested in food in the am, did drink and urinated. Glucose was lower 86 and 99, received IV fluid electrolytes all day. Picked up not pert, not interested in food pm, layed on me but no eating, drank some and urinated. Asked to return for more fluids following day.
Saturday am, not interested in food, took in fluids at Vet until 1 pm, came home drank, urinated and ate 10 or so Applauz treats, I was encouraged. About 5 pm she ate 15 or so more, no interest in her normal food, tested BG 250, our vet said only do insulin when over 250 for now. Feeling like we needed emergency care decided that in the am if no eating going to ER vet.
Sunday am, not interested in eating, still alert but not herself. Up until this point we had been told diabetic cat, elevated bilirubin and pancreatic enzymes but no mention of keytones. ER vet checked her in repeated some test small amount of keytones found. Protocol followed IV fluids and electrolytes, feeding tube nutrition, pain management and round the clock care.
Monday noon, I saw her today 24 hours later and she was dazed a bit likely from the pain meds, weak, but knew me. Licked tips but did not eat any food, was sleepy and just seemed worn out, I was a bit discouraged but her BG numbers trending down below 200 with continuous readings and small bits of insulin.
Thanks for sticking with me, I believe she will be coming home tomorrow. I don't know the exact plan, but they had us bring her Lantus and mentioned something about "bolus", not sure what this is. She also have the BG reader in that will stay for 2 weeks? Anybody who has been thru this need all the things...
1. how to get kitty to eat
2. what does home care look like after ER care and DKA?
3. what should we look for that could be sign of not improving?
4.just need some real life input tell me where to find it
Its crazy a cat can go from no health issues to this and it just breaks my heart that I didn't recognize any issue sooner. Thanks for listening and for any feedback.